1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Report (English)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Community Civ V' started by Thomas SG, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. Clifton III

    Clifton III Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Great to see you back Thomas, awesome news about a new version coming out.

    I thhink it's an excellent idea making having copper/iron not an automatic 'i win' button it really did cripple many AIs if they had no way to make better units.

    Something else you might look into is the oil -> chemicals issue in that you technically have chemicals researched and can build the chemical plant but cannot produce the chemicals because the oil isn't available until combustion gives you wells.

    edit: I havent played in a while so after looking at the tech chart again the issue also involves heating oil being revealed with refining but still you cannot get the crude oil to make it until the combustion tech which comes later. If oil wells were just moved to either the scientific method or refining techs I think this would resolve the issue.

    As always thanks for giving us something to play instead of that Civ V mess.
     
  2. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Hello

    I love your mod by the way, you're doing a great work. I have one single remark: wind mills and water mills are just too overpowered: they bring more gold food and hammers than anything elase once you have them, it's just bizarre.

    I am using the latest patch (beta 3); I have a CTD. Here is the save: hit enter and it crashes

    View attachment 305358
     
  3. Clifton III

    Clifton III Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Regarding the water and wind mills:

    I think that they should be powerful improvements when they first become available as they represent the first inklings of industrialization when man started using power other than his own muscles to perform work. Then as the fuel based techs such as coal and oil become available and the need for wind and water to produce the power vanishes the other improvements (farms/mines etc) should catch up to the value of the mills. Of course an interesting balancing aspect could be that the mills ought to produce less pollution than the improvements that get better with the fuel based techs.
     
  4. Arralen

    Arralen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    ... another end-of-turn CTD.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Red Boxer

    Red Boxer Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Philadelphia.PA
    I've got a CTD that hits when I end of turn as well.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tofe99

    tofe99 SGL

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hi Thomas!

    Good to see you back, I am currently catching up with the recent development :)
    But the link does not work. Can you fix it or use another site?

    I can't wait to be able to see my irons all game long ;)

    Cheers,
     
  7. keneticpest

    keneticpest Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    When I load up 4.40D, I get a bazillion xml errors, most of them relating to units and buildings.
     
  8. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    So is this mod officially dead?
     
  9. Comrade_Angel

    Comrade_Angel Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I've added Sweden and Venice as modular civs for Community Civ V, for the sole reason that...I really like Sweden, really like Venice, and they're present in the actual Civ V too.

    I stitched in second UUs for both of them - a Leopard tank for Sweden and a special rifleman for Venice - so that they wouldn't be unbalanced against other civs when the 2nd UU option is enabled.

    I loaded up the mod and was going to start a game as Sweden against Venice and Germany; the loading bar finished up, the little box telling me all of the mod options enabled popped up...aaand it crashed to the desktop with no crash report whatsoever.

    I've tried again and again - it always crashes to the desktop when I try to have Sweden or Venice present in the game, but works perfectly when it's just civs that were already in the mod.

    Does anyone have any advice?
     

Share This Page