1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[SCENARIO] Caveman2Endless (toroidal)

Discussion in 'Maps & Scenarios' started by TPEHEP, Feb 23, 2017.

  1. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    Made a map of the universe :mischief:. The map includes all pepper2000 terrains & features: Mercury, Venus, the Moon, the Earth, Mars, the asteroid belts, all kinds of space and other planets - as you can see it in the picture.

    Map of the Earth is close to the real. I tried to make each world/planet unique and interesting in its own way.

    The proportions of the planets are not met. Size decreases as the "importance" of each object and its distance from the Earth.

    All objects have a specific form. I tried to strike a balance between the "interest" of the object and its space. Making huge empty worlds with 1-2 types of resources is not interesting.

    There is a large Earth-like planet with no signs of life. No animals and plants (as resources), no origin biotic resources - oil, coal. It will be interesting to see what she would meet us at the time of colonization.

    Map size: Gigantic
    Earth size: +-Huge

    The map includes civilizations like: Germany, Russia, the United States, Britain, France, Spain, China, Japan, India. Each civilization starting position is close to real. Now the apples grow in the British Isles! :)

    Required pepper2000 Space Colonization modmod V8

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=561834
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
  2. vissar2g

    vissar2g Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Does the AI colonize new planets by itself when it reaches the appropriate technology?
     
  3. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    As far as I know - yes. But personally, I have not checked. :(
     
  4. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    Fixed peace with NPC. All downloaded - or download again, start anew, or in the editor ingame: diplomacy, at war with all the NPC for all players.
     
  5. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    899
    I'm at work right now, but the map looks very nice! I'm looking forward to trying it out.

    I don't think the AI will know how to colonize space, since the space settler units have custom python for their city building rather than the usual build command. I haven't explored this issue and really understand very little of how the AI works.
     
  6. Oleh Lunin

    Oleh Lunin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    So, since only eight civs are in the map, does it mean that minor civs won't appear at all?

    Also, it seems that space settlers / seedships become useless (as well as mars colony world wonders), since Cold Fusion tech is disabled in caveman2cosmos. This is more pertaining to the pepper2000 mod, but still, worth noting
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2017
  7. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    899
    The original Mars colony wonders were meant to be built on Earth, and it made no sense to retain them with usable Martian terrain. Likewise, for various technical reasons I won't go into, I decided to use my own separate space settlers rather than the ones that were there before. I don't think I can take those things out completely in a modmod, so I dumped them into an unused tech.
     
  8. Oleh Lunin

    Oleh Lunin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh, ok, thanks for clarification! I just didn't find those settler units, but then again, there's lots of units. What are they called?
     
  9. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    899
    There's a Lunar Settler (Lunar Bases), a Cislunar Settler (Astro Environmental Systems), a Planetary Settler (Planetary Colonization, a settler which becomes available at Kuiper Belt Exploration whose name I forget, a Worldship (I think) at Interstellar Travel, an Advanced Seedship at Advanced Seedships, an Alcubierre Seedship at Folding Space, and a Hyperseedship at Quantum Dualflux Temporal Rift.
     
  10. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    When I played in the previous version of my map - civilizations was more than I would like. :)
     
  11. Civ4newbie

    Civ4newbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    hello again, just wondering, are you going to make at least 1 standard size map for v8 and if not, what is your smallest map that that will work wth v8?
     
  12. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    For what you need with this modmod, standard size would leave you with a very small earth map.
     
    TPEHEP likes this.
  13. Civ4newbie

    Civ4newbie Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    ok how about a huge map(not gigantic)the one above standard size. random generated earth planet with 1 or 2 more planets(like luna/moon and or mars) can this be done? also the player should be able to choose how many civs they want to play against and have a few or more alien civs to play against in the galactic era. if it cant be done then what is the smallest map that will work with pepers v8 mod mod?
     
  14. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I think we would first need a few alien civilizations (not just one, or else that one alien civilization would be alone until late TH / Galactic). Then the units would have to be adapted, most likely by copying existing units for use on other planets (I think the "alternative" of constructing completely separate unit trees for other planets does not even merit considering - even if someone was willing to invest hundreds or thousands of hours for this project, the 32bit engine could never handle it).

    I think aliens are better represented as NPCs - like Barbarians, because that means they can simply have Galactic Era units. The idea of many civilizations on several planets is awesome (Civilization - Master of Orion combined), but simply impossible with 32bit. This is my only regret about this being a Civ IV/BtS mod.
     
  15. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    At the moment, one map - this.
     
  16. sonictails1

    sonictails1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey TPEHEP, thanks for making this great map! Just wondering, what speed should i play it on?
     
  17. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    Eternity, of course :)
     
  18. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Where do i put the file? I tried to put it in the Mod's PrivateMaps folder but it gave me an error. Is that the wrong place?
     
  19. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    I it is in My Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Saves\WorldBuilder. Are you use V8 of modmod?

    UPD: If I remove it to the Mod's PrivateMaps, he also works. Error on your side :undecide:
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017
  20. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Yeah I am using V8 and I will try it with that folder instead. Looks like it works.

    Could you explain each of the places on the map?
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017

Share This Page