1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Cheat Code (help with the world-builder...)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Soren Johnson, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. Soren Johnson

    Soren Johnson Game Designer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    some of you may have noticed 'CheatCode=0' in the ini file. If you want to enable it, the cheat code is 'chipotle'. This enables various cheat options (doesn't work in mp, though).

    The reason we are posting this is that it fixes the various issues with the world-builder (like not being able to place units in areas in the fog-of-war and the minimap being wrong) if you have it set.
     
  2. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
  3. Soren Johnson

    Soren Johnson Game Designer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    perhaps someone can sticky this?
     
  4. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    I asked Dale to add it to his manual, which is stickied. :)
     
  5. Telecide

    Telecide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Damn I just registered cuz I had the brilliant idea of modding warriors so they could see the entire map to workaround the problem. This seems much easier though. :goodjob:

    Just to be completely clear, you're saying change "cheat=0" in the ini file to "cheat=chipotle" right?
     
  6. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,171
    Gender:
    Male
    That's right. :)

    PS: Welcome to the forum, Telecide.
     
  7. GrendelS

    GrendelS civ addict beyond remedy

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Düsseldorf
    "chipotle"? who comes up with such cheat codes...?

    ;-)
     
  8. Xineoph

    Xineoph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Chipotle-A ripe jalapeño pepper that has been dried and smoked for use in cooking.

    I guess they were hungry when they thought it up. O.o
     
  9. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    *searches for a chipotle easter egg*
     
  10. Telecide

    Telecide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks. :)
     
  11. Tarkhan

    Tarkhan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Mmmm, spicy.
     
  12. TC4

    TC4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Where do I find the ini file?

    Frogive me. I'm a moron
     
  13. GrendelS

    GrendelS civ addict beyond remedy

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Düsseldorf
    social re-engineering of game devs is too easy ;-)
     
  14. Gingerbread Man

    Gingerbread Man Dark Magus

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Location:
    Ooorstrailier!
    Look in the directory you installed civ into.

    There should be a file named _config, or something to that effect. It is a shortcut to the ini file.
     
  15. Rayanth

    Rayanth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    in the directory:
    C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4

    Double-click _Civ4Config

    NOTE: this will fail if you have "Hide protected operating system files" and/or "Do not show hidden files/folders" turned on, in Windows Explorer (this can be changed under Tools, Folder Options, View Tab). The reason it fails is because the file is a .ini, which WindowsXP considers a System File that could be harmful to the operation of Windows if it is improperly modified (therefore it won't let you edit it, by default)
     
  16. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    Mmmmmmmmmm.

     
  17. Harrier

    Harrier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    UK
    It must have been during a pizza break (supplied by the company) - for those still working after hours. I used to work for an American company in the UK and that is what they did - with lots of colas and doctor pepper. :)
     
  18. cursif

    cursif Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Actually, I think it refers to the burrito restaurant of the same name which Trip [the Firaxian] seemed to refer to in his post. Someone needs to take the Firaxis guys to a Moe's or Willy's [both better burrito chains in part because they're not owned by bloody McDonalds].
     
  19. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    Been to both, neither compare with the Chipotle goodness. :p Plus Chipotle comes from Colorado, my state of origin. ;)
     
  20. TigrisJK

    TigrisJK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    What does it allow you to do, in terms of single-play gaming? I'm too lazy to do it, and since I don't often use cheat options ever, I'm not feeling like unlocking it till I get time off essays to play with the worldbuilder.
     

Share This Page