1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

City Names and Settler Maps

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall of the Greek World' started by Arkaeyn, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    Rhye got in touch with me tonight - we've got the new Excel files for doing City Names and Settler Map files. He recommends doing them together - find a settlement and add it to both at once.

    I've attached both files, as well as the original RFC name map, in the RAR file. The original map in a v5 file is the old 84x84 map - ignore that, and click on the tabs at the bottom with the civ names on them for the RFC maps.

    The old thread with City Names maps has more detailed instructions, as well as some partially-completed maps for the old, larger map, which may prove useful:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=334632


    If you're planning on doing a civ, pick it and let us know when you start working on it, so we don't have any duplication of effort. If you only get partially done and have to stop for a while, upload what you've got. Some maps, like the Romans and various Greeks, will almost certainly take more than one sitting.

    I'm excited about this! This is probably the most important thing to getting the game to playable testing level.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    I did a little bit of Israel's name and settler map, tho the rotated map make it look really weird :S
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    I once saw a fantastic atlas of maps from various non-north/south perspectives. One that really jumped out at me was one of Japan, Korea, and eastern China from just off the east coast of Japan, so that Japan was huge in the foreground. I thought some of them would make great Civilization maps.

    I've noticed, sadly, that the Internet can find lots of bunches of things, but it's short on variety of cool maps. At least, in my experience. No "Google Ancient Maps" search.
     
  4. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    all right, I'm gonna put in some Roman names.

    EDIT: Actually, I think this'll work better if I put mountains in. Should be easier for everyone with that.
     
  5. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    There's a new .rar in the top message. It's got the small Israel changes, and mountains added to both templates to help out.
     
  6. Steb

    Steb Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    Great! I'm going to do Carthage and Phoenicia again... eventually. But I'd like to know how exactly are "Unwanted colonies" (allowed or not) different from "Forbidden"?
     
  7. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    That's a question for Rhye, I suppose.
     
  8. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    I'm guessing forbidden means the AI will never ever settle that location and unwanted means it's the last place he'll try to settle, but there's still a chance he'll settle there.
    BTW Arkaeyn do we need to re-do the warmaps as well? If so then I suggest starting right away.
     
  9. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    We'll only need to redo the war maps if we change the map in any significant fashion.
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Unwanted comes in two levels: the upper one, above 60, means that though the spot is historically accurate, it's not very good for gameplay, so it's secondary to other better ones. The one blow 60 means that it's more unwanted, and *probably* AI won't settlle there, if there's other room available.
    Forbidden means that AI is told to never ever dare to settle there (though sometimes it disobeys, actually...).
    When these values are assigned smartly, they can fix a lot of problems (think about how can Portugal and Netherlands survive in RFC...)

    No need to rewrite the AIwars maps. But for settlers and city names, it's necessary to have a stable version of the map.
     
  11. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    The city and settler maps have been updated with the map changes to Greece and Italy. The new ones are attached to the first message in the thread.
     
  12. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    I'd like to move the Roman spawn point a square to the north - anyone know where I can find those coordinates?
     
  13. Krzowwh

    Krzowwh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    California
  14. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Roman to the north? That will counter compensate the benefit of stretching Italy - bringing it closet to Etruria again
     
  15. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    The capitals would be closer, but there'd be relatively more room in either direction. It's more an accuracy thing - when doing the city names, the Romans are now spawning where I have Capua - and I guess they'd initially been spawning where I have Neapolis!
     
  16. Krzowwh

    Krzowwh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    California
  17. fdgsgds

    fdgsgds Mustard Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    The Empire State
    Yes, well the Romans actually try to flip the Etruscan capital.
     
  18. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    19,29 seems like it should be Neapolis, not Roma. The river could be moved to demonstrate that, I think. I wanted to do Roma at 19,31 under the new map. It's currently 19,30

    Flip zones are one of the biggest problems with the scenario at the moment, I think. Any cramped civs in Italy or Greece or Israel/Phoenicia have flip issues. That said, Etruria and Rome have their own problems beyond that.
     
  19. Krzowwh

    Krzowwh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    California
  20. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    Neapolis was a major Roman city for centuries, regardless of who founded it.
     

Share This Page