1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ V - Beta 3

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Hall of Fame Discussion' started by Ozbenno, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. tommynt

    tommynt Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,814
    130t seems hard to beat but I ll give my best :).

    Plsplspls disable huts for next gaunlet - I allways die a little bit inside when I get something like a warning for a barb camp which I even had discovered before. And popping techs is ridc op.

    My 1. map had something like 3 maritimes cs - 2 of where unfriendly to me and the lux of the 3rd which I allied early on was unworked/pillaged all time - also attacking with warris/swords really is total waste of on standard map/fast speed - maybe even ics is kinda wrong approach when considering that 5 size 2 cities give as many science as a size 3 city with lib in it and scientists and u maybe need too long to get all the needed happyness to get ics rolling

    think I ll try once a game with like 4-5 cities where happyness is no issue - so u can get loads of cash - science treaties worth it?
     
  2. boehj

    boehj runnin' tings

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    I think so, as long as the co-signer is on the other side of the sea. Seems to be quite a bit of warring on this map type.
     
  3. mkl9455

    mkl9455 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Win in 1900.

    First effort on these HOF settings (and my first upload to the CiV community!).

    Had too much focus on warring and ended up running the map but dragging on science. I think Greece is hands down the best choice for these settings with its combination of powerful horsemen and the citystate perk. Horsemen are required as I was typically fighting wars on two fronts. Fun map!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    Agree. In my current game it seems like there's always at least one war going on.

    I decided to go with a peaceful game with one city, until Japan settled right next to my city. I pretty much wiped him out and just as I was settling for peace, Arabia dow's on me. Arabia is on the other side of me, so I have no army over there. I checked with the neighbor on the other side of him for some help, but apparently they're already at war. Odd that Arabia dows on me when they're already fighting someone else.

    I'm currently in the 900 AD timeframe and I'm not even close to completing this game. This turn I'm about to bulb Scientific Theory. How in the world are you guys getting such excellent times?
     
  5. Rokklagið

    Rokklagið Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    My first attemp to play a HOF game.

    I got a turn 160 (1675 AD) diplomatic victory with Napoleon, 4 cities, no war, no puppets.

    It was quite a experimental game. I stayed with just my capital until I researched Acoustics and entered the Renaissance era. Then I spent the saved culture on the Rationalism tree, almost completing it.

    On the second phase I founded the other 3 cities, all of them focusing on scientis specialist. I managed to research Globalization by turn 130 or so. In the end, I had to sell absolutely everything I had (including my non-capital cities) to get enough gold to bribe the City States. I ended with 11 votes (10 needed for victory).

    Definitely a much sooner victory is posible with 4-5 cities. I only trained two workers, didn't get many luxuries, didn't ally cultural city states on the first phase...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. boehj

    boehj runnin' tings

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    That's a very interesting approach Rokklagið. Why Napoleon with so few cities?
     
  7. Rokklagið

    Rokklagið Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Simply becaused I wanted to try a new Civ. And I thought that Napoleon's +2 culture only affected the capital :lol: . It seems a very powerful UA, a free (and maintenance free) Monument for every city... However, if I try this game again I'll go with Siam or Greece.
     
  8. Sumorex

    Sumorex Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Richardson, TX
    Turn 173, 1740 AD

    Randomly played Montezuma to get the flavor of the map which I turned to 5 billion years old with a Hot temperature and Wet climate. 5 billion years old to smooth out the terrain (think that was what it did in IV). Hot and Wet to try to generate more jungles for Jaguars... which really didn't matter much in the end.

    Set Barbarians to raging.... the computer (city states and civilizations) doesn't seem to cope very well with the extra barbs. Rescuing workers led to a good bit of freebie influence with city states because Raging really does produce a lot of units. It almost felt exploitative the computer handles the barbs so ineffectually. The culture generated by the Aztec UA was useful at the beginning of the game and could be milked more efficiently through the game than I did.

    I played the whole game with 1city and puppeted every other city. Had the first three enemy capitals at Turn 17, 37, 64. Germany was the only civ I didn't take over completely.

    Social policies I didn't put much of any thought into. Filled out the Honor tree completely, then the Patronage tree, then a hodgepodge of other trees mostly into Rationale though. Again was almost zero thought put into where I was putting my points.

    Research I concentrated on the bottom of the tech tree to upgrade my jags after taking over the 2nd and 3rd capitals. Almost needed to take Mining first for trade reasons.

    Now to more silliness. I handpicked my opponents to include only leaders which I've had a decent time negotiating / trading with in the past. Russia, Germany, England, China, India, Siam, Ottomans. None of them had an early special unit that bothered me... India got 1 elephant before dying, England was just getting Longbows when I conquered them. I've had a pretty easy time trading with all of them in the past, which is more of the reason for picking them.

    The most silliness (and I would even call it using a blatant exploit) came with how I managed diplomacy throughout the game. When I met a civ I would trade them anything I could to empty their treasury. This includes what i think is the most broken mechanic in the game... trading turn based items (GPT and Resources) to the computer for lump sum gold. I would immediately declare war after the trade. Why they reintroduced this to the game baffles me. There were zero repercussions for me doing this. The AI would come looking for peace (including giving me MORE gold and GPT and resources) in a few turns and I would accept peace. As soon as the peace treaty was done I would repeat the process. The computer NEVER learned from its mistake. The computer would ALWAYS trade me at least some gold in this manner. Hopefully it's a mechanic they fix/change or the HOF bans its use.

    After I won, I played 1 more turn to see if if it was possible to Annex all of my puppets and sell all of their buildings and all of my units. It was indeed possible. So if you need a little bit of extra gold to buy City States you can do this. The sole remaining AI civ didn't have enough money for me to try to sell them a city, though I imagine it is possible to get more gold this way also. Annexing puppets to sell buildings, selling units, and selling the cities themselves all feel exploitative. Don't see much difference between doing this and doing the already banned selling of cities after amassing enough culture to win with a single city.

    Didn't use this bug in this game, but I came across it in different game. If you can fill two different Great Person bars in the same city on the same turn, you will get both Great People. I got a Scientist and Engineer at the same time. It also doesn't raise the required points for the next person by two people, they're both counted as a single person for determining the increase. EDIT: Neuro pointed out that it does raise the req by two people which I verified thru a save.

    Gonna definitely play a few more of times in this gauntlet even though I hate Quick speed games.

    Just a quick summary of problems I found that the HOF staff should consider:
    1) AI doesn't seem to handle Raging Barbarians very well
    2) Resources for Gold trade then declare war
    3) GPT for Gold trade then declare war
    4) Annexing puppeted cities to sell buildings and the city itself to generate gold for buying city state votes the turn before the election.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Neuro

    Neuro Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Actually, it *does* raise the amount by two people. I had this happen quite by accident in one game early on, and the cost went from 300 to 500, skipping 400 entirely (normal speed).
     
  10. Sun Tzu Wu

    Sun Tzu Wu Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,920
    Could the difference be the version of Civ V being used?

    By keeping Steam off-line "religiously", one could play a back revision Game like 1.0.0.20 or even earlier.

    Sun Tzu Wu
     
  11. Neuro

    Neuro Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    The version I had this happen to me on was 1.0.0.20 so it would have to be a *newer* patch version that created two GP without incrementing the counter but once.

    And based on Sumorex's comments about selling buildings, I must assume he's using 1.0.0.62. I've not tested the double-GP trick on the newest patch (it takes so much micromanaging to pull it off, it's a pain to test it out).
     
  12. Sun Tzu Wu

    Sun Tzu Wu Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,920
    Perhaps you mean 1.0.0.621? Version 1.0.0.62 is badly broken with regard to Deluxe Civ V at least. I'm using Standard Civ V and it is version 1.0.0.621 right now, but I run Steam in off-line mode to avoid Steam servers as well as avoiding ill-timed patches.

    I recently heard someone mention a new patch. Is there a version newer than 1.0.0.621?

    The bug could even be in a version older than 1.0.0.20, though I doubt many Players are still using these very earliest versions. There were versions older than 1.0.0.20 publicly released, right? (I know there were earlier versions; just not sure how public they were though.)

    In any case, there are plenty of versions to go around and keep the regression testers busy.

    Sun Tzu Wu
     
  13. Neuro

    Neuro Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    A new patch is in the works; it hasn't been released yet, but some of the features have been posted, you can see a list of them on the civfanatics front page.

    I still believe that the "trick" in question does increment the GP counter twice, even in the most recent patch, but I don't feel like starting up a game to test it out. Until the new patch hits, I'm gonna be playing Fallout New Vegas and perhaps CoD:Black Ops.
     
  14. Sumorex

    Sumorex Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Richardson, TX
    You're correct. I checked a save and it does go up by two. I was confused because of the speed of the game. I'll edit my original post to correct.
     
  15. Neuro

    Neuro Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    It's still a neat trick. Not sure if it's intentional or not, but it does save you some points.
     
  16. twilson1111

    twilson1111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Greece's Companion Cavalry are pretty strong in my opinion. I was basically able to use them almost all the way, only upgrading to cavalry later on in the game. That, plus Greece's city state bonus, made for a good combo.

    Hope all the files are in the right format, this is my first HoF submission...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. slugster

    slugster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    This was my first attempt at a HOF and just coming from the training GoTM 3 game, I wanted to try out Napoleon for this challenge as well.

    So the strategy was to use the culture boost from as many puppets as I could conquer as well as a slingshot to Acoustic and the 100% wonder culture boost. The SP would be used to get great people bonus, tech bonus from specialist, tech bonus from city-states and the 2 free techs.

    It all worked out pretty well and I was headed for a early 140's victory when suddenly 3 AI's DoW'ed me. This wasn't so surprising (since I had been warmongering quite a bit), but it happened just when I was transporting a Great Scientist to another city (to wait for popping the late game techs). And sneaky Alexander had a single hoplite hidden in my backyard (due to me selling Open Borders like 1000 years before), which instantly killed my GS :sad:

    I also forgot to hook up coal for the Factory in Paris. And could have been more focused in both my SP path and Tech path. So I'm pretty sure this strategy can reach a turn 140 victory, but will probably not be the best overall approach.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. tommynt

    tommynt Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,814
    is it random how long it takes vote to take place after UN is finished?

    well my vote did end turn 126 - year 1300

    finished UN turn 115 and planed my gold so that I got enough votes till then - thought vote d take place right after finish
    in end I got 15 votes - had allied all cs ... +500 gpt ...

    NO OVERFLOW SUCK - did mirco science every turn after turn 100 or so -dunno I like micro but just klicking scientistists on and off not depending on city situation but depnding on science costs is dumb.

    Whoever finishes UN before turn 115 must be a beast - I thougth I was real fast even when my starting land wasnt that great .. desert ..

    fun game ..

    maybe I should somehow expand even faster with alying cs more early to start the libary/university spam - but I had to fight for my room - so it wasnt really possible - maybe its better apraoch to kill 1 neightbour early with warris to have lot room around turn 40-50 when the spam can start
     

    Attached Files:

  19. boehj

    boehj runnin' tings

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    That's an amazing time tommynt! Well done. So far as I know, the vote is always 10 turns after you build the UN.

    When I see these ultra low times I feel as though I must be playing a different game entirely. I'd love to watch over someone's shoulder some day to see what sort of differences there are as I'm obviously making huge mistakes.

    Brilliant time!
     
  20. tommynt

    tommynt Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,814
    well look at my last save - bet your saves at turn 130 look different ...

    having a fast start is important - so that the snowball can start rolling .. snowball rolling was allways main concept of civ - thats why there is this 1 more turn thing - in civ5 it is sometimes a bit hard to get the effect due to the global happynes thing which puts too much of a limitation imo -
    the red effect is too davastating compared to the no effect orange thing - I dont think <130t games are possible without some expanding strat - and with the need of several wonders u NEED multiple cities early to do multipe things at same time.

    my buildorder was something like:
    scout
    scout
    worker
    settler
    settler
    worker (got choped from 1. worker)
    wonder
    wonder
    wonder
    lib
    wonder
    wonder

    in rest of cities its usually something like: library-settler-university-coloseum
    apart no too early libraries - just need some military/workers/settler early on.

    if I try another game I ll go for slingshoot astro with lib in 2nd or 3rd city - which produce gs while cap builds GL - u just need either this "-unhappy for special dudes thing" or forbidden palace to start city spam
     

Share This Page