1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

COMMUNITY CALL TO POWER v4.05 Play-testing Release

Discussion in 'Civ 5 - Community Call to Power project' started by gyogen2, Aug 26, 2014.

  1. Phantom11

    Phantom11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sainkt-Petersburg, Russia
    I understand that the project is frozen?
     
  2. hdbhdbvGFG541

    hdbhdbvGFG541 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    If they ever continue development they need to fix culture.I was winning culture victory before 200 turns and that was on emperor difficulty.
    And i wasn't even going for culture victory.
    Also the wonder that gives you 2 settlers is op.It gives you two free cities before anybody even has settlers.
    And i would love if they would change the health system so it doesn't give -4 to non freshwater.
    That just means you will always settle on river.
     
  3. Horllthanael

    Horllthanael Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Did the development of that mod is stop ? or it continue in another topic ? or on another support ? maybe an own support to be au new civilization call to power game ?
    To me this mod is far better than Civilization VI (including curent bug) so if you you some project link to this mod or to a new call to power project, i'm interested !

    Cordially
     
  4. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    Hey, the mod is on hold since the last two developers stopped working on it, we planned to release a final version, but real life issues stopped our plans, regardless i played CiV CCTP a few weeks ago, and i would like to release a overworked version, the main problem is that thsi is very time consuming, so i can only say it is possible that i will release a overworked version at some point, but sadly i can`t promise it.
     
  5. DarkMessiah

    DarkMessiah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    An overworked version would be great. Having a final version released would mean being able to port it to Civ 6 with much more ease. There truly isn't a mod that compares quite like this one although the Beyond Stars mod for BE is a close comparison.
     
  6. Phantom11

    Phantom11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sainkt-Petersburg, Russia
    In my opinion fashion is still good now. Serious bugs do not watch so far.
     
  7. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    To be honest i dislike CiV6, regardless the main problem is that after all this time i have to restart the whole project.

    The mod is that large and complex that CCTP is like a complete new expansion, to balance and rework the mod is a big job, but i played the current version the first time, and i saw many things i would like to change, or that need to be changed.

    So this might be a good point to start working again.
     
  8. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    Crime and Order need to be owerworked, but since i havn`t wrote the code, i can only bypass the real issues.
     
  9. joekikas

    joekikas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I posted this in a new thread, but, the new resources that are in this mod are not spawning when discovering the techs for each. Am I just having bad luck, is the game just bugged or am I missing something? I saw somewhere that playing on certain maps is required to play properly.
     
  10. joekikas

    joekikas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I revealed the map and they are on it but not spawning when researching the tech
     
  11. Thunderz

    Thunderz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Hi there

    is the download in THIS threat at page one the right version of CCTP or do i need to download other stuffs ?
    in the forum there is another topic with the 4.05 version and another topic with a hotfix ... what is the right now ?


    thanks for helping ...
     
  12. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    CCTP from the first page and Whowards DLL mod.

    http://www.picknmixmods.com/mods/CivV/DLL/Various Mod Components.html
     
  13. Thunderz

    Thunderz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    @Gilgamesch

    thanks for response

    for what do i need "Whowards DLL mod" / "Various Mod Components" btw ?
     
  14. Enchanteur

    Enchanteur Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello,
    I would like to test this mod that looks fantastic.
    However, I need to do a very small touch-up before that.
    I would like to incorporate the mini-mod "2 units per tile".
    I tried by placing the mod directory in the Call to power directory, in /DLL Support/Global - 2 Units Per Tile (v 2)/
    By taking care to delete the.modinfo file from this mod.
    Then by modifying the Community Call To Power v4.05 DLL Version V.3 (v 6).modinfo
    I added to it:
    <File md5="CF23C7233617B3C950097E1375AF1C67" import="0">DLL Support/XML/Global2UnitsPerTile.xml</File>

    However, nothing to do, it does not work.
    How could I do this successfully?
    It may sound stupid, but it is totally impossible for me to play a civ5 game without these famous "2 units per tile", otherwise this game drives me crazy.
     
  15. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    Hey, i didn`t touched the 2+ tile feature. You should be able to enable a mod that allow multiple units per tile.
     
  16. Enchanteur

    Enchanteur Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    For some stupid reason, I tried to incorporate the mod into Call to Power. I just tried it by just adding the mod normally, and miraculously, it works!
    On that note, I'm going to launch a real Call to Power game with "2 units per tiles"!!
     
  17. Enchanteur

    Enchanteur Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello,
    I was able to play in good conditions in the mod, I come to make a little review.

    NO BUG!
    So far, I haven't found any bugs, which is a good sign. The resources appear on the map when the appropriate technology has been found.
    As I had a fatal bug several months ago, I deleted the event system (my bug came from there). I had a strange number of events at the beginning of the game, one at each round, it was rather strange.

    CAVEMAN2COSMOS FEELING
    I felt a little bit of the thrill of playing this Civ4 mod. But with the beauty and speed of Civ5's end of turn. Something I was dreaming of.

    BALANCE
    I have the feeling that the balance of the game is not so well respected, because I quickly have an incredible amount of resources. Each cell in the city is overpaid.
    On one part, I just did the minimum research to get a wonder giving 2 settlers, then I continued by rushing-up the colon search. I quickly found myself with so many cities that I completely snowballed the AIs. This in difficulty Emperor. While I am an average player who normally has a lot of trouble beating this difficulty.
    I think it is impossible to achieve late game under these conditions, I don't see how AIs could survive in the middle ages.

    MANPOWER
    Honestly, I don't like this game mechanics. I didn't like it that much in the "superpower" mod, but I managed to re-dose it appropriately in this mod. In addition, this mod proposes to assign specialists to balance it.
    I spent my time running around getting manpower. There is also a big problem, the amount of manpower you have is not displayed anywhere, and you don't know how much it costs in manpower for various elements (including wonders). Apart from building a few buildings, there is really no way to rebalance a manpower deficit.
    I finally tweaked the mod. As I couldn't find where the initial amount given to the player was, I just multiplied by 10 the amount given by the dedicated buildings. My playing comfort has improved significantly, and I started to enjoy the next game.

    HEALTH
    Here too, it is difficult to manage health. In Caveman2Cosmos, you can build an unlimited number of healers to compensate for poor health. Here, it is almost impossible to solve this problem.

    TECHNOLOGICAL TREE.
    It is a failure, and it is very unfortunate. I know that the person who created this had a very good idea at the beginning, and had to spend a lot of time and energy on it, and that's unfortunate.
    Viewing a branch of a technology tree requires you to click once to display a panel with 3 possibilities, then click again. The waiting time for the last click is at least 3 seconds. It takes a foolish amount of time to see the 3 technological panels of a single era (and you have to do the same for each era!).
    It is impossible to easily see what follows, or to make long-term choices, because the ergonomics are so prohibitive. Between an idea that looks cool on paper, and an impeccable gameplay, it is by far the gameplay, the ease and speed of play that is needed.
    Moreover, there is no need for so many technologies, it was better to group more advantages on the same technologies. The speed of play and the time spent in each era can be adjusted with the speed of science in return.
    Having more to do with one technology would also help to balance the mod. Most of the time, during prehistoric times, my city has nothing to build 70% of the time, except units. And you need to have the "creation" element to pause the city and recover 20% of the lost production.
    As I imagine, the technology tree should be able to be displayed in one go, just like on the vanilla game, so that the player gets all the information, in one click, and in less than a second.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2018
  18. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    Manpower and Health are already shown, just lock at th e tooltip, anyway posts like this are the reason why i stopped working on the project.
     
  19. Souperhero

    Souperhero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, made this account to reply to Enchantuer.

    If youre gonna give constructive criticism, make it constructive.

    Modcreators are artists in their own way, saying what you like / dislike about someones work is an opinion that can usually be kept to oneself. Instead, offer ideas that encourage further development.

    I love this pack and hope to see it continued. Civ 6 is a nightmare and I don't want anything to do with it :crazyeye:
     
  20. beewyka819

    beewyka819 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Winthrop, Massachusetts
    It's been awhile since I've played this mod, but the other day I gave it another spin since I absolutely love this pack (especially the tech side of things, don't know what Enchanteur was talking about). The main issue with the current state of the mod are the CTD's that typically start around the Renaissance or Industrial era for me (could be me using another mod but the only other mods I'm using are Quick Turns and Wonder Race). Balancing and the such don't matter that much if you cant even get through the game at all. From what I've read most of the modding team is gone, and that you (Gligamesch) were thinking about taking a stab at this again. I still have the logs from that CTD I mentioned and would be more than willing to provide them if you do indeed end up returning to the project. Best of luck.
     

Share This Page