computer upgrade

rockinroger

WoC Team Member
Helllo I need a little help from some computer experts. Im just a carpenter but I like to build my own computers. I like the Civ series 3, and 4, so I have CIv 3 Gold, PTW, and both CIV4. Needless to say thats a lot of space on my hard drive. Its a 80 gb. I just rebuilt my computer with a new motherboard and video card. I was thinking of installing a new hard drive. Would it be better to have 2 hard drives one master and one slave? Or just go for some of the large hard drives. Or perhaps have a external hard drive thats just dedicated to civ series. I also play around with alot mods, which is even more space on hard drive. Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated.

Attachments

• DxDiag.txt
    47.3 KB · Views: 134
Having two drives is a really good idea, because you can install the operating system on one drive, then install you games and store files on the other drive. Then if you ever need to re-install windows or upgrade, you can just format the OS drive and still keep all your saved games and other files.

Though with windows, you'd probably have to reinstall games anyway just to make sure the registry was set up right. But in the event of a major problem that forces you to reinstall the OS, you would still have your saved games, mods, etc.

If you just get one large HD, you can also partition it to create multiple drives and do the same thing.