1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Detailed Worlds 2.12

Re-worked climates, rivers and custom map scripts with additional details.

  1. Guynemer

    Guynemer King

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    This is my favorite map script by far. Awesome work, Seven05.
     
  2. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Glad you guys are enjoying it :)
     
  3. kycaka

    kycaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    make a mod that will call the river in maps created manually in the map editor. or tell me how to do it.
     
  4. MjM

    MjM Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,099
    Location:
    California
    I've only played a couple of games with these map script additions, but the few I did... The maps look gorgeous. As a longtime civ player, I have to say probably one of the best. Very good world creation, and this on Huge setting, the only map size I've been playing on (except for a couple here or there) for the past decade and a half in the series.

    Great job! :goodjob:
     
  5. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Seven05 updated Detailed Worlds with a new update entry:

    Flood Plains!

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  6. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  7. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    is this mod perfectly compatible with perfectworld, or would it be better to not use them together?
     
  8. Smity2k1

    Smity2k1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    228
    They do different things to map generation so I would imagine they would not be compatible.
     
  9. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Well, technically they should be compatible since you can only generate one world at a time. I haven't looked at the latest version but if I know Cephalo he has custom methods for just about everything so my changes to the utility files won't have any effect on Perfect World.
     
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  10. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    thanks, that's pretty much what I expected but wanted to be sure :D
     
  11. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
  12. Smity2k1

    Smity2k1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    228
    Do you plan on releasing map generation for inland sea?
     
  13. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not sure. I tried that a while back but since I don't play on those types of maps I'm just guessing at what would make it a good map and I was never really happy with the results... then again, that's probably because I don't like those maps to begin with :)
     
  14. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Denmark
    I've asked this before but I don't think I've received an answer so you going to try my luck again - sorry for any inconvenience.

    I really like the detailed worlds maps but I'd like to lower the number of long mountains ranges while still preserving some more or less isolated mountains (to leave a larger portion of the map hospitable).

    I already play with the old world age setting on but would like to try and tweak the lua script too.

    Can anyone give any tips?

    \Skodkim
     
  15. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Most of the ranges will come from the GS update that adds a ton of mountains at the continent boundaries. To adjust this, look in terraingenerator.lua, line 267:
    Code:
    local iMountainPercentByDistance:table = {42, 24, 6};
    
    Just reduce all three numbers, for example to get roughly half as many mountains in the ridges try {41, 12, 3}. You may want to try a few different things, such as just reducing one or two of those values rather than all three. This is the chance the game will add a mountain based on the distance from the continent boundary (1 tile, 2 tile, 3 tile distance).

    Edit: Sorry, I didn't reply so I'll mention you @skodkim to trigger the alert :)
     
  16. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thank you very much @Seven05 I was messing around with Mountainscliffs.lua as I wasnt aware that some of the moutain placement was also handled in TerrainGenerator.lua. Couldn't figure out why I was only able to tweak the mountain ranges even if I placed really large/small values.

    \Skodkim
     
  17. treadwin

    treadwin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Canada
    In the latest version, the DWcontinents map script seems to have inherited the Pangea grain_dice setting (grain_dice =2), so we are getting a Pangea every time.
     
  18. DeepSoul

    DeepSoul Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Is there a way to add more rivers? Really boring when you get a big grassland area without a single river.
     
  19. nauberry

    nauberry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    I can't answer that question but have you tried the mod lately? Is it working? I saw lots of reports in steam, that the mod is not working. I love it but haven't tried it since the June patch.
     
  20. DeepSoul

    DeepSoul Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Yes it's working with GS. Try it yourself.
     

Share This Page