1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion

Discussion in 'Fallout: The Rebirth Of Civilization' started by Thorgrimm, Jan 8, 2007.

  1. AncientOne

    AncientOne Johnny Juwarra

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Estonia
    yeah, kind of.. Many of the Brothers have other more important missions right now (they have good reasons to be off duty).. but do not worry, even now some needed work will be done. For example.. Chief Engineer SWalker is constantly popping out new buildings and Recruit Master Aaglo is making (read -training) really needed mutant units.
    I will seek to it that some newest previews find it's way from testers forum to here, for public displaying.
     
  2. Thorgrimm

    Thorgrimm Senior Elder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Expanding the Brotherhood
    I apologize for my absence, but I have had some RL stuff interfere, Flamand is second in command, so it is his decision as to keep working or knock off till I get my issues straightened out. :(




    :nuke: Þórgrímr :nuke:
     
  3. Slaughter

    Slaughter Initiate

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Belém, Brazil
    Well, I'm checking this place everyday. I'm just not testing because some bug is affecting my Civilization III Conquests. Someone know if Civilization III have some kind of problem with NVIDIA grafic cards? It began happening since I upgraded my comp, so one of yours maybe know how to solve it. I'm really wanting to test The Enclave. Bessides, It's exam time.
     
  4. Ryuga

    Ryuga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Loc
    What did you upgrade? It is important to narrow down the delta change between the last time Civ3 was working and the first time Civ3 not working correctly. From there, I would uninstall components and their drivers individually to see which delta is really affecting Civ3. Things to look for are upgraded hardware, their drivers, Microsoft updates, etc.
     
  5. Ryuga

    Ryuga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Loc
    A quick request. If you could approve my request (already submitted through the forum) to beta test, that would be great.

    thanks
     
  6. Flamand

    Flamand The Visible Elder!

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    Way out there...
    Have you tried reinstalling Civ? Worked for me last time I had bugs...
     
  7. AncientOne

    AncientOne Johnny Juwarra

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Estonia
    there's no way to approve your request in forum.. you have to apply for joining scifi workshop..
    look up, where there's line with Home, My account, Downloads and others.. one you need is My Account.. click it.. now scroll down, if you see a Group Membership there, click it.. now find CIV3 scifi workshop and put a dot in join group. Now, if you have done that, then make a private message to Flamand.. Thor just gave him right to accept new members
     
  8. Slaughter

    Slaughter Initiate

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Belém, Brazil
    Interesting concept. Civ3 began being evil to me after I upgraded my old Athlon 1.8 with 512 RAM and on-board VIA 32 mb graphics card. After that, I had a Pentium 4 HT 3.0 with 1024 GB of ram and a NVIDIA's GeForce 6200 LE with turbo cache and 128 RAM (even if it's says 256).

    I updated my drivers to version 6.14.0010.9371 (told by DXDIAG) yesterday. I think I still have the error, but I have to check it better.
     
  9. Ryuga

    Ryuga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Loc
    By "forum" I meant the whole group membership process. I requested through Group Membership page and PMed last week. Just waiting for approval. I was asking for the approval part, :D. Thanks for explaining.
     
  10. Ryuga

    Ryuga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Loc
    An easier way is to do an XP system restore to the last known good state of OS, then install the delta drivers and hardwares individually to see what breaks civ3. Or Uninstalling then installing a fresh copy of Civ3 works sometimes as Flamand suggested.
     
  11. Flamand

    Flamand The Visible Elder!

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    Way out there...
    Ryuga, you're in... Ok initiate, report to the workshop rules thread and sign it before starting tests. ;)
     
  12. Thorgrimm

    Thorgrimm Senior Elder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Expanding the Brotherhood
    Replaced the Boneyard Library and Cafe's gfx with the new buidlings by SWalker. All buildings added below were done by SWalker.:)

    Added a Barracks
    Added a Car Lot spits out a Highwayman every 30 turns
    Added the Modern Docks, Takes over the commercial portion of a fishery which no no longer makes trade arrows in water
    Added EOTC Comm Center, reduces corruption, propaganda, war weariness. (EOTC Corporal Punishment)
    Added EOTC Factory
    Added EOTC Light Factory (EOTC Tannery)
    Added EOTC Scoutbot Facility (EOTC Kennel)
    Added EOTC Grinders (EOTC Scrap Metal)




    :nuke: Cheers, Þórgrímr :nuke:
     
  13. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,641
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    Hey guys, I'm not sure if either of you are still involved with this, but I've come up with some (slightly) modified forest graphics and heavily modified Jungle graphics (although I could just can the jungle graphics I initially created and replace them with slight mods like I did with the forests).

    Basically, I got tired of seeing nothing but dead trees, especially since I know for a fact (considering that I WAS at one point on a track to becoming a professional horticulturalist) that most plants are unaffected by radiation, and in fact, in MANY cases, radiation will actually make the plants grow FASTER.

    I.e. your "mutant corn" would, based on research I've read on corn that had been exposed to gamma radiation for long periods of time, should look more or less like regular corn, but would be about 30-40 ft tall and have ears that are 4+ ft long.

    Just my two caps, though. ;)

    Also, the PCX for forested hills should have a space between the "Hills" and "Forest" part in order to display properly... yet another weird quirk of the Civ III engine.

    Finally, I also read that you have the files to animate the Fallout LHs and I'd be more than happy to do so (it won't take long since I have the know-how and Animation Shop 3)
     
  14. Slaughter

    Slaughter Initiate

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Belém, Brazil
    I think the mod has been without work since 2007. I would't mind coming back to help finish 1.13 and release it, or was that already released? I dunno. I don't have as much free time as in 2007, but my mind works better, I am more organized and I think that I may get some free time after January. I've re-discovered this mod those days, I'm thinking of starting a AAR on the RPGCodex forums, but I'm not sure Thor would appreciate it being done with 1.13. This mod is made out of awesome, and it needs to exist forever.

    I'm not sure if files for jungles are necessary, but Thor would know that better than me. I don't think the mod goes that north. But I think we would appreciate them.

    You can animate the LHs? Awesome! PM Thor or Flamand about that.
     
  15. Thorgrimm

    Thorgrimm Senior Elder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Expanding the Brotherhood
    Hikaro, I also agree in real life nature would flourish and explode in green after a nuclear war. But, the Fallout mod is faithful to the 'world' of the RPG. So everything is brown, burnt out, and desolate. :D

    But thanks anyway for the offer.



    Cheers, Thor
     
  16. Thorgrimm

    Thorgrimm Senior Elder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Expanding the Brotherhood

    Slaughter, in regards to finishing the mod, well, I would not even know where to begin! I cannot remember where I left off at! :lol:

    But if there was enough interest in finishing this puppy off I would consider it. ;)

    As for an AAR, I would enjoy reading it even using the last incarnation. :D



    :nuke: Cheers, Thor :nuke:
     
  17. LonelyLurker

    LonelyLurker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    I would very much like to see this mod finished, sadly I have no relevant skills to offer but I'd certainly like to play it.

    The last version I tried had 'Barbarians in Power armor' issues as well as crashing whenever the enclave finished "The Platform". Is there a more recent version out there? I got the impression that there was an unreleased update with at least some of the problems ironed out.
     
  18. KingArthur

    KingArthur Searching for the Holy Grail

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,929
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alba
    I'm playing FO3 at the moment and its really rekindled my interest in this mod. I would love to see it finished too and would be glad to help out where I can.
     
  19. Thorgrimm

    Thorgrimm Senior Elder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Expanding the Brotherhood
    Yes, there was, actually, a couple of updates that never hit the streets. IIRC, the last one I finished had no probs with barbs in PA, or crashes from the Platform. And also had fixed the crash on right click on a building in a city.

    @King Arthur, if you folks want me to update the mod again, make up a list of problems as you see them. This will give me a baseline to shoot from. :)



    :nuke: Cheers, Thor :nuke:
     
  20. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,641
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    Thor: I know that the Fallout vegetation was wastelandish, but it wasn't ALL brown and dead... Here's are some "Compromise" forests and jungles I came up with a while back:

     

Share This Page