1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Earth_realsimV1-18 civ realistic and balance game play is the aim

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Pre-made Maps' started by niust, Dec 8, 2005.

  1. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    You should check china or india ;) ... more food good for long run game... this map... big cities are 20-30 size..... early game... we don;t have to use all the food to big.... like history... cities can get big very quick early... until there is more Structures to support(grainary , aqueduct, etc)..... then ofcourse... later on more specialist can be support especially the most fertile cities....:cool: after all england is already a marginal land... more resource was meant to balance their position... (ex... russian, more land thus less resources, japan less land more resources, etc )... move England up north... I'll think about it.. it is not far from main land u know..
     
  2. kendric

    kendric Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    I think the map is good, you should ignore the people that don't like americans in the new world etc. What I would suggest is ditching a few of the crowded guys in the east half of the world and adding 2 to the west half so they have more land competition and not such an easy time of it. Perhaps you can modify the names of the civilizations? I was thinking of maybe moving england and france thus opening up for the other 3 guys crowded in europe, and putting one in north ameria just ne from california where there is some nice land, and the other in south america somewhere. Also saladin looks like he has a pretty bum deal where he is. Oh a final note is there was a few flood plains i noticed that were just plain desert instead. I think it was in africa. Good work on the map. And good work to the original creator!

    (Note) After reading about one of the other large earth maps, he put lots of strong barbs in the americas to balance out the land grab. You could do that.
     
  3. DMW

    DMW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Holland
    How unplayable does this map become after playing for a view era's?

    I have a 2600+ 1gig ram and a 9700PRO, is this map playable for me?
     
  4. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Should be ok... my is 64m intel..with 1.4 G and 504 MB ram... but again... it not the spec but how you run it... so make sure read all the post... ati..need 4.12 ver drive.... not new one... and try the new unoffcial graphic patch by this russ guy .. very good in my com.. have fun:scan:
     
  5. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Thanks... saladin have a tough position for sure... but in my game he rather weather it out well... more barb in america... i'll think about it... what i need is some barb with strong hist of building settlement.. if give nomad a city ... kind na .. weired... but the hun and zulu got it .. so i give it a try in us and brazil.. next version... But to use stock civ and make them a new barb,, will be a MOD... so i have to pass... I will put my MOD in one of these days... :p
     
  6. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    NOTE ...I fix INCA NOW
     
  7. Amourek

    Amourek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    I really enjoy this map however the Barbarians seem to share their research... so Buddhism, Hinduism, Judaism, Confucianism were all founded by Barbarian cities in my game. I took a quick peak at their technology and they already have Code of Laws, Calendar and Iron Working ~ 1800BC on Epic. I don't mind strong barbarians, but this is very frustrating.
     
  8. baptiste

    baptiste Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    In another hand America (the 3 civs) is weakened by having few possibilities of trading science / goods without contacts with eurasian civs. If the sea between america and eurasia/pacific is ocean (wich sounds logical to me), then barbs should be tough, but not too much since these 3 civs got yet a serious handicap.
    You can add that these civs don't have access to many resources that can only be found on eurasia, they can't even trade them (until late).

    Note about Mexican mentionned somewhere above : mexicans are the (direct) descendants of aztecs.
     
  9. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    HI,
    good you like it... :) ...what level is that... like me in my last game 'Monarch' map ver 1.2.. barbarians should be weaker than the ver 1.1... persian took of 3 barbarians city like HUN CHOLAS and Babylon.. in short time... the rest follow soon... as China my point is a head of others about 150%..... remember ... barbarians 'freetech' advance or research is not set by THIS map.. but by your game setting... SO,, we can always make them weaker or stronger... by this file...in your civ directory...

    'GlobalDefines'

    edit it if you want;)
     
  10. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Yep, the americanos always weak .. coz they are too far... but not that bad to have the continent for themselves.... the weakest CIV AI in my games always are ROME, GREEK ,ENGLAND.... which is sad:( hope they can do better..... again.... there are a lot of HUTS.... lucky... and some will get ahead very quick..... IN this map... tech do go fast... I notice... coz... it is big map with a lot of resources to speed up research... I always be in indutrial age many centuries before its time,,,:p
     
  11. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Minor Update To Ver 1.2.1
     
  12. Amourek

    Amourek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    I was testing it out on Noble... so that seems kind of weird they'd be so strong. I will try changing the freetech setting. Thanks.
     
  13. DMW

    DMW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Holland
    I used the tool to multiply the technology costs by a factor u urself can choose. I made all the techs 1.3 times more expensive and the game still goes a bit fast later on.... maybe 1.5 is better..... but Im enjoying your map bigtime anyways! Thanks for the good work!
     
  14. Madeira

    Madeira Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,437
    Location:
    Portugal
    I have a request for this map, could you make a light version without the ancient and american civs (so america can be colonized)? Get rid of Rome, Greece, Persia, Egypt, Aztec, Inca and America. I tried doing it myself but it keeps crashing :(
     
  15. Blubfsm

    Blubfsm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Tried the previous version with the Incas and (other than the misspelling, which was changed in 1.2.1) noticed that there is a "Mount Vesuvius" in the Andes. Strange.
     
  16. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Ops... that got in from my MOD.. haha...get it out later..any peak can blow up to be volcano u know.. unlucky and you city can be got .hihi:lol:
     
  17. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    When I have time I will try OK..:goodjob:
     
  18. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    ALL FIXED...

    New update now.... ver 1.3... best map so far....
     
  19. niust

    niust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    GUYS.... new ver is up.... I think its will be a while before I update again.... MERRY X MAS................
     
  20. pasisti

    pasisti Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland =)
    Sounds great! I'll download this tomorrow, when I have time :)
     

Share This Page