1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

ExtraModMod continued

Discussion in 'More Naval AI Modmod' started by lfgr, Jun 16, 2019.

  1. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
  2. Tielby

    Tielby Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    The sacred and free citadel of mind
    Dang it! I meant to get back on the forum and let you know, after I posted the last time I tried a game of MNAI (latest version) and found the same behavior. The hotfix worked, and I was able to apply it to MNAI too.
    As far as I know, I was using the previous version of MNAI until less than a week ago with no problems, so it seems to be something that was changed in MNAI in the last patch. I never played previous versions of EMM, so I don't know if it's specific to this most recent version of EMM. Hope that helps.

    Anyway, thanks!
     
  3. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    I do have python exceptions enabled and there aren't any BUT following the testing guide did yield some more interesting results. I replicated the Crash to Desktop and got a new log in addition to the one I attached last time: "initmgr.log". In addition I was able to get a full dump file. The full dump file is huge >1 gb, so I've attached a google drive link with it in a zip file and the two logs: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1IBQsVzntjrLmi_Fw1h3PmNMkS168QxYr.

    Hopefully this helps.

    When I have time I'll do some testing to try to figure out which game option specifically causes the crash, but I don't have time to go through all of them rn.
     
  4. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    The google drive link only has the PythonErr2.log that you already uploaded. I'm honestly not so sure how much the crash dump would help anyway, because the released DLL does not have debug symbols. I attached a debug DLL, please use that to generate a crash dump. Also, generally PythonDbg.log and PythonErr.log might be useful.

    Some additional standard questions: Does vanilla FfH work? Do/did any previous versions of MNAI or EMM work?
    Are you on windows? Mac doesn't work, Linux/WINE might have filesystem problems (among others).

    I tried manually corrupting my mod files a bit to reproduce the error. I didn't manage to get the exact same thing, but being able to build Shrine of the Champion points towards a python problem. Could you maybe just upload your entire mod folder? You can remove Assets/Pak0.FPK (amounts to half of the overall space).

    I don't think this is due to a specific option. Also, there's no rush, of course. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
  6. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    I've isolated the crash to the Living World game option. Going to upload a crash log with the new DLL soon
     
  7. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
  8. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
  9. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    I fixed the bug that caused the crash recorder by your dump. Thanks for the help so far.
    Still, I'm not sure if the fixed bug has any connection to your other problems (I could reproduce it, but it only occurs when closing the program anyway; on the other hand it overwrites some semi-random memory, so who knows). I attached a new debug DLL for you to try. If it crashes again, please upload the dump again (you can use another compression program/format like 7z, that might produce somewhat smaller files). If everything works fine I'll upload a faster release DLL.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    It worked! I can start a game with Living World now, it doesn't crash, I cannot research Seafaring at the start and I cannot build the Shrine of the Champion without meeting its prerequisite. Your DLL fix seems to have fixed all of those problems. I then experienced the same problem Tielby reported with the civics. I applied the patch you suggested and that fixed it. I'll play through a bit and see if everything else runs smoothly!
     
  11. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Well it didn't take long for me to crash everything in a new and exciting way. This crash was achieved by trying to load an autosave from the load game option in the in-game menu. Here's a onedrive folder with the error message I saw, the dump and the logs: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AkQyjmzBaMCqhoMSEj0ygp_FG5MQcQ?e=dk9z2f

    Interestingly, this corrupted things somehow, causing the original error (Crash due to the living world game option, able to build smugglers ports and the shrine of the champions and research seafaring) to resurface. Here's the output (dump, screenshot of error message and logs) from the second error https://1drv.ms/u/s!AkQyjmzBaMCqhoMSEj0ygp_FG5MQcQ?e=4zEBzi

    I successfully fixed the second error by redownloading a fresh version of your uncorrupted debug DLL. I've now started another game to see what other new and exciting bugs I can generate. So far everything is working fine again
     
  12. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Okay, so I have no idea how you managed to get that assert. Might again be some memory corruption issue. Still, the assert itself should not cause any problems; did you click "abort"? Because the dump shows the game state when the assert happens, not when some kind of crash happens.
    Your two links seem to point to the same folder. I'd be interested in the second dump.
     
  13. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    huh, that's strange. Both links point to the folder for the second error, the one that only occurred after the first glitch corrupted something, i.e. not the root cause and not the useful one. Here's the first error, which occurred when I attempted to load the autosave. Let me know if this link works for you https://1drv.ms/u/s!AkQyjmzBaMCqhoMITYtVlw27Dw6X1g?e=mUTwDi
     
  14. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    I see. I'll look into that other dump. Still, can you describe what exactly happened? You got the assertion error, then what did you click, when did it crash?

    EDIT: By the way, is anybody else successfully playing this mod on Windows 7?

    EDIT2: So, in both dumps the problem seems to be that the game tries to re-initialize itself for some reason, and fails at it. This is somewhat consistent with the previous crash (which I could only reproduce when closing the game).
    Your game loads a bunch of additional python modules, probably caused by additional mapscripts (e.g. Full_of_Resources_3_00). The next time you get a crash, please try removing all those. You probably have them in "C:\Users\Admin\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\PublicMaps".
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 8:16 AM
  15. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    In the "CvGlobals.cpp" case I attempted to load an autosave, got the error, clicked "Debug" and it generated the crash dump and crashed. Perhaps Debug caused it to close. The other one only showed up after the first. I'll try deleting mapscripts as you suggested
     
  16. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Yes, "Debug" only works when you have an attached debugger. Otherwise, it crashes (but apparently produces a valid crash dump).
     
  17. Tielby

    Tielby Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    The sacred and free citadel of mind
    I have a running Windows 7 machine. It's not the one I usually play on, but if you want me to test it, I can.
     
  18. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks for the offer, but don't bother for now. Let's wait how it works out.
     
    Tielby likes this.
  19. DuskTreader

    DuskTreader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    well I've played through ~120 turns and so far it has been stable and bug-free. This is with the latest DLL, the civics screen patch and the other mapscripts removed as you suggested. I'll keep you posted on whether it stays stable next time I have time to play
     
    Tielby likes this.

Share This Page