1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Feature] Limited Resource Effects

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Mar 25, 2018.

  1. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,713
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    Does a single city always require the same fraction of a resource independent of its population? E.g. does an empire of four cities with a shared 80 population between them require the same amount of resources as an empire of ten cities that are one pop each?
     
    1SDAN and Jarlaxe Baenre like this.
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    That's a good solution. We can display the total number of resources but use colour to indicate if it is sufficient.

    Yes. Resources can only ever provide one health/happiness anyway, so it does not make sense to take city population into account.

    By the way, cities do not "consume fractions" of resources. You either have enough resources to supply a city or you do not.
     
    1SDAN and Imp. Knoedel like this.
  3. hnrysml

    hnrysml Warlord

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    I'm so excited for this feature! You're doing great stuff, Leoreth and collaborators.
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Does anyone have experience with the trade AI? This is the main concern I have with this so far.

    Also, I have found a rather simple way to also tie building effects that provide happiness/health with resources into this system as well. I think it makes more sense and allows you to use buildings as a way to funnel these effects to cities that need them regardless of culture.

    To clarify, the idea is to limit the number of buildings that can provide an effect from a resource in the same way. If more buildings exist than can be supplied the priority is again by culture. Each of these effects would be independent, so you can have city A with less culture than B and A get happiness from Silk because it has a Market but no base happiness and B get the base happiness but not the extra happiness because it does not have a Market.
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  5. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    Not sure how I feel about this. You'd be likely to build things like markets, wharfs, etc. in your most developed cities, and if you do then you simply prevent any method for the less developed cities to get the effect from the resources (besides acquiring more copies).

    It's true that some of the affected buildings have limited usefulness besides the resource :)/:health:, so the rule would be fine for these. (Pharmacy, Weaver, etc.)

    Does it also apply to other resource-based bonuses, such as the Distillery's?
     
    1SDAN and Jarlaxe Baenre like this.
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I would say so.
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    New update:
    - the resource total is always displayed in all cities
    - resource tooltip in city screens shows required or excess resources for resource effect

    Spoiler :
    Civ4ScreenShot0275.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0276.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0277.JPG


    With this, I consider this feature to be complete. I will wait some days for further feedback and then merge it into the develop branch.
     
    trevor likes this.
  8. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    Nice. The wording is weird — "Dublin has 1 - 1 more required" seems to simultaneously imply that Dublin has the resource and does not — but it's not a big deal if you can't / don't want to change it, it's clear enough what is meant.
     
    Jarlaxe Baenre likes this.
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Do you have another proposal? I didn't put much thought into how it is phrased.
     
  10. TsarAndreas

    TsarAndreas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    How about "Dublin has 1 - 1 less than required"? Or to be more grammatically correct, "Dublin has 1 - 1 fewer than required"?

    If Dublin needs 2, then it is perfectly reasonable for it to have 1 and still need more.
     
  11. trevor

    trevor Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    How about "Acquire # for access"?
     
    borhap88 likes this.
  12. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    How about "1 available [implied: in the trade network] – 1 more required for Dublin"?

    And "3 available – 2 more than needed for Dublin"

    Basically, the "Dublin has n" part doesn't seem meaningful, if I understand correctly that it's the whole empire's network that has n, not the city.
     
    Publicola, Jarlaxe Baenre and Leoreth like this.
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    New update: clarified wording in resource tooltip
     
  14. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    Reasonable but bad idea. Could ruin the fun.
     
    Leoreth likes this.
  15. Orbii

    Orbii Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Noticed this twice so far: AI's will trade away excess cereals for nothing (as in, you ask for them, and they are free). Attached a save below where it can be seen with France (who has two Wheats and will give me one for free (I have one already)), as well as a screencap of the aftermath of the 'What do you want for this' function. I had also noticed the same during an America playthrough, where I milked 3 Rices from China for free, at a point where I controlled all of North America with probably around 22 cities (can't find this save).

    Spoiler Free Wheat :
    upload_2018-4-25_19-33-4.png
     

    Attached Files:

    ales_ and 1SDAN like this.
  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    That's a good point, the AI probably considers excess resources worthless and will give them away for free. Looks like I still need to include some variant of relative value in its decision making.
     
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    New update: AI considers relative value in resource trades
     
    Gianmarco Silvestro likes this.
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    New update: rebased on and then merged into develop.
     
  19. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    After the Limited Resourses merged into develop branch, the game is usual to crash.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Please upload saves that lead to a crash.
     

Share This Page