1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FfH2 0.25 Bug Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Kael, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. Caradoc

    Caradoc Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,010
    May not be a bug, just something to keep in mind: A Great General can carry Orcus's Ax. However, when he is joined to another unit, the Ax disappears.
     
  2. Arqane

    Arqane Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Sorry if it's been posted before. I don't usually play the Sheiam much :p.

    Anyway, the Eater of Dreams' Consume Soul ability is bugged if you have multiple EoD in a stack. It will allow the cities to go into negative population values, and allows infinite summons. As if a few EoDs weren't dangerous enough :).

    On the plus side, it won't crash the game, and the town will "build" normally...
     
  3. Kiri

    Kiri Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Yeah i'm on turn 548 of a marathon game, Waiting for other Civilizations..forever. Python exceptions enabled, nothing popped up. I'm playing the elves and at war with 2 people, it's about that time for ashen vale to enter the game, not sure what is causing the loop.
     
  4. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,195
    Location:
    Kael's head

    I just figured out how this works now. Instead of automatically giving the city with the Mercurian Gate to the Mercurians, Basium was given the ability to cast the Convert City spell (the same one Rantine can use to peacefully take barbarian cities, but without the requirement that he be stringer than the strongest defender and only in the city with the gate). This explains why it sometimes takes time for the city to convert; the AI seems to think that there is something more important to do than cast a spell, like guard the starting settler or fight demons. Sometimes this may actually be right; the gate building city would be more productive under the old civs control, and capturing a your first city further from your summoner's empire would give you more room to expand. Plus, you could always go back latter and take the city after benefiting from giving your ally more time to build priests and research techs that will help more in the long run. Plus, before you have a city you pay no maintenance costs. I assume this is intended, but I hadn't realized until recently because the AI usually plays a turn as Basium before the human player can switch to control him, and would usually go ahead and take a city in this time.

    You know, if you go ino world builder and add Mercurian Gates in multiple cities, this ability becomes much more powerful. But of course, there are simpler ways to use worldbuilder to get ahead. ;)

    Hmm, I'm pretty sure this means that even if you lose the city with the gate and it falls into a rivals hands, you can always get it back peacefully (assuming I can get an open boarders agreement). If the diplomatic boost from liberating cities were working you could probably gift the city frequently, and then take it back to gift again.
     
  5. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,513
    Nicely done! Another mystery solved.
     
  6. RobertTheBruce

    RobertTheBruce King

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    Southern CA
    I found a few minor bugs in my latest game:

    1> The Shrine of the Champion doesn't seem to do anything. Units created in the city with the shrine don't get an additional promotion.

    2> I am getting 5-6 free demigogs per turn while running Crusade. I don't know if it is a small probability per tile but it seems broken with a lot of cities. I literally cannot ship them to the continent at war as fast as they are being created.

    The AI is doing a great job slowing my offensive with shadows and assassins. They are killing catapults and mages as fast as I can create them but the marksman promotion has a strange behavior with ships in port.

    3> Shadows can auto-destroy ships in port. The ship is destroyed with no entry in the combat log or damage to the shadow. I'm not sure if shadows are meant to be ultra saboteurs but its a mess with the Council of Esus. One of my "friends" on my continent built a couple of hidden nationality, commando shadows and my opponent has a few as well. I can't leave a ship in port to heal on either continent.
     
  7. Morticia

    Morticia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry that tok me a long time to reply.My english is not very good and i avoid posting even if I am adicted to civ FFH ;).
    No, I never played unrestricted leaders. Buy as I sad I did played random personalities. Both me and my boyfriend had exp. this.
    After I stop using it it never hapend again.

    Thanks for reply
     
  8. kioras

    kioras Daemon Quellor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    n/m was mistaken
     
  9. feydras

    feydras Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ugh. Second game in a row that i got the 'Waiting for other civs' hang. The worst thing it has come about halfway into each game so a lot of time is lost.

    I was playing as the Calabim both games and one game Hyborem didn't come yet (he was very late) and the other he had already come so i don't think it was him. My speed was Epic and i played on Huge maps with 21+ civs both games. I tried to delete some things in the World editor to isolate the bug but the game crashed on me upon exiting World editor if i edited too much so i gave up.

    Has anyone had any luck isolating this hang/bug?! Frustrating experience. I may go back to .23 as well until Shadow is out for a week or two. Ahhh, who am i kidding.. I need to play the latest version!
     
  10. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    Did you try turning off some memory-resident programs in order to give more mem to the game?
     
  11. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,647
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I must be lucky then. I have played 20+ times 0.25A - 0.25L and have only experienced the "waiting" bug twice. Once on 0.25A and once on 0.25L. First time was with the vamps, second with Doviello, although I don't think that is the reason, I think it is either an event script that malfunctions or something an AI builds.
     
  12. Cayne

    Cayne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    California
    Hey was running Vista on a laptop but had issues with it (ie i was running Vista) so i formatted and reinstalled XP onto it, but now when i try to launch Fall from heaven i CTD. I'm pretty sure this is a video issue (opening movie for FFH seems to be the culprit) Are there any fixes for this issue, like downloading an update from bink video, looked couldn't find one.
     
  13. White Elk

    White Elk 99 > 1

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    I've tried to isolate that bug by removing all civs one by one. I went through them ALL and nothing changed it. I also changed my actions and nothing changed the WOC. Been a couple days and I am still Frustrated by this, but I will try whatever I can think of. For now though I am far too frustrated with firaxis to keep trying for now. May pick up on this us latter, but doggone I am mad at firaxis and BTS.
     
  14. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    Check and make sure you are running BtS 3.13. If you don't have that patch you CtD in the same place.
     
  15. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    Have you tried running the game with the AC switched off? This may be the reason. Haven't had this problem since I tried this approach. Could be "it"...
     
  16. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you reload does it WOC at the same point?
     
  17. Backov

    Backov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    The one that I posted a few pages back does every time. Assuming WOC means sits there waiting for other civilizations forever.
     
  18. feydras

    feydras Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Seattle
    WFOC (waiting for other civs) hang. Yes, it stops in the same spot even when i tried two different saves. Once it gets to a certain point it hangs but i can't figure out the trigger.

    Both games i played i was using lots of civs on a huge map. First WOFC hang was on Nikis-Knights map, i think he has 21 or so civs, others reported the bug there as well. Second was on a random map and i was using 31 civs (the max number to choose all the unique leaders). Has anyone had the hang on a game with less than 17 civs?
     
  19. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    Backov's reproducable WoC has 7 civs in it (easier for me to isolate in) so it definitly occurs in smaller games.

    Incidently Backov's WoC is coming from the Sphener unit in the Malakim empire. It isnt caused by a spell. Still looking into it.
     
  20. feydras

    feydras Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Seattle
    Thanks Kael. It's good to know you are looking at it.
     

Share This Page