1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Final Fixes Reborn

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Ronkhar, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    I added another sheet to the pedia doc, as a sort of 'to-do' list.

    In the overall bug list for Ashes, there are a handful of minor (or not) pedia-only entries that could be transferred to the other thread, I.E. bug numbers 20, 27, 70, 92, 147 etc. Could I have edit privileges on the primary bug list to fill in the 'assigned to' boxes on bugs that fit under the pedia description category, as is on #20? That way, people without programming experience can see simple description bugs and can help with this.

    Speaking of which, if anybody wants to help out with descriptions/mechanics, go to the doc I linked and see if there's something you might want to do :D
     
  2. Mordax_Praet

    Mordax_Praet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    *sigh* fixing my PC isn't going well, I've lost my wireless capabilities and am currently sat in the hallway next to my router with a little cable attached

    I think there's bigger things to worry about on the AI front than the Mekarans

    The Scions as lead by Ophelia seem to show up in almost every game I play, and if they live long enough for me to meet them (that's a big if, the first few turns are a struggle for them) they never have anything above Size2.

    At least the Mekarans hold their own, but they aren't the only ones who refuse to use their special mechanics, in my last game I started with an Archos AI right next door and I didn't see a single spider in my lands, they just garrison them in cities as if they're normal defensive troops.
     
  3. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    It seems that haunted lands don't spawn with the flavor start option enabled with the scions. As they are my favorite civ to use this is pretty important.

    On Erebus Continent map. attached
     

    Attached Files:

  4. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    But the rest of the maps it seems to work fine. I prefer Erebus anyway, just saying lol.

    Looking good so far, I'll let you know any bugs or improvements I find.

    EDIT: The AI do seem to be very passive still and don't build settlers and buildings very often early. Lots of warriors
     
  5. lampuiho

    lampuiho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    wasteland removes river but there is no way to get those river back?

    and why remove haunted lands gold bonus? they've got no town... Not to mention haunted lands spread really slowly
     
  6. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    The unit civopedia pages seem distorted. The background and strategy appears on the right side unreadable...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
  8. zldrago1000

    zldrago1000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    So I am starting a new game as the Scions, and I noticed that Korinna wasn't able to pick up spell promotions. Isn't she supposed to be an arcane unit before you upgrade her?
     
  9. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    I'll check that out... I'm pretty sure you need either a certain tech or upgrade her to Korinna the Black...

    EDIT: Weird, she's described as an arcane unit, but doesn't get the channeling I promotion that allows for the use of spells. Not sure if that's supposed to be like that
     
  10. Blueboots

    Blueboots Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Hi! Was a big fan of Rise from Erebus up to 1.4. Came across Ashes of Erebus during the weekend and I'm loving it. Just wanted to thank everyone involved in its continuous development. Also, is there a development road map page, or is AoE strictly a bug-hunt at this point? Thanks, Ronkhar!
     
  11. lampuiho

    lampuiho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Not sure if the guild of hammers etc Mercurians bug is listed. But it still exists. I have described how it occurs in details here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=12891139&postcount=7

    what I would do to fix it (this is only for the building part. for specialist bonuses, should be similar)
    Spoiler :

    CvCity* pLoopCity;
    int iOldFreeBuildingCount;
    int iNewFreeBuildingCount;
    ...
    iOldFreeBuildingCount = getFreeBuildingCount(eIndex);
    m_paiFreeBuildingCount[eIndex] = (m_paiFreeBuildingCount[eIndex] + iChange);
    iNewFreeBuildingCount = getFreeBuildingCount(eIndex);
    ...
    "if (iOldFreeBuildingCount == 0)" change to -> "if (iNewFreeBuildingCount > 0)"
    ...
    else if "(getFreeBuildingCount(eIndex) == 0)" to -> "(iNewFreeBuildingCount <= 0)"
    {
    insert new codes here
    "if (iNewFreeBuildingCount < 0)
    m_paiFreeBuildingCount[eIndex] = 0;"


    EDIT:
    never mind this, this is more a hackish way to solve this. This still doesn't solve mercurians not getting team shared wonder bonuses.
    The problem lies in the code that makes mercurians allies with the player.

    There should be a separate set of variables for team shared bonuses and gets copied to the team class when the team is formed.
     
  12. Mordax_Praet

    Mordax_Praet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    I started a game as the Balseraphs and noticed the start-of-game text contained some pretty comprehensive strategy that wasn't in the Civilopedia and went looking for it in the code

    I'd like to suggest tieing the Strategy entries for each Civ in the pedia to TXT_KEY_DAWN_OF_MAN_<<CIV_NAME_HERE>>, most of which look like a much better basis for starting than the blanks we have right now

    It also occurs to me that both the game start text and strategy sections want the same thing, so editing them as one would be a good plan
     
  13. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    Nvm fixed
     
  14. Ronkhar

    Ronkhar Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    France, Grenoble
    Hi,
    Thanks for these reports. I added 6 corresponding bugs to the spreasheet.

    @7ty7: the scenarios were removed from RifE because the compatibility had been lost. The RifE team intended to repair them and add new scenarios, but AFAIK it didn't happen.
    I added this to the bug list but I don't

    @cthom : did you try over a fresh civ4 install at some point? (It's what I always do with a persistent problem like that, especially if it's not reproducable on another computer)

    @The Flame8: the pedia screen being distorted is due to your resolution. I didn't think anyone still had 1024x768 PC screens today (I watched at steam screen stats), so I Improved the pedia for higher resolutions.
    The original pedia files are still included in case anyone wants to use it.

    To get the original pedia back, open the archive ...\Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Ashes of Erebus\Assets\python\Screens - Old Pedia Layout (1024x768).7z and copy the content into ...\Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Ashes of Erebus\Assets\python\Screens.

    I'll add this info in a popup for low resolution players.

    Indeed. The rivers could reappear when wasteland reverts to normal terrain (mainly if dtesh loses cities).
    But since Dtesh is not playable by the AI, it means you're dtesh, so city loss should not happen too frequently.

    It was in RifE roadmap and it made sense, and D'tesh are already powerful enough (at least against the AI. Afaik, PvP is not widespread)
    Errr, wasteland pyres and crypts combined with high pop and necromancy?

    @blueboots: Consider it's 99% bughunt and continuing RifE last changes. If/when I change a gameplay feature, it's really quick (15 minutes max), and mostly intended to reduce civilizations imbalance.
    My main objective is to make the game really playable, then make the AI a real challenge. (see you in 10 years! :D)

    @acestealth: The black duke using weapons looks like a feature.
     
  15. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
    this is bizarre. i came across an old (pre-windows 7) solution. i renamed the customassets folder then started a new game. everything worked perfectly (i even got the ffh intro 'movie' which was missing before too). i played a few turns, exited to dektop, then restored customassets to original name. restarting ashes i got all the old problems back! looks like i'll need to juggle with (re)naming the folder for now...
     
  16. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    Haha yup, that's the main problem. Bugs are already better than before. It's just that on Magister's Modmod I can play on noble with tough competition. Here it's monarch and I still out research the AI.

    THAT is the thing I tried to fix in Final Fixes, but it goes beyond XML. The AI love overbuilding units and sucking it's money supply up, so there's nothing left for research (which is why I increased their liking for city states, because they all wanted god king, but god king sucks maintenance costs up a lot with more cities). This core issue creates a lot of problems for the AI as their technology falls behind.

    Another quick note. Aggressive AI option seems to be the only way to make the AI competitive at all in at least willing to go to war.

    EDIT: I'm interested to see what would happen if the support costs for AI units were decreased... perhaps this would help their research? If they got to military state quickly too that makes a difference.
     
  17. zldrago1000

    zldrago1000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    I noticed in Magisters modmod the workers build the improvements for civilizations much more efficeintly; they spread themselves out intelligently and work a larger area when you have more workers, instead of the workers just bunching up and improving one tile in this mod. It might have something to do with the slow progress of the AI.
     
  18. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    I finally got my computer fixed yesterday, and to celebrate I played a game with the D'tesh. I found another couple questionable aspects that might be worth considering (added as bugs 320 and 321).

    First, specters (death 2 summon) count as a melee unit for the "Dark Empowerment" ability. It's pretty clear that warriors are intended to be the sacrificial unit, but when a single mage can grant Dark Empowerment to an arbitrary number of units in the arcane line, it makes them even more OP than they should be. I was able to destroy both the Malakim and Ljosalfar civs with this, as Dark Empowerment makes your binders level up ridiculously fast (which, if you have to put production and cost from X warriors into it, makes sense).

    Second (and related), the "Master of ____" promotions are not auto-acquire past the first tier. So, Master of Fire and Water, Master of Death and Shadow are auto-acquire once you have FireIII/WaterIII, DeathIII/ShadowIII etc., while Master of Necromancy, which requires Master of Death/Shadow, Chaos/Entopy, Dimensions, is not auto-acquire, but taken as a promotion, as are Destroyer (which requires Necromancy, Elements), Protector, and, god forbid you ever get this, Omnipotent.

    Seeing as the unit needs to have ridiculously high levels in order to take these promotions, I think it's better if they're auto-acquire. I have on occasion gotten the prerequisites, but then had to get another 50-100xp just to 'promote' the unit to be a master of ___, which is A) infuriating, and B) actually really hard to get that much XP once a unit is really strong.

    There were also a couple more text-related issues which I posted in the pedia updates list.
     
  19. Pakhawaj

    Pakhawaj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Hey, me and a friend of mine are trying to play your mod using a Direct IP connection, but it seems very unstable compared to the last Rise of Erebus patch. Is this mod designed to be played online?
     
  20. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    Based off my experiences so far I think that AI weight for religious techs needs to be changed. Such as Kilimorph not being founded by the dwarves ever and often being founded by the Sheaim, which is totally off. The Svartlfar also founded Fellowship of the Leaves. Just saying that probably shouldn't happen...
     

Share This Page