1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Firaxis Releases Civilization IV: Colonization Information, Features

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by Ginger_Ale, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. Gumbolt

    Gumbolt Phoenix Rising

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,250
    Location:
    UK
    Was this game muliplayer before? That could provide many interesting challenges. Not that i have ever play MP games. how would this work if more than 1 empire tried to declare independence? Could you have 2 lots of home nations landing troops? Would the first player to try to break away from the homelands stop the rest from doing this?

    Its not as though the Ai ever declared independence on my old games. Well i kept razing all their cities.
     
  2. Ranbir

    Ranbir Civ junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Herts
    If this is a tool that is beyond Civ's world builder than I really wish for a similar tool for Civ!
     
  3. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    I'm talking about the Danish west Indies... :rolleyes:
     
  4. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    Simon Bolivar and Gran Colombia beats America anyday. It's just that America was successful later on.
     
  5. Gaius Octavius

    Gaius Octavius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,016
    Friendly word of advice: That comment alone will likely make 90% of the people reading this topic dismiss anything you have to say outright. ;)
     
  6. The Fishman

    The Fishman Resident Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    The Empire
    Kahbleeeecchhh!!!:eek:

    Those graphics just made me blow my face out! :eek: I wanna get that! Its like civ, but really, really realistic and non-cartoon-like! Does it improve the full game's graphics or just colonisation?
     
  7. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    It's not an expansion so just Colonization, but it may be possible to mod the graphics to Civilization depending on how they were implemented.
     
  8. Kristian95

    Kristian95 Dr. Minion

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sunny California
    I just received my copy of PC Gamer (August edition) and there is a nice 3 page test play of CIv4: Colonization.... man it makes me want the game!!
     
  9. Skitters

    Skitters Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Just because there are only 4 nations, it doesn't neccessarily imply there would be a 4 player limit in multiplayer. It could well be that an individual player represents a company, as oppossed to a specific nation - so there may well be 2 English players, 1 Dutch, 3 Spanish and 0 French for example.

    Whether the players from the same nation could go to war with each other, and whether their activities affect all of the individuals is another matter (ie; flooding the market with silver brings the price of it down in Europe, or attacking an Indian village means they attack all companies from any given nation)
     
  10. sneaky

    sneaky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    540
    Any interesting information mentioned in the article?
     
  11. Kristian95

    Kristian95 Dr. Minion

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sunny California
    Here is a list of the things mentioned in PC Gamer:

    As in the original the 4 countries have each their strength:

    Dutch: Trading
    English: Immigration
    French: Cooperation with the natives
    Spanish: Exploration & Conquest <-- This sounds like it might be a bit different from the original

    There are now more ways to improve land; Farms and mines.
    Pioneers now use money instead of tools to improve land.
    There are 8 different European leaders to chose from (each with their unique bonus).
    One founding father is mentioned: Cyrus McCormick: Boosts food & sugar production.
     
  12. The Fishman

    The Fishman Resident Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    The Empire
    Sounds like I'll be playing as the Spanish a lot...
     
  13. sneaky

    sneaky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    540
    Eight different leaders? So that would be two for each nation right. But are they leaders for your colony or for the motherland?
     
  14. RedRalph

    RedRalph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20,708
    Is it safe to assume we wont get anymore concrete info from Firaxis on this until after rev comes out?
     
  15. henryMCVII

    henryMCVII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Sounds a much like Civ4.... not sure if this is good or bad.
    No more tools used/needed? Or just less mircomanagemant after creating an pioneer with using tools?
    Again, sounds kind of Civ4... but, hwo knows? Anyone knows, if this will mean 8 to choose from - no matter which nation we play? Or just 2 for each nation? Or something different?
     
  16. Kristian95

    Kristian95 Dr. Minion

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sunny California
    Regarding leaders: The hands-on preview didn't specify, my guess is 2 leaders per nation and that you pick a leader thus giving you the specific leader bonus.

    Regarding pioneers: As far as I understood from the preview you need tools to turn a colonist into a pioneer but after that the improvement building will not remove their tools but cost money instead... I sort of like the old system better.
     
  17. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I have Civ 4, Warlords and BtS. It would be good if this was simply another add-on to the range, with just another Mod.
     
  18. Mad Hab

    Mad Hab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Another reason for Portugal: in the original Colonization, you only had 3 competitors - and usually one of them passed all its colonies to another one in the mid-game. So, if only for the sake of variety, add Portugal, Firaxis!

    If you need a bonus for them, what about a slightly easier independence? Learning a bit about the Portuguese achievements on the Colonization of the Americas would only do good to the development team...

    For exemple, did you know France and Holland invaded Brazil twice each one (and were repelled each time)? The French founded the capital of Maranhão (São Luís), and there are still descendents of the Dutch living in Pernambuco...

    Oh, and by the way, I do not intend to play that much as the Portuguese (even if I live in Brazil)... I will certainly prefer using the French (hope they don't chose Jeanne D'Arc as their leader, he, he)!

    Cheers!

    Mad Hab
     
  19. mamba

    mamba Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Man, can't we stop it, Poland always wants to be in Civ and apparently Portugal always wants to be in Col.

    Email Firaxis if it is that important to you, but I really could care less about seeing ever more desparate posts about why Portugal should be added. It feels like every second or third post tries to come up with some excuse to include them.
     
  20. uat2d

    uat2d ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,727
    Location:
    Final Frontier Listening: House
    that's because Portugal has plenty of reasons to be in Civ or in Col... more reasons than Poland had, has or will ever have!
     

Share This Page