Genghis Khan - A meandering adventure in glory

seasnake

Conquistador
Okay, this is my first time doing a story as well as my first time playing as Genghis Khan. Before we get this going, I'm going to tell you a few things about myself and this tale that's about to happen.

First, I am not an expert player in this game. That means I don't have an optimal way to play the game. I sort of pick a strategy but I don't necessarily try too hard to stick to it if something else starts out. Also, I'm only playing on Prince difficulty so it's not like this is going to be the guide on how to beat this game on Deity or anything. I like to just have an enjoyable game and I prefer role-playing to optimization, I'm strolling through the hills here not climbing Everest or K2.

Second, I'm pretty busy at the moment, Civ V is one of two games I'm playing with any regularity at the moment. This means that this thread will be updated when it is convenient, usually late at night.

Third, I'll spend some time monologuing on these posts and I'll be wondering aloud about my next moves. If anyone is bothering to read and wants to comment or suggest, feel free.

Finally, I hope this forum will be a fun and relaxed place to discuss the game and socialize a little bit. Some off-topic will be fine, but let's just keep it civil and have fun and stay within the general vicinity of Civ V.

That done, let's start this: I'm playing a Large Map, Epic Speed, with Genghis Khan, Continents, all other settings normal. Workers are set to leave forests and old improvements when automated. No mods employed, latest patch installed. I've never played as Genghis before, and I'm usually a peaceful player who loves playing as Siam, Iroquois, Arabia so this is a bit outside my usual style.