1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Get the patch!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Macintosh' started by JoAT, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NoMan

    NoMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bay Area
    AlanH and Bazzalisk, thanks for the comments. So it looks like it IS worth trying a virgin user account before doing the full reinstall and completely changing the way I use the computer. If it is just preferences or caches that is simple enough to fix. Would there be any cache or preference files not in the User directories? Would it be a fair test to continue with one of my games in progress or should I start a new one?
     
  2. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Yeah, as far as the sounds go, upgrading to 10.4.7 is definitely the way to go. You should not be missing any sounds - even unit battles - with this patch and 10.4.7. You'll still have some missing sounds with 10.4.6 and lower, but Civ4 is now optimized for 10.4.7 and should work best there.

    Can you double-check that you are still missing sounds under 10.4.7?
     
  3. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    If you are seeing freezing on an Intel Mac with a Radeon x1600 (which the MacBook Pro has), then that's a known kernel-panic issue.

    Notes on how to get around this are included with the patch, but to recap: you can greatly reduce the incidences by making sure that anti-aliasing is set to 0 (in the Advanced Options->Graphics settings) and by running in a window. We're working with Apple and ATI on a fix for this particular issue.
     
  4. NoMan

    NoMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Good to see there's hope for a fix. Strange I never had any problems with the beta patch, or maybe I was just lucky. I do have anti-alias set = 0. Frankly, I'd rather stick with the beta patch, and miss the sounds, than play in windowed mode and not be able to (easily) scroll the map.
     
  5. oLO

    oLO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    German Capitol
    Tremendous sound probs on my g5 2x2 after installing the most recent patch.

    Wasnt it supposed to fix the soundprobs ?

    while scrolling the sounds simply stop and crackle nastily.
    Perhaps I´ll better get back to the beta patch ?

    oLO
     
  6. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Update to 10.4.7.
     
  7. MAS

    MAS Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    using a 1.8 ghz dual g5 powermac with os 10.3.9:

    The first beta patch made things go a lot better, (not perfect though) but this new patch gave me even more sound problems than I had in the first place: Lots of buzzing that hurts in the ear, and sounds only playing for the first half a second and then sudddenly stopping, making a very iritating "pok" sound.

    So for me this patch his a step back.
     
  8. oLO

    oLO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    German Capitol
    thanks for the quick reply
    Sorry to tell, but I´m on 10.3.9 and read it was approved as compatible OS , Brad ?



    oLO
     
  9. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    It is, but the fixed sounds require the version of OpenAL that Apple ships with 10.4.7.
     
  10. oLO

    oLO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    German Capitol
    so I`m ought to buy me a new os to play it ?

    that would s..k big big time

    I know you guys are taking advantage of the new OS features asap, but this reply just crushed my joy big time.

    Any chance for a 10.3 adaption ?

    10.4 was the most unstabile X so far btw and I knew many who regretted switching so early.

    Pls tell me I´m not stuck with the beta patch.....
     
  11. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    In this case, it's more like we're taking advantage of OS bug fixes. ;)

    Apple hasn't (yet) released the source for the OpenAL they're using in 10.4.7, but one of the things I hope to investigate is if we can retrofit those fixes (o the entire OpenAL in 10.4.7) back to the version we're using under 10.3.9.
     
  12. Skippy_Kangaroo

    Skippy_Kangaroo Prince of Denmark

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Sydney
    Brad,

    Any comments on the annoying buzzing/popping or whatever sounds that seem to persist in the patched version? (For example, when I started a new game I had a droning sound like a bagpipe for at least a minute - loud, annoying, and definitely not musical. There are also the popping sounds that come and go.) Are these just aborted attempts to play sounds or is there some deeper malaise infecting the program?
     
  13. Brad Oliver

    Brad Oliver Civ3/4 Mac programmer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    What appears to be happening is that it's playing sounds whose buffers have been released. I haven't gotten much further with it; I spent a few hours trying to reproduce it week before last and of course couldn't get it to happen. It seems allergic to the debugger, because I had it happen again this morning when I was just playing normally.
     
  14. Skippy_Kangaroo

    Skippy_Kangaroo Prince of Denmark

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ah well, that's halfway there. If it's happening on your computer that's good (in a roundabout kind of way). Next step - happening reproducably.
     
  15. oLO

    oLO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    German Capitol

    If I could bring you a coffee or anything to speed things up..... ;)



    Withdrawel is a terrible thing and now reinstalling the whole thing because I cant remove the patch is ugly aswell


    PS: Pls put up the beta patch somewhere again ,thanks


    :cry: :sad: :sad:

    oLO
     
  16. DaveBaum

    DaveBaum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Ambient sounds were flaky at one point (lots of buzzing), so I turned them off. This may have been before my 10.4.7 upgrade. After turning them back on they seem to be ok - at least for the 15 minutes or so that I tested it.

    I get some battle sounds, but I don't think they are complete (although I don't really know exactly what to expect).

    For example, I attack a lion and I get a battle sound for my attack, or a grunt if I get hit, but don't hear any corresponding "lion" sound. Nor is there any sort of "victory" sound when I win the battle.

    Then later I'm near an enemy city, and the enemy attacks me (and I lose) ... no battle sound at all, but then a clipped sound at the end that I think is the national sound for the enemy - perhaps signifying that he won the battle.

    Barbarian attacks me - complete silence during battle, but then a sound at the end after I won.

    These were just a few quick tests, but it still feels a bit inconsistient to me on what sounds I can hear.

    I can send you more details on my machine if you want, but it shouldn't be that unusual...pretty much a brand new MBP from Apple with 10.4.5, that I upgraded last night with the Combo update to 10.4.7. I don't think I've added anything else at the system level - just a few apps. I haven't updated to QuickTime 7.1.2 yet, so that may be a difference. Let me know if there's anything I can do to help.

    Dave
     
  17. jdevo

    jdevo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    New York City
    It would have been nice to have a warning that the patch only works with 10.4.7... I have 10.3.9 and don't have the money to upgrade since I upgraded my video card to the radeon x800 (which didn't make much of a difference over the geforce 5200, which I'm guessing means there is still huge performance problems with this game on g5's). Now I have the choice of playing the game on mute or uninstalling the game, reinstalling, and then going back to the beta patch, if it's still around.
     
  18. oLO

    oLO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    German Capitol
    my pick, thats why I was asking for the reupload of the beta.


    oLO

    PS: Found it at our neighbours Apolyton side
    Go Here for the beta patch-DL page
     
  19. Zaimejs

    Zaimejs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I have 10.4.7 and a dual G5 2 gig. Ambient sounds work better with this patch, but no battle sounds yet. I got the blackening problem... zoomed out and zoomed in, but the problem persisted..> I had to restart.

    It's better, but not there yet.

    Thanks for working with us!
     
  20. Boer

    Boer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Brad, care to comment the status of this new patch? Howcome Aspyr hasn't posted it on their web site?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page