Guilds/Corporations

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by WhimpyCiv, May 25, 2010.

  1. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Thanks. I've been mulling over the idea of making corporations and guilds autonomous from the player, and spreading like religions, to reduce Micromanagement. Feel free to tell my why this is a terrible idea. ;)
     
  2. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Yep! I didn't bother installing either of them because they require too much micromanagement. If you can add auto-spread for Guilds and Corporations too, then you will be following RoM's precedent anyway so it's a good idea :). Just reduce the speed, I believe?
     
  3. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    36,863
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Definitely go for auto-spread, however you choose to do so. Less micromanagement is likely better :)
     
  4. Iceciro

    Iceciro Special Ability: Decimate

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    in ur empire, takin ur cities
    I would love autospread... at least within my borders... hmmmm... perhaps necessary evil that other nations could conceivably get it :)

    How do we handle corporate buyouts - do we leave executives in for that sort of thing (and directed faster spread?)
     
  5. Dharmaserf

    Dharmaserf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Hi. I'm playing AND, and I'm a little confused on how guilds work. I vaguely remember perhaps creating a Servant's Guild Hall, but now I can't find it--so maybe it was a figment of my imagination. I've got guilds from conquered cities spreading, but I can build Guild Halls and Mason's Guild buildings, but it doesn't show up as a guild or in the guild/corporation tab. The Civilopedia is quite confusing. So, can I make a guild myself, or is it auto-spread? I'm not sure what I am missing here. AND 1.74.
     
  6. spad85IT

    spad85IT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Question: why I can't spread my corporation in other nation cities? When my executives go there it says "Cannot expand Sid's Sushi Co within nationX borders". :(

    (I have realistic corporation disabled)
     
  7. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Maybe they have a civic that disables foreign corps.
     
  8. Stelmack

    Stelmack Warlord

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    State Property or Communism, can't remember which civic is in this mod.
     
  9. rob-art1985

    rob-art1985 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Germany
    I just cannot found a corporation. :(
    Can someone please tell me, what I have to do for it? I checked my civics and the settings again, I have all necessary techs and a lot of GPs left. :think:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    You have Realistic Corporations turned on.
    To turn off that option, at the beginning of a new game, go to Custom Game, not Start Now. Then go down the options and click off Realistic Corporations.
     
  11. rob-art1985

    rob-art1985 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Germany
    So, what's Realistic Corporations? Is it realistic, that they cannot be founded? :rolleyes:
     
  12. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Its Realistic because you can't control them.
     
  13. rob-art1985

    rob-art1985 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Germany
    ?But who/what incorporates them?
     
  14. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    They do it themselves. When they are ready.
     
  15. phantomwolf13

    phantomwolf13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Just wanted to mention in this thread that I uploaded two guides for guilds and corporations. The guides summarize the guild and corporation info and they also calculate actual yields in each incorporated city, based on the resources that you have. See this thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=419791.
     
  16. danomite

    danomite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    What are the requirements for corps to incorporate on their own, so far 4 or 5 (2 player multiplayer) players have had the techs for quite sometime yet no corps are founding for anyone. Yes we have the realistic corps enabled. Events are disabled.
     
  17. alb22

    alb22 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    The present
    If I get this right... with Realistic Coorporations turned on I'll never be able to found a guild/coorporation on my own, and no way to change that after game start?

    edit:
    I have all tech requirements, the "Guilds" civic, plenty of resources, rather big cities and the "Guild Hall" building in each of them. But after about 50+ turns still no Guild has been formed on its own.
     
  18. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    You have the 'Guilds' option turned on I presume? That's what caught me out my fuirst game - couldn't figure out why I couldn't found a guild, but it was because the option hadn't been selected when I started the game.
     
  19. alb22

    alb22 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    The present
    Hi, thanks for the answer :). These are my current settings:

    Options:
    Realistic Corporations ON
    Guilds ON
    Corporations ON
    Techs:
    ...
    Machinery
    Guilds
    Civics:
    Guilds

    Also in the BUG Mod Options under "A New Dawn" I tried 'No Auto Corporation Founding' both checked and unchecked with no difference. I can't neither create for example the Craftsmen Guild nor does any other guild show up in my (rumbling :)) empire for about 100 turns now since Guilds became civic. What am I missing?
     
  20. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    You have me stumped then. I'm out of ideas right now.
     

Share This Page