How often do you quit in frustration?

Lade

Prince
Since I'm a newbie, I get to ask questions.

How often do you end up quiting in frustration when playing FFH? I imagine many of the forum-goers are more patient then I, so are more likely to just work through situations. However, in FFH where there are always so many barbarians, I often end up getting angry once my capital gets captured on turn 150.

Of course, I imagine you eventually get better and so don't end up losing you're capital to barbs quite as often.

I've only ever quit in frustration once, out of however many hundreds of games I played. That was when I got a really incredibly unlucky start, where there were at least 4 (probably more) lizardman spawn points all funnelling lizardmen towards my capital. That meant that the barbarians were producing lizardmen faster than I could make warriors, so the game was literally unwinnable for me there.

Other than in situations like that, you just have to remember that you will need to produce quite a bit more defenders that you might in vanilla BTS, and be more proactive in clearing out barbs when they start to stray into your territory. Really, the only thing that should be strong enough to be threatening is lizardmen in the very early game, and so long as there aren't many of them you can always kill them with superior numbers.

I used to quit 3 out of every 4 games when I first started, mostly out of frustration. I still do in maybe 1 in 5, mostly because I take too big of risks and it turns sour.

I would recommend keeping at least three warriors in every city, and find a good forested hill to station a war party on (another 3 warriors). Nurture your promoted units, even if it means sending a handful of warriors to their death on the orcish pikes. Warriors are cheap, and promotions are valuable! Once you have a unit with shock and march, the barbs are a lot more manageable (except scorpion clan archers, those buggers are tough!)