1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Create a Civilization in BTS

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by CaptainLepidus, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. Season

    Season Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Hi, Great tutorial, except I have one issue. When I save on step 1 it it says;Error saving the doccument
    Object not accessable. The object can not beaccessed due to insufficiant user rights. Do I need to change the name of the file? I have done everything up to there and edited like I was supposed to, it just wont let me save it.
    Thanks,
    ~Season~
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    You're working with Vista/Win7, right?
    Then you have to make sure, that you're running the programms with administrator rights, else you'll not be allowed to save anything in the program files folder.
     
  3. G-Max

    G-Max Deity

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,556
    Nice guide, but it doesn't cover how to make the flag...
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Do you know how to mae buttons?
    If yes: Flags are nearly the same.
     
  5. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    How do you do that? I've no Idea.:confused:
     
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    If you rightclick on whatever file, there should be a separate option for that (not sure how it is called, i'm working on XP).
     
  7. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    :blush:Just realized it was something different.
    Every time I try to save step one it says it can't save it. I quadruple-checked and no change. Then I save step 2... It works :twitch:
     
  8. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    Alright I figured it out :D
     
  9. Raven Destroyer

    Raven Destroyer Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    looks great when i get the energy and time i will read it thoroughly but now the coding dances in my eyes so that ain't much of a help (maybe i'm doing a little to much on this screen and a little bit of things beside it)
     
  10. LTC Rodrick

    LTC Rodrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Planet Internetz
    Something is up with mine. I have vanilla and i have found the folder, in my games, but the CIV4 folder does not have anything in the subfolders. No files or anything. the game however works fine. What do I do?
    EDIT:
    Nvm its all good. Mine is under user\application data
     
  11. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    Still, whenever I try to play my Civ (Switzerland btw), the game crashes. also it doesn't register the uu and ub (so i have two pikemen and two castles, only difference is that the castle is available at iron working). It still crashes.
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Does the art at least show up correctly in the civilopedia?
     
  13. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    The civilopedia has all the items (except the civ) but with original art and name.
     
  14. Vonreuter

    Vonreuter Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Erm, where the heck are the TRAIT infos? I can't find them anywhere in my BTS folder.

    I want to create new traits, which just won't happen without the correct XML. :)
     
  15. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    :crazyeye:
    Maybe a screenshot of your folder structure would help.

    In the warlords folder ;).

    If a file is not in BtS, then look at WL, and if it's not there, then look at Vanilla.
     
  16. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    I hope this is correct :p

    Spoiler :
     
  17. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    That looks so far okay, but i can't see any art folder :hmm:.

    Maybe an ingame screenshot from the units, too.
    I'm at the moment a bit clueless what the problem could be :think:.
     
  18. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    I can't show you an ingame screenshot, but just see it as the pikeman and castle art.
     
  19. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,848
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    How did you define the new art for your unit and building?
    Because the new definitions normaly go into XML\Art\ArtDefines_units and _buildings, and i can't see the right folder there.
     
  20. Civ'ed

    Civ'ed I ain't gotta explain a thing

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,315
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aberdonia et Banffia
    Did that to no avail. :cry: I really think it's the XML setup (aka some things are wrong, like calling the leader WILHELM_TELL and WILLIAM_TELL)
     

Share This Page