Would you be interested in collaborating or contributing to this package?

• Total voters

bcbarrett

Chieftain
This is a long post, and as my first post to these forums, perhaps I'm biting off more than I can chew. Regardless, I hope that my ideas are worth sharing and it sparks interest in a few of you!

Introduction
There are many things I enjoy immensely about Civilization VI, but there’s also a few things I find tedious or monotonous about the gameplay. As a programmer by trade, my mind tends to wander towards solutions, and this mod package is my attempt at implementing changes that address the deficiencies. Some of you may find that what I consider a deficiency, you consider the opposite, and that’s to be expected, so let’s just acknowledge that and move on!

I hope that each of the suggestions I outline below can be distilled into a few unique changes to the game which can all be turned on independently without breaking the others, but I suspect this won’t be entirely possible. I haven’t begun any implementation yet, a mod of this magnitude is far beyond my capability at the moment. I’d like to first get some feedback and ideas from the community, especially if some of what I mention has been done before. As this is my first post, I hope you’ll forgive my ignorance!

So, to begin, I’ve focused on two primary areas of Civilization that I think could be improved.

Autonomy
I’m not a very good micro-manager…I never did well in games like WC III or Age of Empires, and even though the turn based style of Civ makes it less tense, I usually get bogged down and bored of a lot of the micromanaging. To address this, there are few things that I believe can be abstracted out a level to alleviate some of the micromanaging.

Realism