1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Info Addict

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by robk, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. Smokeybear

    Smokeybear Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    US
    Hi, I'm new to using mods in Civ 5, but I liked the look of this one, and downloaded it and tried it out. Very nice! My question, related to the quote above- is it always necessary to start a modded game through the MODS menu, once you've created one with mods activated in it? I think I may have lost my InfoAddict capability in the first game I used it in, because the next day I didn't go through MODS, but just opened it up straight from the SINGLE PLAYER > LOAD menu. Is this the case? Thanks...
     
  2. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    Smokeybear,

    Yeah, you always have to start games from the MODS menu if you want mods to be active. Also, when you select at a game in the load menu, the picture that shows up in the left panel should have a button called "mods" that show you which mods and versions were active when that game was saved.
     
  3. kris159

    kris159 Kris P Bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Whoa, I didn't recognize you. You've changed your avatar :crazyeye:
     
  4. superpotatoe

    superpotatoe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Love this mod!, but I'm having a problem with it, when the mod is on I can't use the discuss option with other leaders is there anyway to fix this problem?
     
  5. agoodfella

    agoodfella Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    USA
    Are there are known issues with the latest version of the game?

    v 1.0.1.221

    Thanks!
     
  6. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    I just did a quick test with 1.0.1.275 and Info Addict v10 seems to be working as I expect. I didn't do a thorough test yet but I hit most of the major functions.
     
  7. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    Do you see any errors? Or does clicking on "Discuss" just do nothing? Also, make sure you are at the latest patch because a few versions ago, the way I interact with the leader screens changed. The latest version of Info Addict will not work with those earlier versions of the game.
     
  8. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,151
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Robk, is it possible to just have a plain 'Made contact' arrow on the global relations chart, so if I wipe somebody out I know who will know?
     
  9. superpotatoe

    superpotatoe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I'll just update my game, thanks for the response, and when I click discuss the dialogue box just goes straight to 'anything else'
     
  10. EndoConvert

    EndoConvert Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    No, the AIs in Civ5 always know if you've wiped someone out even if you did it before they met either you or the civ you wiped out.
     
  11. millansoft

    millansoft Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Robk, I found this taking a look at the changelog for the Thal's unnoficial patch:

    "If you are using InfoAddict, it is out of date and incompatible with the latest official patch. I’ve fixed this in the CiVUP-InfoAddict compatibility files included with CiVUP. Place an undescore in front of the two outdated files in InfoAddict’s mod folder. No other actions are necessary, CiVUP automatically detects if you’re using InfoAddict.
    _DiscussionDialog.lua
    _DiscussionDialog.xml"

    Maybe you could do a little update?

    Regards!
     
  12. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    Thanks for pointing that out. I'll take a look at what I'm missing (I bet I forgot to merge patch changes) and push out a new version that's compatible.
     
  13. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    Info Addict v11 is now available. This is a maintenance release that fixes a bug with the last patch and adds some french translations that were submitted by Smash15195 many months ago (I've been slack ... very slack).

    This problem should be resolved now.

    Spoiler mod integrators: file changes and additions to v11 :
    Code:
    D      https://svn.ceritus.net/civ5/InfoAddict/InfoAddict/XML/InfoAddictText.xml
    A      https://svn.ceritus.net/civ5/InfoAddict/InfoAddict/XML/InfoAddictText_FR.xml
    M      https://svn.ceritus.net/civ5/InfoAddict/InfoAddict/XML/DiscussionDialog.xml
    A      https://svn.ceritus.net/civ5/InfoAddict/InfoAddict/XML/InfoAddictText_EN.xml
    M      https://svn.ceritus.net/civ5/InfoAddict/InfoAddict/Lua/DiscussionDialog.lua
    M      https://svn.ceritus.net/civ5/InfoAddict/InfoAddict/Lua/InfoAddictLib.lua
    
     
  14. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,151
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    So this version doesn't provide any new features, it's just a hotfix?
     
  15. EndoConvert

    EndoConvert Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Robk, could you add wonder count (some statistic like "wonders built") to the next version? After all, "The World's Most Wonderful People" is one of the automatic demographic table pop-ups that come up periodically after every so many turns, so this would be, well, "wonderful." ;)
     
  16. EndoConvert

    EndoConvert Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Oh, and another request: number of friendly and allied city-states for each civ. That would be helpful on large maps with 30 or so CSes.
     
  17. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    Both good ideas. I will add them to my wish list for features.
     
  18. zisforzorro

    zisforzorro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Great Mod! Unfortunately I'm having a problem when I have it enabled:
    When a nation contacts me for any other reason than the initial greeting, the whole diplomacy screen is blank. It seems that the frames are simply off the screen because I can still use the "ESC" key to cancel their request (whatever it may be).
    Here is what I'm talking about: http://imageshack.us/m/708/9913/civ5screen0002.jpg
    (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/708/civ5screen0002.jpg/)
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you again for the wonderful mod.

    Extra info: I only have your mod (v11) enabled, Direct X11, running from a secondary hard drive.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. robk

    robk Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    zisforzorro, are you running the latest patch of the game? The leader discussion dialog code changed with that and my mod had to modify a few of those files. I bet you'd get a blank screen if you tried running v11 in an older version of the game. If you can't update, give v10 of InfoAddict a try and see if that works.
     
  20. zisforzorro

    zisforzorro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I tried v10, no luck. I guess I'm off to update, seeing as how no one else has this problem and that I'm still on the earliest version of Civ 5 I think you are right. Thanks for the quick response!
     

Share This Page