1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by kill fire, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    I reshuffled the traits in my install; the French traded Industrious for Agricultural, which means that I robbed Toulouse of its full potential in this case.
     
    Spoonwood likes this.
  2. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,359
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Full potential would be if it was Agricultural + Industrious, and Industrious would only be a few extra shields. Agricultural is helping you way more here than Industrious would because it's giving you enough food to support a third citizen.
     
    Aabraxan and Spoonwood like this.
  3. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    Hah, I forgot it would only be a 2-population city without the food bonus. Agricultural FTW.
     
  4. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    From my current game as the Celts. Sailed half way around the world to secure some oil from the Iroquoi (who had 3), captured the city, just linked it into my trade network and then next turn:
     
    Synsensa likes this.
  5. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,313
    Location:
    Arkansas
  6. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,359
    Location:
    Honolulu
    You didn't have any other sources of oil, I assume?

    Also, why are you researching Ironclads when you're clearly well beyond that in the tech three?
     
  7. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    The Iroquoi were the only civ with more than 1 source.
    There was nothing else left to research. But yeah, it does look a bit odd when I already have AEGIS Cruisers.
     
  8. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,313
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I thought that was pronounced "went 0% research, bought a bunch of units, and went a-conquering."
     
    thetrooper, tjs282 and WeirdoJoker like this.
  9. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    I either research it or it sits there in the bottom right corner of the screen, taunting me forever. Besides, if I lose my only uranium source as well it will be the best naval vessel I can build.
     
  10. justanick

    justanick Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Location:
    Germany
    Hence the idea to conquer territory early enough.
     
  11. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    In retrospect, seeking a RoP with the Mongols so I could send navies through their waters was a bad idea when we share the same continent. They sent what I was certain was an invasion force, only to just run through my territory until I quite literally containd the situation north of my capitol:

     
    WeirdoJoker and Aabraxan like this.
  12. md4

    md4 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    Update: they somehow quite happily stayed there for ~10 turns until the RoP ran out and actually left without fuss, despite being Mongols. Incredible.
     
    Fergei and WeirdoJoker like this.
  13. Buttercup

    Buttercup King

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    812
    The issue you had with the Oil can also be a form of level-scaling. It's another one of those aspects of the game that appears entirely random, and can easily be 'argued' to be entirely random, but on closer inspection quite clearly has some 'background algorithm' effecting it.

    I experimented on a large map when I was bored at an end-game scenario whereby I tried to keep all other civs alive while maintaining none of them posed any real threat to me. Alongside the hilarity of the AI always needing to declare war on me, no matter the absurdity of the situation, it also exposed the resources level-scaling, as each time I managed to secure 100% ownership of all the Uranium it would 'exhaust' one of my deposits and magically respawn another Uranium deposit inside AI territory, no matter how small and ludicrous they were.
     
  14. XTC

    XTC Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    159
    This happened on the world map scenario if RARR 1.7
    Those Celts.jpg
     
    WeirdoJoker likes this.
  15. CKS

    CKS Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,651
    Sometimes the AI just gets a little confused, I guess.

    That's what Pogo said, "We have met the enemy and he is us."
     
  16. XTC

    XTC Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    159
    And now a civil war?

    Those Celts (3).jpg
     
    WeirdoJoker likes this.
  17. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,863
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Not seen that one, I am guessing a mod is involved.
     
  18. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Northern Germany
  19. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, the game is played on the worldmap of RARR 1.7. It seems I reversed two different versions of the worldmap biq when correcting another setting in that biq. In that game there are now four different Celtic civs, so I had deleted the Celts and their starting location from the biq for reasons of gameplay:
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/rise-and-rule-revisited-epic-mod.549166/page-52#post-15817355

    I will have a deeper look into the biq of that worldmap and fix that problem.
     
  20. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    I am somewhat confused.

    Last time I played this earth map I was barely able to keep up with the KI on regent level.

    But this time most nations simply stopped expanding with 2-4 cities each. :dubious:
    The only exceptions are the Egyptians and Carthagians with about 15 cities each (so it can not be an issue with the settler unit).
    The Hittitie also gained 8 cities in Indonesia and the Philipines, but since they attacked me, the are down to one city. :trouble:

    I also inspected the cities, there are also no settlers in storage waiting for the magical dissapearence of any barbarians (who also have a surprisingly low presence).


    China and Mongolia normaly are powerhouses on this map, but not in this round.


    And Europa is also very quit and unusual peaceful.
     

Share This Page