1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

JFD and Janboruta's Sponsors

Discussion in 'CivBE - New Sponsors' started by JFD, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. abstractbuffalo

    abstractbuffalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    MKE
    Sure am. it happens with Nordic Union so I know it isn't just that mod.

    Somebody on reddit just informed me they are 2d sprite and the leader model has to be set to low. I wish they would put that on the workshop page...
     
  2. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,817
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    OK, but Civ 5 - Tech Support isn't the place for this -- wrong game and wrong forum (Tech Support isn't for mod problems).

    Moderator Action: Merged with existing thread in CivBE new sponsors forum.
     
  3. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,956
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    You have to set it to Minimum, and it is stated as such on the Workshop page for all of my BE sponsor mods.
     
  4. abstractbuffalo

    abstractbuffalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    MKE
    Sorry got meant minimal I didn't see it on the page though. I love the mod I always use it now as an AI opponent that usually becomes an ally.

    On a side note, I wish I could afford a pen for my computer so I can practice and hope to draw as well as your artist someday on one of my mods.

    I don't know why it Firaxis doesn't hire you. I'm not sucking up here I mean that.
     
  5. David12596

    David12596 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    141
    Getting this again too. I think the HS's UA is just really buggy atm. Some games I get points, others I don't, sometimes when I get points they are different values from game to game. Though maybe once the game get's patched, it might fix the UA issues. In my game I got two points from quest/expeditions and two from tech, so I'm not sure it's the quest and expeditions giving affinity points that is buggy.
     
  6. Dellan

    Dellan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Are you aware that the Resource pods of the Polish UA are able to spawn on Canyons? That means there's no possibility of reaching them unless you have floating units.
     
  7. abstractbuffalo

    abstractbuffalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    MKE
    I say it isn't a mod unless you have hovering explorers =p
     
  8. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,956
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    They should spawn at the Capital as of the latest version.
     
  9. abstractbuffalo

    abstractbuffalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    MKE
    No disrespect to colonial legacies or anything they're a good team but I'm not happy with their new mod taking up most of the most of the 49th parallel north all the way to Russia.

    also, I think the trait is a little lame. but I'm trying real hard not to be a hater because collaborating on a small team for a Canadian sponsor
     
  10. TPangolin

    TPangolin Just the worst person

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4,013
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wrong thread? Also we don't take up most of the parallel - we should be more clear - we take Iceland, and the Northern parts of Norway and Finland. We also take Svalbard and very minimal Russian territories around the same region.

    If you post this in the right thread I'm more than happy to discuss traits with you.
     
  11. abstractbuffalo

    abstractbuffalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    MKE
    The first line in the description on Steam Workshop is "oh Space Canada!" furthermore it says "Earth Regions: Canada, Iceland, Scandinavia, Alaska, northern Russian territories".

    I don't want to start a flame war with you because I really do respect your work and look forward to your upcoming mods. but yes, you should be more clear.

    as for me knocking your traits I will admit I was a bit steamed. they probably work great on archipelago maps which I don't really play. although I will play your mod before I criticize it any further.
     
  12. durfal

    durfal The Dutch Daredevil

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    To be honest I like Colonial Legacies (so far the only team with plans for a dutch sponsor :)); theirs, JFD's team, LordShadow, Pouakai and Luegi's mods are all great (as is a bloke named Wakeupmrbubbles on steam who released a few sponsor mods but doesn't seem to come here) everyone does a hell of a job with great idea's and fantastic art so short after release of the game. Off course they all have different idea's of the future and that clashes sometimes, which is unavoidable I guess.
    And since I mix them all up I have improvised and adjusted some things in the text of the mods so they still fit in together for my own need. For example I didn't like the name of one of the sponsors so I changed it in the xml text files which isn't that hard to do. That way you can also change leader and city-names if you want. Or for example I think Denmark and Norway joined in two different sponsers so I modded them out of one of the sponsors civ text. As long as you don't publish these changes as your own mod and keep them on your own computer nobody will have any problems with that.
    I think the hardest thing in the mods are the traits and the art they made anyway. So if you want your idea/country/region on your own computer (!!!) as a sponsor but can't make the art or don't know how (or just don't want) to make new traits, download one of these already great made ones made and just rename the name of the sponsor/leader/cities and sponsor/leader description and you have your own private little mod. Or convince one of these teams to make a brand new sponsor with your ideas off course, which would be even better.
     
  13. LoneRebel

    LoneRebel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Distinguished and Ever Loyal City
    Huh, so the Iron Pact was featured on Civilization's Facebook page. Congrats. I logged into FB for the morning and that was the first thing I saw on my feed.
     
  14. Hiram

    Hiram XML Plebian

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,087
    Location:
    Where The Streets Have No Name
    Playing as the Holy See and my units have no command options (ie, explorers and workers can't improve tiles, military units can't wait/ fortify).

    Edit: aaand it's gone. That was strange.
     
  15. Leugi

    Leugi Supreme Libertador

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Bolivia
    Likely a civBE bug, the game is still rather buggy :p
     
  16. Hiram

    Hiram XML Plebian

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,087
    Location:
    Where The Streets Have No Name
    Weird, haha. I've been playing as the Holy See with several of JFD's other sponsors on the map and I'm very impressed so far! Looking forward to when I know the game well enough to start making my own.
     
  17. abstractbuffalo

    abstractbuffalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    MKE
    Maybe they just had a crisis of faith.
     
  18. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,116
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    We got sponsors representing like 20+ countries... and the galactic polish empire.
    :p
     
  19. David12596

    David12596 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    141
    Need more. I for one want to see at least one or two Middle East sponsors, another sponsor from India, and some more Asian Sponsors.

    Though hopefully when the patch goes live The Holy See, The Christian Democratic Commonwealth, and some other sponsor's UA's get fixed. A lot of custom sponsor's UAs don't work for me or will work only sometimes, which is upsetting cause a lot of them are really interesting, though I expect it has something to do with the game being buggy. Though no matter how annoying that UA for unit disappearing is when using The Christian Democratic Commonwealth is, I have to use them cause I love the Bureaucrats colonist addon. Fit's my playing style so well. :p

    I just had an idea though for an update to The Holy See's UA. I think it would be kinda cool if you can add to it, though im not sure how balance this will be ill admit it, an ability to construct "holy sites" when an explore finished an expedition. I really think this would be a cool idea. :p

    edit: Found a bug. I have a game where The Christian Democratic Commonwealth UA is working for me, but for some reason the capital is providing +2 health instead of 1. Though my other cities with naval garrisons are providing the correct value.
     
  20. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,116
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    you know india and middle east counts as asia, right?
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop