1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

LS Civilization Set

Discussion in 'Civ5 - New Civilizations' started by LastSword, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    I've begun compiling a compatibility patch for your civs with Gedemon's YnAEMP. It'll take a bit of time, because there's just so many of them, but I thought I'd give you a heads up.
     
  2. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 King

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    The Cherokee seem to be on the weak side with a situational ability that can potentially never trigger. Perhaps you could add to that ability a science boost from killing units from a more advanced civilization? Similar to the Aztecs, Honor opener/finisher, etc.
     
  3. LastSword

    LastSword Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    That's nice, PM if need help.

    • I can make it trigger on city lost. (still would be weak)
    • I can make Diplomats stealing techs over time (would be quite hard to balance unless I will find something about how spies works)
    • Something I wanted to do, Diplomats give you Science per turn (based on Tech difference). I would have to find out what flavours are related to assigning diplomats instead spies.

    I think I can also add some Writer related effect to the Newspaper.
     
  4. Itsab11

    Itsab11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4

    newest version from steam workshop and latest civ v patch

    the culture from the newspaper (cherokee) also doesnt work for me.. seems like a problem with culture generation in general
     
  5. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Here is the YnAEMP Compatibility Patch for all of LastSword's (current) civ packs. The first attachment is the mod directly, if anyone wants to try it immediately, and the second is the project file for LastSword.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Gyra Solune

    Gyra Solune King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Hmm, I just played as the Papal State, and...it seems like none of their uniques work. The Church isn't giving any additional Faith for my Great Works, the Swiss Guard isn't generating culture. Annexing city-states works fine, though. I didn't check about the whole founding religion last thing, so I have no idea if that is going well.

    Ooh, and YNAEMP support for these? I wonder how it handles said Papal States and Rome. I might poke to see where exactly it puts everything, so I'll see if it works or not. ...That said I don't exactly know...how to really...use these. Do I just put them in the Mods folder like all the rest, or is it something more advanced?
     
  7. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Yes, just put the patch in the Mod folder like any of the civs and enable it. It will automatically do everything else for you.

    If Rome and the Papal States end up in the same game, whoever does not get to found Rome will sit around for a while, but will eventually go off to try and find another spot to settle (if there's room). I was going to add Avignon as an alternative starting location, but the alternative starting locations don't seem to be working (the Ottomans are supposed to start in Ankara only if Constantinople has taken the spot of Istanbul, but they seem to always start in Ankara).
     
  8. LastSword

    LastSword Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    Many of bonuses are not shown in tooltips. Make one turn and check if you don't receive some "extra" Culture and Faith.

    Is notification about Buyout cost annoying?
     
  9. Gyra Solune

    Gyra Solune King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Ahh, okay, it doesn't show up in the counter thingy. That's a touch disorienting, is there anything you could do about it? Also the notification is indeed a touch too frequent - I'd only have it pop up whenever the cost changes.

    As for the map, yeah, that behavior happened with Rome and the Papal State indeed. However, a much bigger problem was present: the Olmecs spawn off the coast of their location! The settler could move onto land but the warrior was stuck. It needs to be moved up a tile. Other than that everyone else spawns perfectly fine - I was worried at first there might be issues with Jerusalem and Pheonicia, but apparently the mod includes closer city founding - always welcome!
     
  10. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    I'll look at fixing that up.

    EDIT: Alright, fixed that up.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    I've added internal support for all your existing civ packs in the latest version of my Historical Religion mods.
     
  12. Gyra Solune

    Gyra Solune King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    I swear they were already weirdly tending to follow the appropriate religions. Maybe I was just imagining things, but the native american groups especially always tended to go with the exact one present. But yay, mods aligning with mods, we are one big happy family. Hopefully one day we all fuse it into one big supermod or something :O

    Could you add which of these civs follows which into the description of the mod possibly?
     
  13. LastSword

    LastSword Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    I always wanted Swiss Guard to show floating +1 each turn, but it is impossible without DLL. I can make Faith and Culture be updated each turn, it will be shown as "... from Building". It would still be nothing close to how it should work (updating when moving Great Works).

    JFD's support mod is linked in opening post, if anybody will be looking for this in future. Don't forget to thank this generous modder when you will bring the liberty to the world as Napoleon or enslave it with English maritime.

    Thanks Tomatekh for even more historical accurancy.


    At last, Itsab11, I was thinking about your problem. You are unfortunately next Baldwin, I can't help.
     
  14. Gyra Solune

    Gyra Solune King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Say, to the UA descriptions, could you add some more numerical values? A few of them particularly stand out as being a bit vague.

    -For the Durrani, do mountains provide a flat 1 GWP? Does this only apply to the city that the Guild is in or do other cities provide points for having mountains of their own?

    -As for the Hetmanate, how much food and production are we talking about here? Is it a fixed number of points or a percentage?

    -Is the science boost that Scotland and Bulgaria get equal to if they'd expended a Great Scientist? If so, add that to the descriptions!

    -How many tiles does it take to add one happiness point for the Sioux, if it even works that way? I'd figured that it was under the Happiness for number of Cities thing, but it seemed to me that my capital had claimed every tile in a radius of 3 and I was only getting like one happiness point out of it.

    -However do the power and number of barbarians increase for Gallia? Do the barbarians just spawn suddenly or does it mean their rate of spawning is increased?

    All this is helpful to put in the descriptions! Be as specific as possible with those, it helps the uncertain player how helpful those things exactly are.
     
  15. dilophosaur

    dilophosaur Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    No alternatives for people who cannot use Steam Workshop at all :(
     
  16. LastSword

    LastSword Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    Depends.

    +1 GWP per Mountain tile owned in the city with the Guild. (modifiers work)

    3 + 3 * plotYield -- nearest founded city or capital

    Not really needed.

    This one is described in OP, "[floor of (numLandTiles / 9 / numCities)] * numCities".

    Power:
    <Blitz>true</Blitz>
    <River>true</River>
    <IgnoreZOC>true</IgnoreZOC>
    <IgnoreTerrainCost>true</IgnoreTerrainCost>
    <HPHealedIfDestroyEnemy>50</HPHealedIfDestroyEnemy>
    <HealIfDestroyExcludesBarbarians>true</HealIfDestroyExcludesBarbarians>
    <AttackFortifiedMod>50</AttackFortifiedMod>
    <CannotBeChosen>true</CannotBeChosen>
    <AttackWoundedMod>25</AttackWoundedMod>
    <FlankAttackModifier>50</FlankAttackModifier>
    <AttackMod>25</AttackMod>

    Number:
    5 land units in each Barbarian camp. (type is random, but based on units owned by barbarians)

    Where:
    Barbarian camp has to be in 15 range to Gallic city.

    When:
    Always after the peace period (starting war when not currently at war). Ignores city-states.
    Next spawn is in 15/20/25/30 turns of constant war. (quick/normal/epic/marathon)

    Those barbarians are killed once all Gallic players end wars.
     
  17. Gyra Solune

    Gyra Solune King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Ahh, okay, thanks for the information.

    Just tried out the Timurids, finally. That...was actually really damn satisfying. Just my luck, Rome spawns nearby, and I hadn't thought of getting them until they settled a city spot I wanted...and kept settling, and settling, and settling, they had like nine cities up and running. So I arranged an elaborate plan to float units around their coast and attack from the undefended north of the capital, sniped Rome itself...and all the sudden the resident massive superpower is scrambling amongst itself. The best. And I don't even have my unique units up yet - can't wait to see how fleeing enemies or super fast spies or sabotaging city walls works out. I can't believe I'd thought these guys would be boring, they're now probably one of my favorite civs, mod or no.

    I do wonder though...the specific city they settled next to the natural wonder I wanted didn't turn into a barb city. Is that random? If I were to reload a save from before I took it, is there a chance that the cities will be different or is it based on population/proximity/other factors?
     
  18. LastSword

    LastSword Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    I don't want to lie. It gives you every second city using Player:Cities() method and I would bet reload will not help.

    Timurids UU is quite annoying to play against. I think I set them too high flavour, because I have recently encountered the large amount of Elephants mixed with WWI Infantry. My Infantry and Artillery was fleeing... garrisoned Infantry left the city. I have even lost unit, because of 25 damage, which is done if unit has no available plot to flee. Worthy note is a fact that unit, who fleed has movement reduced by 1 in the next turn.

    Anyway I am quite jealous, because I had never (in non-test game) turned more than one city into barbarians.
     
  19. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,636
    I had civ sets 1, 4, and 7 active in a game last night without any other mods. I tried the Haida and all the units had the Promotion window open. The buttons therein opened various windows like the advisors' window. Also, the buttons' fly text described various unrelated promotions.
     
  20. LastSword

    LastSword Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    Were you using both GK and BNW?
    I have made several turns and everything was fine.
     

Share This Page