1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Main Download Information

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by 45°38'N-13°47'E, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    So Afforess, what can we expect will be in the next version?
     
  2. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I have been keeping the beta builds thread up-to-date, it lists all the new changes that will be in the as of yet unreleased 1.60beta.
     
  3. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Couple of questions.

    In the Arctic buildings mod I notice that the igloo can be built a minimum of 60 deg. Does this scale depending on the climate? i ask because i'm currently playing on a cold climate and I notice that most of the land after 60 degrees is ice (ie impassible) whereas there is lots of tundra before 60 degrees. There is roughly a 2 square 'band' where igloos can be built..... while the tundra extends 7-8 squares further.

    Does the AI know how to use the fixed borders? If not then i can see that this will put the human player at a huge advantage over the AI even in times of peace. Also where can i see ingame which civic fix the borders?
     
  4. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    All good questions.

    1.) Latitude does not always scale well, I know. I tried to pick a latitude that would always be tundra, but in some maps, it is still plains, and others, like yours, it is ice. The arctic buildings are meant to only help civilizations stuck in the ice not get left behind, so it's no big deal if no one ever has to build them.

    2.) Yes, the AI does know how to use Fixed Borders. They account for Fixed borders in their civic choices and unit choices. The logic for units isn't perfect, but basically, the AI will claim tiles when it is considering to pillage. It isn't often, but claiming land isn't always the best action anyway. For a quick demonstration, put some enemy troops in your improved land and edit the units in the world-builder so that they are UNITAI_PILLAGE and several of them will claim your land.

    3.)In the civilopedia, look in the tab labeled "A New Dawn Concepts". There is a section devoted to Fixed Borders, and it has a list of civics that cause fixed borders. For the next release, I will also expose it to the civic screen as well. ;)
     
  5. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Brilliant.... I was hoping that the AI would atleast know how to claim some land.

    With regards to the Arctic buildings I really like the general idea as i always play with random climate/sea level and have found myself in the middle of a massive wasteland of tundra many times (trapped in this wasteland a few times also by ice :sad:) Usually the onlyway to even be a competitor in those situations is to expand out of it very quickly and that has a detrimental effect on your economy very early, so any unique biuildings to related to that situation aleviating those problems slightly is great. Is it possible to tie it into the terrain type? ie: cities built on snow/tundra can build them.

    Im loving the mod so far by the way, there are now some very interesting choices to be made at every stage of the game... I was a little worried that the extras would make things a little overpowered but you've done a great job at balancing things out by giving the player lots of 'tradeoff' choices......... brilliant :)
     
  6. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    When I made them, initially I couldn't, but I added that feature in the 1.5 series, and Arctic buildings was made a long time ago. I'll update it to make it that way. That's a better choice than latitude.

    I'm glad you like it. I've done my best to make it a worthy addition to RoM.
     
  7. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Great, so we can expect to see that in an upcoming realease?!

    I've been away from ROM for a while, last version I played was 2.71 and i'm very keen to see the tranhuman era.

    But I really am liking the early stages of the game, the extra buldings and units add some great choices and I think that the balanced/extra civics make for some honestly tough choices. There are now so many combinations of them that you can really tailor to your civ style or situation. Thats primarily down to AND.

    One thing I hinted to Zap for while was an early defence buster unit ( I suggested a battering ram like from wolfshanze mod, it was a very early unit that could only reduce defence and not cause collateral. It upgraded later to a capped ram with copper and just increased the ammount of defence reduction) ...... Now with even better defence and defenders I think it's even more vital now though.

    Looking forward to those updates :beer:
     
  8. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yes, the changes to the arctic buildings will be in the patch that I release this evening.

    I agree, RoM does need a defense buster unit, I always hoped that someone would make the artwork for a some early ballista's. Artwork for units is so hard to find, which is why I haven't added many.
     
  9. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Good News:

    I've got a 1.53 to 1.54 patch on the OP. Make sure you grab it.

    BugFixes in the Patch:
    • Dexy has found the bug was causing rare CTD's with Fixed Borders. It has been fixed.
    • I've fixed the bug with the no-name civilizations spawning and causing CTD's
    • Arctic buildings have been tweaked, they no longer require such high latitudes, but now require ice or tundra terrain in the city radius.
    • Religious Victories were not correctly working, players who had met the requirements for victory would still not win. This has been corrected.

    And as always, make sure you install the main 1.53 pack before applying the patch. Errors will occur otherwise.

    Bad News:


    The patch is NOT save game compatible. Make sure you finish any games in progress before patching.
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,603
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Got this after trying to access this: (In the d/l area?)

    After downloading the expansion pack, ensure that you get the 1.53->1.54 patch. then this:???

    Invalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator

    BUT it worked in the patches area of post # 1.
     
  11. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Fixed the link.
     
  12. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Great stuff :)
     
  13. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    36,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    This looks amazing, Afforess! I'll have to try it out :)
     
  14. fox456

    fox456 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    I too love your "A New Dawn" mod, Afforess! As much as I like the storms in RoM, I used your mod to remove them. I have included most all of the other features of your mod, too. I also like Mountains, Back to Service; Buildings, Inc.; the Meteorology Techs; and especially, Larger Cities.

    Leaving out storms seems to have improved the speed of the AI turns unbelievably. Incidentally, I also went from a Huge map to a Large map and shortened the duration of the game, which may have altered the length of the AI turns. I will experiment some more to make sure that leaving out storms really had such a dramatic impact. However, I am very pleased to now only wait 10 seconds on the AI rather than over 2 minutes.

    I'm trying Mastery Victory in my current game and look forward to trying Fixed Borders in the future.

    Thanks again!
     
  15. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    You will not regret one bit trying this out!:D
     
  16. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,956
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    Why not a battering ram? There're graphics for them, and they would be historically accurate.
     
  17. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,092
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    :raise hand:

    I already modded AAranda's battering ram to be available with Masonry and Wheel. You can find it with Dancing Hoskuld's modpack that he tweaked and made to work with 2.8 version of RoM.
     
  18. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Oooh great, looks I may get my wish after all :D
     
  19. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    hi guys i have a problem trying to install the 1.53 version, it comes up with 'fatal error: bad end of central directory record' when i click on the installer. I am trying to add it too the mega 2.81 version, however I may have to rewind and so the non mega version as i don't think my computer will cope.

    Any help appreciated
     
  20. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    The error occured because your download was corrupted. Please delete the file and re-download, and ensure that you get all 77mb of it.
     

Share This Page