1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mod Component Requests Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by Thunderfall, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. Bastian-Bux

    Bastian-Bux King

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    795
    And another request:

    I'm searching for a modcomp that allows for global great people point calculation. Yes, I used the search function, but to no avail.

    REQUEST:

    a) disable generic great people spawn per city but not per city counting!

    b) count the GPP globally for all great people, and trigger a spawn once one of those variables hits the current civwide GPP threshold. Then reduce that variable by the threshold

    c) spawn that GPerson according to a random function, calling all corresponding city counts. Then either set the spawning city's GPP for this kind of GP back to zero. Or (if negative values are possible) even substract the whole treshold amount.

    Example:

    You've got two cities. City#1 generates 3 GPP scientist (specialist), city#2 1GPP scientist (wonder) and 3 GPP merchant (specialist). Treshold is 100.

    OLD: City#2 would hit the treshold after 25 turns, and produce either a great merchant (75%) or a great scientist (25%). City#2 is reset back to 0. Treshold increases to 150. At turn 50 turns city#1 will spawn a GS.

    NEW: The global science GPP hits the treshold after 25 turns. The GS spawns with 75% chance in city#1 or with 25% chance in city#2. The science GPP of that city is either reduced to 0, or if possible by 100. Treshold increases to 150. At turn 50 city#2 spawns a GM.


    The overall amount of GP isn't increased by much. Only the losses due to "GPP in unimportant cities" are reduced a bit. But more importantly, even those GPersons that you are not focussing on will show up. They might "loose out" treshold after treshold against your science GPP farm driving that global science GPP variable up. But those great artist points from your odd wonder here and there will add up over time, and at one time there will be enough of them to hit treshold first.

    This in my opinion reflects reality a bit better then the current system.
     
  2. 50caliber

    50caliber Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    I wanted to make it so that cities have to be spaced further apart, creating more strategy during wars, by having to navigate more terrain to reach each city. I made a simple change to the xml/globaldefines file

    <Define>
    <DefineName>MIN_CITY_RANGE</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>2</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>

    I changed the value from 2 to 4. This worked great on land, however, it doesnt work in for islands out in the ocean. This creates problems when there are a lot of islands. I was wondering why this doesnt apply to islands in the ocean, and how can i fix it. i tried using the borders over ocean mod but it doesnt help for this particular problem...
     
  3. Vaevictis_A

    Vaevictis_A Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Is it possible to create a mod which allows shared vision for allies? Right now it's only available through team play, but that gives shared tech and other things as well.

    So what I'm looking for is a mod that will either:

    1) Reduce team functionality to shared vision only - no shared tech
    2) Add shared vision between human players.
     
  4. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Is it possible to make modcomp that makes this:

    Improvments add health or unhealthiness.

    So for example if i build workshop it gives 0,3 unhealthiness to the city.
     
  5. 50caliber

    50caliber Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    why can i not give my vassals cities? even as terms of capitulation, we are not allowed to trade, its only a one way deal. if i have 15 cities and my vassal has two, i should be able to give him some cities, or at least give him back his own, and then he can help me with science (making sure he doesnt reach the 50% threshold on size and pop of course). does anyone know where i can make this change in the files, vassals are almost worthless through capitulation, the way things are now....
     
  6. Komdu

    Komdu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    I was wondering if it were possible for someone to edit the schema to add a XML tag that the AI could recognize. I have been trying to make a Charismatic trait for vanilla civ, but there is no <iHappiness> tag.

    Thanks
     
  7. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    Greetings

    Can anyone put together a mod comp to stockpile unused resources. It only starts stockpiling a resource if there is a spare resource, and it would keep stockpiling for up to 10 game turns-worth of the spare resources. Should I totally run out of resources, I can use these stockpiled resources. Sounds pretty simple. I hope the coding isn't too complicated. I'm not sure how/where to keep track of stockpiled resources though.

    Thanks!
     
  8. juni_be_good

    juni_be_good Black mage

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Caen, France
    I am looking for a mod comp that adds the ability to disable a civic for one civ. I guess it has been done somewhere already, but I can't find it. So if anyone knows where it is, please tell me, otherwise I can try to do it myself and release it ;)
     
  9. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    How tough would it be to make a mod allowing cannons or artillery on a coast to attack adjacent ships? :)
     
  10. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    So the only criteria would be the civ? If so I'll have it before the week is up.
     
  11. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    Despite the many options available to set various calendar formats to scenarios, I ended up in a bind with mine.

    My scenario presently runs from 1640 to about 1900. Its current calendar setting is SEASONS, which therefore yields about 1000 turns. That's twice what I need or want. Unfortunately, the next available calendar option is YEARLY, which cuts the game down to 260 turns, which is too short...

    Is it possible come up with a mod comp that would fix this? Either skip Spring & Fall, or just some other calendar option (preferably showing just Summer & Winter). The latter detail is important because if I managed to ever include weather effects, I'd need a way to identify Winter months.

    Cheers
     
  12. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    Eureka!

    I found out how to do just that... if anyone is interested.

    All I did was to go into the mod's BasicInfos.xml file, and delete the Spring & Fall references there. Voila! As a result, the computer thinks that there are only two seasons making up the Seasonal calendar. Well duh... :rolleyes:

    Moving right along... Please ignore my request.
     
  13. dh_epic

    dh_epic Cold War Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,627
    Location:
    Seasonal Residences
    I imagine there's a lot of questions on this, but the information is so scattered I can't really find a straight answer...

    What's the maximum number of Civilizations allowed in the game? Is there a way to mod in no limit?
     
  14. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    No problem -- read this thread. ;)
     
  15. Ambreville

    Ambreville Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    Here's another request.

    This is for a mod comp that is purely cosmetic in nature. The mod prompts the player on whether to rename a city when the player's Civ conquers it. If the player clicks Yes, the system renames the conquered city, using the next available city name for the player's Civ. That's it. Any takers? :scan:
     
  16. eromrab

    eromrab Naked Pirate

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    Sorry if this has already been posted, but i have a super bad migraine and can't stare at this screen anymore. I really really really want the ability to enter into a "Confederation" with other countries. Basically, it'd be a lot like the permanent alliance, except that each nation would give up a city to the confederation (have to find a way of making sure it's an "acceptable sized city") and also have a tax. basically it'd be like creating another computer player called "the confederation" that would have the duties of protecting themselves, and the member nations with their own military. they would get their money from their cities and taxes on the member nations (i'm thinking like a 10&#37; tax or some crap or an amount voted on or something).

    anyways, just thought that would be fun :)
     
  17. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    Hello! i don't know if someone has already asked for this, but i'd like two modcomps that takes TheLopez' mercenaries mod and makes mercenary hiring go by cultural group. this is how the two different ways would work, for example:

    Modcomp 1:
    - China had hire a Samurai mercenary, because it is Asian, but it can't hire a Jaguar Warrior

    Modcomp 2:
    - China can hire a "Zhou" Chariot mercenary, but it can't hire a "Bantu" Chariot mercenary (this would mean changing the random name generator of the base mercenary mod to the name of the barbarians, like in Rhye's)
     
  18. Purest Warrior

    Purest Warrior Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    How about a pop-up list, popping in the corner of the screen, showing what buildings have been built, barbarians approaching, religions speading, etc., instead of those silly buttons always appearing behind the tech/culture sliders or the score board.
    I know that I could just use control-tab to get the log out, but it clutters the screen and conflicts with other windows being opened.

    I do not know if it is even possible to make, but it would be sweet.

    Cheers, PW
     
  19. philip98188

    philip98188 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Holland
    hello,

    I want to edit the XML-Files so that the SDI (you know that satellite defense system against ICBM's) is only available for one country (for instance Russia).

    Where can I find the file of the SDI ??? I've looked all over for it and I cant find it...

    Can anybody please mail my about this (about how and where to edit this) ??!! at philip98188@hotmail.com
     
  20. Eclipse4449

    Eclipse4449 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,814
    Location:
    Ohio (-5 GMT)
    Can you, or do you know of someone that can create a new unit? The Suicide Bomber, this unit would have great movement capabilities that would be destroyed upon entering an enemy city but would also destroy 1 or 2 buildings and/or population. and most importantly the AI be able to use this ability.
    If you, or you don't know of anyone, could you point me in a direction for which I can learn to do this,
    Thanks
    Ray
     

Share This Page