1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] The Authentic Colonization (TAC)

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by Writing Bull, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. agaro

    agaro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Aha, now I see what you mean. Click on the text in the log and the underlying map screen centres to the relevant colony.

    I hadn't realised that any of the text in the log was clickable before. Apologies for confusion.
     
  2. agaro

    agaro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Great Buildings

    A few comments on two of the great building options activated after building multiple government palaces.

    The Great Tool Factory: Currently reduces food by 2 if there is a river. Introducing a penalty in reduced food for further progress in metal industialisation is an interesting idea, and probably realistic. However, this can be avoided by not building the Great Tool Factory in a colony with a river - and usually you have a few options of where to build the great factory. Perhaps it might be possible in future releases to have the reduction in food applied at a settlement level, via a negative building bonus addition/subtraction for total food, instead of at the square level impacting only 1 river food square. Then a player would not be able to avoid the food cost for mega industrialisation - all settlements would incur it irrespective of their food or water source.

    Great Arsenal: From memory this currently requires 900 hammers, 200 ore and 200 tools for the benefit of +1 gun per gunmaker and 10% increase in production. While eventually your gun numbers will increase it seems to me that the requirements for this building are a bit too high and the payoff time is too long. If I think this, and I probably play bigger and longer games than most other players, then it is moreso for other players.

    It seems to me that because in this mod you need a magazine to build the attacking cannon, most of your settlements will be developed to magazine level in order to maximise cannon production for the final battles. So I think that most players would be better off using excess ore and tools to take 4 of these magazines to arsenal level, increasing local gun production by 40% at each location, at the same time as building the cannons, instead of building a Great Arsenal at just one city (and then having to wait for an eventual buildup and distribution of guns).

    Plus with learning by doing in place in this mod there is some benefit in starting to produce guns in many locations using colonists, as most of these will convert to experts automatically before the final WOI (doubling the output per person at each location, and increasing your total number of expert gunsmiths and guns). Whereas I expect a great arsenal would only ever be operated by existing expert gunsmiths.

    I haven't done any detailed calculations, but it just seems to me that the balance for this one is a bit off and the requirements for the Great Arsenal could be reduced a bit, otherwise not many players would build them.
     
  3. Writing Bull

    Writing Bull Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi agaro, :) normally the cross limit is 2000 crosses. These options can change it:
    • If you change the speed: a slow speed increases the cross limit, a quick speed reduces it.
    • If you change the leaderhead: a leaderhead with the trait "tolerant" reduces the cross limit.
    Besides other variables can increase the number of crosses produced each turn:
    • also a leaderhead with the trait "tolerant"
    • some founding fathers like Roger Williams
    • some events
     
  4. koma13

    koma13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Hmm. I'm not sure it will help at all, but you can try disabling movies in the game options. This will reduce system stress by replacing the flying seagulls in Europe screen with a static background.

    I think these buttons you suggest are too specific. I don't want to clutter the trade route interface with any more buttons. A more general approach would be to allow choosing multiple items when selecting a yield or import/export city. That way you would be able to create multiple routes at once. Unfortunately it is too late for these kind of changes. :sad: TAC 2.02c will be released soon (before christmas) and after that our top priority is to prevent any changes that will likely introduce new bugs.

    Enjoy yourself! :)
     
  5. Martinek

    Martinek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Bonn
    i really appreciate that - das wäre einfach wundervoll:goodjob:

    btw: is there a way to get the worldbuilder started without choosing a civ (id like to give the carribbean isles one more tile to produce kakao or sugar but it is annoying to do so every time i start a game with the TAC American 1.02 Map)
     
  6. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    So far the mod plays very well and works very well, using english versions.

    You should rename the mod to "The Actual Colonization" and force firaxis to pull the origonal col2 game and replace it with this one.

    my only problem, and i have this problem on AoD, Medieval and mare nostrum - i can't get the "city radius 2" mod or the "coalplantradius" to work with it and i hate restriction of one ring around the city.

    I enjoy this mod because of its smooth play and functionality.
     
  7. Karl-Heinz

    Karl-Heinz aka Akropolis

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Germany
    This building can only built in river-cities. You will ever have the negative consequences if you want to built the Great Tool Factory.

    We decided us against the "radius 2"-mod in TAC. It would destroy the balancing completly. You would have some mega-citys, a bigger economy, a greater inflation, lower prices in europe etc. What are the positive effects?
     
  8. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    You are / were member of TAC ?
    Hm, which TAC-modder might be behind Karl-Heinz ? :think:
    (Don't tell me. I like riddles like that. I will find out myself. :) )
     
  9. Karl-Heinz

    Karl-Heinz aka Akropolis

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Germany
    :D I am the spirit that always denies your ideas.
     
  10. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Ok, I know now. :)
    Spoiler :

    In the German Forum your username starts with "A" , right ?


    I already thought so,
    because either the others have the same user name here or
    they are not German (but Austrian or Suiss) or
    they are not actively modding CivCol long enough to have posts as old as you do.
     
  11. Karl-Heinz

    Karl-Heinz aka Akropolis

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Germany
    Correct. Here are no name-changes like in our forum in germany and I don't like a second account.
     
  12. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,954
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    It might be THE mod I was waiting for! I can translate it to Russian when the english translation is done. Awesome! I will check it this weekend.
     
  13. KJ Jansson

    KJ Jansson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Re to Deon:

    На немецком форуме ТАС мода есть раздел, связанный с переводами на другие языки, в том числе на английский. Там можно следить за прогрессом в этом деле.
     
  14. Writing Bull

    Writing Bull Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    A very interesting offer, Deon! :) Please contact us. KJ ( :wavey: ) has listed the links to our project forum.
     
  15. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,954
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    I've been busy with the work a bit, it was an end of a month :). I will contact you for sure once I run this awesome mod a few times to enjoy it ;).
     
  16. romanwind

    romanwind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, I have found this beautiful mod and I am playing it. Very, very interesting. I believe it gives a reason "to be live" to colonization. I hav no problem at all palying with this mod, but playing with english language I am in trouble with new concepts due to the civilopedia translation not yet completed. I have a query for you: what can i do with cocoa? just sell to Europe or there is any building I could use for cocoa? I did not find any specialist.....
    Thank you in advance for your answer, and I am waiting for new version!!!!!!
     
  17. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    With this mod and the Col 2071 1.2 update, i began playing Colonization mods again - specific, this - Colonization 2071, Age of Discovery (modmod) and Maer Nostrum.

    I must say this mod is how the game should have been released.
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    In TAC you can only sell it in Europe. :)
    (No production line.)
     
  19. Yamato

    Yamato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    How do custom houses work in this mod? Can you export "boycotted" goods in TAC?
     
  20. Karl-Heinz

    Karl-Heinz aka Akropolis

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Germany
    No, it dosn't sell boycotted goods. You have to cancel the boycot in Eurpe.
     

Share This Page