1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[mod] Warlords: Total Realism Gold

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Houman, Dec 24, 2006.

  1. Infantry#14

    Infantry#14 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,580
    too many slave revolts, maybe allow the slaves to show up, but skip their turn, so that AI and the humans have some time to defend their cities or kill them first
     
  2. Sturmgewehr

    Sturmgewehr Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Canada
    Argh, I put in the "white flag" patch. It worked, but every flag is super dark for some reason.

    I think it's time for a new graphics card.
     
  3. Rylock

    Rylock Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I just wanted to say that I've tried out a game already with this mod, and am working on my second game on a Giant map, and so far I'm really enjoying it. Some feedback, if you're interested:

    - I have to agree with at least some of the comments that were being made about slave rebellions. The problem was mostly that the rebellions seem not only inevitable but far stronger than I can handle... often the slaves are armed with units that I cannot actually deal with, at one point consisting of advanced units I had just researched but didn't actually possess any of yet.
    I wouldn't mind the frequency of the rebellions if the slave rebels themselves were weaker... or if the chance of a rebellion relied more on my actually using the civic's functionality (so maybe when I hurry production on something by sacrificing population there is a % chance it will cause a rebellion) or depending on possessing actual slave units as workers (they have a chance to rebel). As it is, I mostly just avoid the civic altogether. Maybe if there were more advantages to the civic, the disadvantage would seem more worthwhile.

    - I actually don't mind the increased span of time in the earlier part of the game. It allows for more time to actually engage in warfare during the ancient and classical periods. The main problem, however, is that inevitably my cities will finish building everything in short order... and before you get a technology like Alphabet you end up having cities just churning out military units since there is nothing else to devote them to. And until you get to Currency or Code of Laws it's pretty difficult to afford so many units. If I'm not in a good position to go to war, I generally end up with my cities grinding out units that I delete immediately inbetween technologies.
    So maybe allowing a city to be set to "Wealth" production earlier might be a good idea? And simply set it so that the tech that allows you to do it currently (Currency, I think?) allows you to do it with greater efficiency. As a matter of fact, I think it would be far better to allow you to set a city to "Wealth", "Culture" or "Research" whenever... it just doesn't get you very much until you get the proper tech. But it would be something, especially if the early part of the game has been made so much longer.

    - I really miss the Battering Ram unit that the Visa modpack has. It's a pre-Catapult bombardment unit, and allows for you to engage in at least some city assaults in the early periods. Right now, you can take a city that has a City Wall, sure, but only if you swarm it with your own units. Considering how cheap City Walls are to build, and how much time you have to build everything, it's almost impossible to face enemies that don't have them on every city and there's simply no counter until you get the Catapult much, much later.

    - I am very fond of the changes you made to Organized Religion and Theocracy, with having non-state religions cause unhappiness. That's how it should be, if you ask me. I'm not very fond of the Classical Democracy, however, and that's mostly because it makes having a larger empire very costly and I'm always struggling with money in the early part of the game as it is. Each new settlement is a drain on my resources, and that's a limitation that the AI doesn't appear to have.

    Just a few thoughts. Overall I'm quite enjoying the mod, especially the more civ-specific look and feel. I played Mali the first time and thought it was quite marvelous how very... African it looked and felt. Well done.

    Rylock
     
  4. Poldi

    Poldi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    incredible mod !!! the best I've ever played ... the only problem I have is the stability ... all other mods or games run rock-stable just this mod occasionally crashes and I do not get it solved by changing my system configuration/setting (I've played it on my PC and laptop ... the same result) ... maybe there are others who have the same problem ... the failure message is always the same "das programm hat einen fehler festgestellt und muss beendet werden (german windumb) ... my civ4 is set english)
    greetings I cant wait to see the first patch


    what I recognized (what many others also did were the very strong barbarians and the permanent worker riots)
     
  5. Isod

    Isod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks for the earlier reply
     
  6. Isod

    Isod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks for the earlier reply, Hian. The more I play this mod, the more I like it, but there are some items to address. I'll list my complaints and then some possible solutions. :) Currently playing as Rome on Monarch, archipelago, 6 civs, raging barbs.

    1. Barbs don't seem to be too raging. There are about 30 tiles of fog on my island, I fight a barb once every 15 or 20 twenty turns. In other mods (particularly Sevo mod), I fight the barbs almost every turn until they settle down into cities and then launch attacks. It makes it very hard to develop your terrain, connect cities, etc. It makes the early game much more challenging.

    Solution: Drastically increase barb activity on the "raging" setting only. Only pick raging if you really want them raging!

    2. Agree w/ Rylock about the civics. Early expansion is very slow, as there are no civics to counter decrease maintenance / # of cities costs. I really like the way the civics are tweaked, but I think neglecting a change in the earlier civics really slows the game down. There is also little incentive to switch to slavery and too many negative effects.

    Solution: The late, great Sevo incorporated an excellent solution to this problem by adding in a few very early civics that reduced expansion issues, but were balanced so there was no incentive to keep using them as more advanced civics were discovered (particularly "tribal law" and "barter"):

    Spoiler :
    5) New Civics -- Ten new civics (two in each civic category) have been added. Carefully balanced with existing civics but adding new options to rule your civ:
    Aristocracy (Govt): Allows unlimited statesmen, +100% culture in capital
    Theocracy (Govt): +50% GPP with state religion, no non-state religion spread
    Tribal Law (Legal): -50% upkeep for distance from palace
    Religious Law (Legal): +1 happy from state religion, +3 gold per specialist
    Bondage (Labor): Allows slaves like slavery does, 5 free units, 1 conscript/turn; military unit production uses bread
    Guilds (Labor): Unlimited Merchant, Engineer, Priest
    Barter (Trade): -50% maintenance from number of cities, +25% bread in capital, no foreign trade (no tech leak)
    Global Market (Trade): +1 trade route all cities, +1 bread from Towns
    Idolatry (Religion): +1 happy from obelisk
    Proselytism (Religion): Monastery not required for missionary, +25% military unit production in cities with state religion
    Militant (Religion): +3 experience from state religion, no non-state spread
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=188184


    3. Tech trading comes too early.

    Solution:
    Moving it back to guilds like so many other mods do is a simple way to avoiding the early "tech trading cabals".

    4. Also agree w/ Rylock about the wealth/culture/science (WCS) production idea. I like the pace of the mod b/c you get a lot of time actually using each class of units. Like Rylock, I build all of city improvements for each tech and am then forced to build units. But b/c the economy is so fragile in the early game, I end up deleting them immediately. Makes the game a bit tedious.

    Solution: Allowing a civ to inefficiently produce either WCS from the beginning (or after getting an early tech) would be a good alternative to keeping the current pace and eliminating the policy of building and deleting of units.

    Attributing the initial WCS production based on the characteristics of each civ or leader would add an extra wrinkle to choosing who you play with. The amount of WCS you produce is not that efficient, but it is better than the building/ deleting discussed earlier. After you discover the tech that currently allows you to produce WCS, your production gets more efficient.

    For example, the Romans/Americans/Zulus/Mongols can produce wealth, the Persians/Indians/Chinese/Russian/Japanese science and the French/Egyptians/Greeks produce culture. Obviously it is tough to put each civ in one of these categories, but if you think of militaristic civs as going for wealth, more peaceful civs producing culture and the sci civs going for,well science, it kind of makes sense.

    Love the early assassins and informants! People have been spying on each other forever; I’m glad someone incorporated this into the early game.

    Thanks for reading, hope these suggestions are helpful. And again, awesome mod!

    Isod.
     
  7. DeadFish

    DeadFish Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Harrogate, UK
    Great mod - I'm using it now - But one request - Could you please add option for clouds (turn it off/on) - I hate clouds when zoom out.

    The rest is fine but keep working on improving TR!

    Thanks.
     
  8. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm playing a new game, as Persian, noble level, played already 100 turns, around 2500 bc. The situation is funny: as soon as possible I reasearched archery and starting building some immortals to conquer 1-2 civilization as I like to do in the early game. Meantime, with 2-3 warriors and 1 scout I was exploring the map. Before to produce my first immortal I got a general! This can tell you how many barbarians were on the map. After built 3 immortals, one with the general as warlord, I direct my first assault to the celtic empire, but when I reached his capital, it was already conquered by barbarians! Meantime Germany was already destroyed by barbarians and my capital is attacked every turn, the defending immortals reached already 3th level. My worker can't do anything that stay in my city, surrounded by barbarians warriors! There's no time for boring this way but it looks that with this mod (as already tested playing scenarios) the strongest opponent are barbarians. They appear randomly very often, they dont pay for anything I guess and they get generals as normal players. I didnt meet units with generals as warlords yet but I see many messages saying they got a new one. As already said, I like very much this mod, a player can manage even the ancient times, organizing not only city production but a war too, but I agree with the other players complains or suggestions. Playing scenarios you reach a moment when you can produce only units, sometime useless because your cities are already full of defensive units and your army is already so large that you dont need new. It looks something is to be changed. Happy new year!
     
  9. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    P.S. In the year 2065 BC I'm getting the 3th general without fighting any war!
    Awesome!
     
  10. Rylock

    Rylock Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You know, since I posted that I actually started playing with it on my own, just to see just how easy it might be to add this sort of thing.

    Through the CIV4ProcessInfo, I discovered that the sections which dictate when you can start producing WCS also have a section for the conversion percentage (currently at 100% once you get it). So I wondered if I added another version of the same ProcessInfo, with an earlier tech at a lower % if it would work.

    It did. As an experiment, I was able to start doing 50% Wealth production at Pottery and then 100% Wealth production at Currency. Technically I could even have more stages, I suppose: 50% at Pottery, 75% at Currency and 100% at Banking. Who knows?

    The only issue is that once you get the higher version, the old icon remains in your production list. There's no way in Civ4ProcessInfo that I can see to have something become obsolete. I figured out how to change the name and icon so they can be told apart, but ideally you'd get rid of the old one as it would never be used anyhow. Still, it's something.

    I don't know if it would be possible to tie any of this in to the civs themselves... not that I can see, though my modding skills are still pretty minor.
     
  11. Infantry#14

    Infantry#14 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,580
    I have a suggestion for graphics: maybe shows blood or gore on the tile where units die
     
  12. begomania

    begomania Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    sorry but i ve to ask my question again i cant open the console i need money :) pls answer my question thanx
     
  13. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    UK
    Houmans on holiday - it is Xmas. ;) (look at my hat).

    But to give you a half answer - you need to change a setting in the Civ4 ini file.

    Some thing like: cheat code = Chipolte.

    Never tried it myself - just vaguely remember reading about it on a thread .
     
  14. T.A JONES

    T.A JONES Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,471
    Here goes! Finally! a mod thats makng me step up to the plate again and try Civ4 the way it should be.,truly pumped! and for the first tme in a long time Im ready to load up Civ4 again.

    All thanks to the MOd Dept. Great work!

    Hey If anyone gets time to answer this, Is it possible to desighn construct and impliment a completly new leadehead ? Eveywhere I look I see look alike's skins of Firwaixs models.
    What gives? Im sure its not a creativty problem on the modders part but on the other hand CIv4 is touted as the best modding chapter in everyway except implimentation, so I can't see who they could leave a restriction so big for so long
     
  15. Suspiria

    Suspiria Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    k ive never installed a mod b4...this looks interesting....want to try something new

    playing now
     
  16. martyboy

    martyboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Tried out the mod. Installed fine, but i cannot seem to stop getting damn barbarians, despite choosing no barbarians in the set up. I HATE barbarians, they are just a confounded nuisance in my view. Why cant I stop them appearing in my games! don't appear in un-modded games when i don't select hem, just in this mod..
     
  17. CMKMStephens

    CMKMStephens Serious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    New Zealand
    AMD 3500+
    2gb of RAM

    Memory errors by 1876
     
  18. Suspiria

    Suspiria Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    how do i uninstall blue marble? installed it with this, now i want to get rid of it


    UPDATE
    someone please help me out, im tearing my hair out! how do i uninstall blue marble having installed it with TR

    dont worry, i just uninstalled TR and it worked
     
  19. wrobinett1

    wrobinett1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Just started trying out this mod tonight and so far it totally rocks. Kudos to the dev team on this one!! :)

    Been using the included earth world map and it works great, but I have a question when starting the game and choosing one of the 18 civs. Is it possible to choose one of the new alternate leaders for a given civ, ie Stalin instead of Catherine? I noticed that your map did include Bismark instead of Frederick for the Germans, so wondering how that is changed?

    I'm not a modder and only have basic knowledge of XML. Poked around a little bit in the directories and such, but really not sure what I'm looking for (if it is even possible to change this). Civ4 doesn't seem to have a map editor like Civ3 did, and it seems the only way you can play one of the alternate leaders is by using Custom Game, but then you can't choose the included earth map (or any custom map it seems).

    Hope you (or someone) can point me in the right direction. I really would rather play as Stalin for the Russians. :)

    Thanks!
     
  20. Joul Ironhand

    Joul Ironhand Ya rly!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    England
    After constantly getting beaten on Prince level on Civ4, this looks like it could re-ignite my interest in giving it another try.

    Most likely getting beaten again, but at least i'll try it once, hehe

    Joul
     

Share This Page