1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MODCOMP] Flavoured Units

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by SadoMacho, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    I have started making a MODCOMP with flavoured units for RFCW.

    Phase 1

    Flavoured units from the warlords scenarios will be added.
    (completed)

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=4355

    Phase 2

    More flavoured units from the file DB will be added for all civilizations. This is going to take a long will because I am not the greatest MOD writter and I don't have a lot of time to write MODs.
    (started)

    Phase 3
    Adding of a 2nd UU for all Civs.
    (Will start if I ever complete fase 2)
     
  2. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    this is for 1.43 right?
     
  3. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    yes it is.
     
  4. Gunner

    Gunner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Hey sounds great!

    One little thing though, its spelled phase, not fase ;)
     
  5. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    It is spelled fase in Dutch, but I'll change it.
     
  6. Talkie_Toaster

    Talkie_Toaster I toast, therefore I am

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Oldham, Greater Manchester, UK
    Yays!! Will you be including the "Ethnically Diverse Units" mod in this?

    If so, Huzzah!

    Plus, do you need any help? I can do basic XML, or simply test it if you want...
     
  7. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    @Rhye:
    I have created some arab flavoured units, but on start-up of Arabia, they get the standard units form CIV, but can build the flavoured units. Obselete units can be upgraded to flavoured units too.

    I was looking in your Python-file and found
    Spoiler :

    def createAdditionalUnits( self, iCiv, tPlot ):
    ...
    f (iCiv == iArabia):
    utils.makeUnit(con.iLongbowman, iCiv, tPlot, 2)
    utils.makeUnit(con.iArabiaCamelarcher, iCiv, tPlot, 4)
    ....


    and

    Spoiler :

    def createStartingUnits( self, iCiv, tPlot ):
    ...
    if (iCiv == iArabia):
    utils.makeUnit(con.iSettler, iCiv, tPlot, 3)
    utils.makeUnit(con.iLongbowman, iCiv, tPlot, 4)
    utils.makeUnit(con.iSwordsman, iCiv, tPlot, 2)
    utils.makeUnit(con.iArabiaCamelarcher, iCiv, tPlot, 5)
    ...


    So, I made the Arabian longbowman (<Type>UNIT_ARABIAN_LONGBOWMAN</Type> in XML)
    Can I change con.iLongbowman to con.iArabian_Longbowman, or do I need to define this somewhere else?
     
  8. Talkie_Toaster

    Talkie_Toaster I toast, therefore I am

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Oldham, Greater Manchester, UK
    Guess not then...:(

    Ah, well, I still look forward to it's release! :D
     
  9. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    sorry, mist you post, as I was posting myself.
    I am not good as modwriter, so it is hard for me to split up the jobs, so I will try to do as must as possible myself. I'll ask some help from time to time.

    I'll check out the "Ethnically Diverse Units" mod
    got a link?
     
  10. Talkie_Toaster

    Talkie_Toaster I toast, therefore I am

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Oldham, Greater Manchester, UK
  11. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Poland
    SadoMacho- you will only change units graphics? (I think that strength of unit should be changed too- Germany should have very strong infantry, etc)
     
  12. Talkie_Toaster

    Talkie_Toaster I toast, therefore I am

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Oldham, Greater Manchester, UK
    if he adds Ethnic units, then what'll basically happen is that every unit will be a UU ^_^
     
  13. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    Thats not necesserally a bad direction...
     
  14. Talkie_Toaster

    Talkie_Toaster I toast, therefore I am

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Oldham, Greater Manchester, UK
    I didn't say it was, hence the ^_^
     
  15. Vishaing

    Vishaing The Son

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    Units are defind based on their indeces in the xml files. (So add all of your new units at the very end)

    These indeces are converted into the "iLongbowman" format in the Consts.py file. Units begin around line 599, so you will need to define them there, or just plug the index right into the function, but I am not sure if that will work, so I would redefine the new constants.

    Good luck on this project! If you can finish it and get me a copy I can merge it into RFC++, because otherwise I modify some of the unit files, so it would be one or the other.
     
  16. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    I am not changing the stats of units. A swordsman will allways have attack 6 and +10&#37; city attack, it will just look different. And not all civs will have a different look for there units. I will work with cultural groups.
     
  17. Psycadelic_Magi

    Psycadelic_Magi Hippie/Philosopher/Peanut

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Northeast England
    I would say there's no point spending ages compiling a list yourself; I would just add all the units from the ethnically diverse units mod (it is an exellent mod, and 2 of the units were based on my ideas! ^_^); and then add or remove units afterwards. we dont want to wait all year lol
    If not ill have to find a way to add the units myself :) and dont make me do that, ill probably make my computer eat itself
     
  18. Psycadelic_Magi

    Psycadelic_Magi Hippie/Philosopher/Peanut

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Northeast England
    Oh and a distinction is made between 'Flavour Units' and 'Unique Units', since only unique units are statistically different to the firaxis ones.
     
  19. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Poland
    In normal game power of armies have to be balanced but in RFC not. Probably when there will be flavoured units for RFCW version 1.50(?) I'll try to change their power :)
     
  20. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    I'm bussy adding units from the ethnically diverse units mod but more units will be needed. I needed to look in Rhye's Python code to, so civs start out with the flavoured units too (it works, BTW) and to give the barbs the FU. 2nd UU will be added later.
     

Share This Page