1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

MP useful info

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Multiplayer & PBEM' started by Az, Aug 22, 2001.

  1. Anima

    Anima Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Someone please tell me what an ICQ is. And I would like a game of TOT with someone thanks. I havn't a clue how to do any of this stuff. I only got the internet recently. SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN TO ME!:mad:
     
  2. SaberSix

    SaberSix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Quincy, MA
    Anima,

    Icq is an instant messeging or chat program like AOL or instant messenger. It is used to find people who want to play multi-player online games and also to initially set up the game as the players need to know the IP address of the host computer and sending by email might take too long and using the phone is expensive
     
  3. pallypia

    pallypia Emporer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Uk GMT
    Hi guys 'N gals. We're setting up some multiplayer games on a Saturday evening ( Gmt as I'm in the UK ) So, if your up for joining the 'slaughter' please dont hesitate to get in touch....My ICQ(which is a great free thingy) # is 202681641.....We hope/plan to start arranging the games at about 7-00Pm...All are most welcome. Later folks. Pallypia.
     
  4. KingElessar_369

    KingElessar_369 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Juarez, Chihuahua
    Where are game arrenged?
     
  5. Jullee_L

    Jullee_L Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    CA USA
    Hey, all, I want to play, too. I got civ II TOT, but I downloaded that MGE patch just in case, too.
     
  6. pallypia

    pallypia Emporer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Uk GMT
    For all that don't know, ICQ is available, free, from www.icq.com

    Also, another useful one is trillian, which incorporates ICQ,MSN,AOL,YAHOO all into one little messenger.
    Its from http://www.ceruleanstudios.com/trillian/index.html

    Well worth checking out, as it's easier to have all your contacts on one screen.
    Remember, give me a shout for games whenever you see me online, I like to play when I can, 'JeremyWilkes@hotmail.com' or ICQ 202681641
     
  7. crystal&thomas

    crystal&thomas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    civ II gold 1.1.1 on mac works just fine with pc, just played on a lan with 3 people last night. I'm kontraaudio@hotmail.com I will play anytime. Thomas.
     
  8. crystal&thomas

    crystal&thomas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Lets's Play: ICQ#325069893 MSN:kontraaudio@hotmail.com (mac or pc) it's all the same.
     
  9. pimpopotomous

    pimpopotomous Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    I'd recommend not using mac if you are concerned with compatibility issues. Although I have heard that some of the newer macs support tcp/ip and that in 2006 they will begin supporting intel processors. Which leads me to think Macintosh is getting smarter. As of now though, Macintosh is not the computer you want for online gaming, or gaming.
    I think I strayed a bit off the topic, but I don't remember what it is.
    drugs are bad
     
  10. xgmx

    xgmx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    United States
    WHERE TO PLAY


    Xfire = http://www.xfire.com/

    Xfire is the new Zone, GameSpy, and stuff, its new and good software, anyone except Mac, Linux, etc can use it. 100% free, though doesn't yet support Civilization 2 or Test of Time, there are several topics on the Xfire forums about it, the 1# topic for it has over 5000 replies so I think it might get supported soon.


    GameSpy Arcade = http://www.gamespyarcade.com/
    GameSpy Arcade is the only place for Civ2 matchmaking now days, other than Comrade.


    GameSpy Comrade = http://comrade.gamespy.com/
    The new GameSpy Instant Messenger that came out in late 2006 with Battlefield 2142.


    Zone = http://www.zone.com/
    A now defunct online gaming service run by Microsoft.


    GEnie = http://www.genie.com/
    GEnie is a online gaming service where you can play Civ2 and its expansions. However it costs money.
     
  11. the human

    the human Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I got the Test of Time, and the original Civ II..

    my contact:

    MSN/Mail - thehuman@walla.co.il
    ICQ - 126184732

    I've been dying to play this game on the internet.. so if you're in.. It's a showdown.

    take care. :)
     
  12. panzerQ

    panzerQ Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hello. I am an experienced Civ player. Playing Civ for almost 20 years. Have played all the Civs until now. If anyone wants to play any of the civs in multiplayer my contact details are: ICQ: 624025022 MSN: nikola_mihov@hotmail.com Skype: nikola6296 Yahoo!Messenger: n.mihov@yahoo.com Can play almost at any time. Looking forward for a game!
     
  13. shahidsaif

    shahidsaif Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    thanks for the useful infol
     
  14. Wraithsunite

    Wraithsunite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    So is the only way to play multiplayer on Civ 2 in MGE gold? Some friends and I all hav ToT and wanted to play the fantasy and midgard scenario together. Anyone know how to do that?
     

Share This Page