1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Needing more Strategic Resources

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Illuminous, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I used to use firefox, doubt it would matter. Try IE is on the system. He could be down as I saw in the thread soemone was not able to get and finally did. PM me wiht email and I can send it at about 4mb.

    I see you no longer have slaves? They are free, no support may as well keep them forever. That continent has a ton of work to be done. Most tiles do not even have a road over there.
     
  2. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    The Zulu's decided to attack me first, and paid the price. I asked the Americans to join the fight and they only wanted ivory. They helped quite a bit, their military consisted mostly of archers (lot's of them). It's a good thing they didn't stab me in the back.

    Zimbabwe had the The Oracle and Sun Tzu's AoW.

    Copernicus' Observatory build in 1355AD, in Persepolis.

    I got horses, three dye, one iron, and I'll have silk once culture expands my border.

    I'm gonna skip Nationalism and just research Replaceable Parts. I can get rubber from the Yanks later on (hopefully).

    Year: 1395AD

    Gold: 1787 (1st)
    Cities: 57 (1st)
    Land: 648 (1st)
    Population: 318 (1st)
    Units: 164
    Specialists: 38
    Workers: 19
    Slaves: 22
    Science: 90%
    Musketmen: 23
    Calvalry: 20
    Spearmen: 14
    Immortals: 14
    Cannon: 10
    Pikemen: 9
    Frigate: 4
    Galleon: 4
    Caravel: 2

    Cash flow is better now. ;)

    I didn't get any ML's to build an army. :sad:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    I'm aware about the slaves being free, I still have them. They work at what, 1/3rd of the speed of a regular worker?.
     
  4. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    Abandoned workers? Never! Either join the native workers to your cities or park them, but never just disband them except in rare circumstances.. Slaves are free, so they should be parked, never join them to a city (except in rare circumstances).
     
  5. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    I added the workers to the cities that had room for them.

    I didn't get rid of any of my slaves, nor did I allow them to join my cities.

    VMXA, since you don't use subs and cruisers, I'm guessing you don't use Battleships either, correct?.
     
  6. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I will use Cruisers as escorts for transports. I used to just use Destroyers, but cruisers have the same speed as Transports, so it is easier for me. If I have DD's and do not need transports, I make neither CA or BB.

    I fill fool around at times and make a BB, if I have a situation where they arrive close to my shores, but not reach them. Then a BB can hammer better and get back.
    Their lower movement and high cost makes them no so desired by me.

    The screen shot of CAII did not show slaves, only workers. So I took that to mean they were gone. Anyway I very seldom get rid of native workers. Especially in Monarchy as I know I will be able to have all the free unit support I want in no time.

    If I was in Republic, I may get in a spot were I dump a few and pop them out later. Not common though.

    Subs are a problem in that they can get run into and trigger a war, that I did not want. They are slow and weak, so why make them. I really do not use naval forces that much. Yes there are always exceptions and you could park one as a spotter, I think I have done that 2 or 3 times in all these years.

    Even on an island map, I just want to escort my invasion fleet, not fight at sea. A few pings is enough and later a couple well placed bombers. Maybe 2 or 3 DD's placed in the right locations.

    I am not wanting to prevent landing, just them bombarding. The landings are good for my leader fishing. Exception is an island Sid game, the landings can become a serious issue.
     
  7. Snarkhunter

    Snarkhunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    485
    Location:
    Annapolis
    Half speed, once you get RepParts.

    kk
     
  8. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    You just use 2 slaves where you would have used 1 native worker.
     
  9. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    What's a "BB", "CA" and "DD"?. :blush:

    I ran into that problem with subs a few times, especially in the narrow area's. I like making wolf packs and use them to patrol. Good for when the enemy has Frigates, and transports moving about.

    Good point, I should do that. I normally sink them before they have a chance.
     
  10. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    VMXA, you could just upload the file to MediaFire. It easy to signup, you upload the file then use the link provided to post it in a thread.

    "SSL encryption is restricted for MediaPro customers only."
     
  11. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I got a failure on the email delivery. I will try it without the large attachment to see, if I have the address correct. Not much interested in signup to places.

    Don't forget that you will have times where landings are fine and times were they are not fine. It tends to come down to either cost or laziness for me. I get to where I could have boats all over the place, but I just do ot want to make them and move them, just so they can sit.
     
  12. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    I'll let you know if I recieved it, haven't got it yet. I re-checked the sent PM and the address was correct.
     
  13. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I sent over some small attachments to see, if it was the size. I suspect it was the executable. If the test works, I will zip it so the server will not reject it. I am pretty sure that is the issue.
     
  14. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Yeah, it needs to be a zip file. I use IZArc to compress files.
     
  15. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I actually misread the name and had a Q instead of a G, so one more try with a small attachment.
     
  16. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Some info on Windows Live Hotmail...

    Can't download or send attachments

    Windows Live Hotmail doesn't support all file types. If you send an attachment that Windows Live Hotmail doesn't support, the e-mail recipient won't be able to download or open the attachment. You can't unblock a blocked attachment after it's been sent. However, to send or receive an unsupported file type as an attachment, use one of the following methods, or ask the person sending you the attachment to do so:

    *

    Compress the file.

    Show me how
    Use a zipped folder or a third-party compression program to compress the file, and then attach it to your e-mail message as a .zip file. See your software documentation for information about how to compress a file.
    *

    Change the file name extension to .txt.

    Show me how
    1. Locate the file that you want to attach, right-click the file, and then click Rename.
    2. Type txt in place of the original file name extension, and then press ENTER.
    3. Attach the renamed file to your e-mail message. Remember to tell the recipient how to change the file name extension back after they download the attachment to their computer.
    *

    Upload the file to Windows Live SkyDrive.

    Show me how

    SkyDrive is a free service that you can use to store and share your files online with friends or with anyone in the world. Use any computer connected to the Internet to access your files, and share your public files or folders with anyone by e-mailing them a link to the file or folder. You can upload files up to 50 MB in size, and you receive a total of 5 gigabytes (GB) of online storage space.

    To get started with SkyDrive, go to the Windows Live SkyDrive website.

    Notes

    * Some e-mail programs, such as Microsoft Outlook, block certain types of attached files to help protect against viruses. You'll be notified if you attach a file that others may not be able to open.
    * For a free Windows Live Hotmail account, the maximum size for an attachment is 10 MB. For a paid Windows Live Hotmail account, the maximum size for an attachment is 20 MB. The size limit includes the message, encoding, and the attachment, if you added one.
    * The maximum number of attachments for each e-mail message is 50.
    *

    Windows Live Hotmail doesn't support the following file types. Your operating system, firewall, or other software may also cause additional file types to be blocked.
    .ade .adp .app .asp .bas
    .bat .cer .chm .cmd .com
    .cpl .crt .csh .exe .fxp
    .hlp .hta .inf .ins .isp
    .its .js .jse .ksh .lnk
    .mad .maf .mag .mam .maq
    .mar .mas .mat .mau .mav
    .maw .mda .mdb .mde .mdt
    .mdw .mdz .msc .msi .msp
    .mst .ops .pcd .pif .prf
    .prg .pst .reg .scf .scr
    .sct .shb .shs .tmp .url
    .vb .vbe .vbs .vsmacros .vss
    .vst .vsw .ws .wsc .wsf
    .wsh
     
  17. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    The email was sent, it contained two images.
     
  18. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Did it have a log as well? The suite are msi files.
     
  19. Illuminous

    Illuminous Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Yes, sorry, the log.txt file also. I see that you owned the American's. :)
     
  20. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Did the other two parts come in ok?
     

Share This Page