1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Beta Patch - April 7th (4-7)

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Recursive, Apr 7, 2020.

  1. Jiggly

    Jiggly Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    187
    Also what would be considered the last stable beta that most people are using? I really on play with 3rd and 4th unique component. And Meaningful Colors although I would be surprised if that was the CTD problem mod.
     
  2. MIS

    MIS Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Philly,
    I didn't have have any other CTD. Sometimes my games "Alt+Tab" to desktop when I press next turn, without crashing, but I'm not worried.
     
  3. JamesNinelives

    JamesNinelives Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,534
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Should be fine IMO. I experienced that crash in the past but it doesn't seem to have any other associated issues :).

    (I just more or less never open the advisor screen. I think opening it via the hotkey can also cause a CTD sometimes which is annoying if you're not aware of what happened.)
     
  4. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,229
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    @HeathcliffWarriors Have you ever planned to add typical Alliance to the game? Declaration of Friendship is quite close to that, but... nah, and Defense Pact is quite different thing.
     
  5. Recursive

    Recursive Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    I've thought of adding a permanent alliance mechanic to the game, as in Civ 6, disabled by default, but that can be enabled in Advanced Game Options. Permanent alliance would change players into teammates. Did you mean something else?
     
  6. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    worksop
    I think he meant from like the civ 3 days, military alliance, where you do it through trade deal. They replaced it with defensive pact now. But with a military alliance in civ 3 if your ally went to war you went to war with them, not just in defense like the defensive pact.
     
    JamesNinelives, jdevo and vyyt like this.
  7. Recursive

    Recursive Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmm, an aggressive pact? :)
    Will consider.
     
    JamesNinelives and vyyt like this.
  8. Bromar1

    Bromar1 King

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    846
    There are a few problems with declaring war on bullies. Diplomatically, everyone treats you as the aggressor. So if the bully has defensive pacts, they will be added to the war and any of your DP allies will not be. If anything, it should be 1-on-1 with no DP allies
    Also you get warmonger penalty for declaring war.

    @HeathcliffWarriors is there a way to make a "special" DoW that ignores DPs on both sides and ignores warmonger penalty for declaring?
     
    JamesNinelives and vyyt like this.
  9. MontyJava

    MontyJava Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2020
    Messages:
    41
    Alliances were somewhat game-breakingly OP in Civ 4, and would be a crapshoot with the current diplo since it's so fluid. Civ 4 you'd pick a particularly strong neighbor usually and spend half the game cultivating them into an alliance partner, then just crush the later game. Instead of having to actually overcome your most challenging rival you'd "join them" and nullify the hardest and most rewarding part of a typical playthrough. I cheesed a lot of games while I was still learning the game doing that.

    Like in my current game I'm next to Washington (his only border at that), and he's an absolute aggressive beast to have to contend with right now (ofc he's DPd the only real expansion opportunity I have). If I knew I could just "join forces" at, whatever age it was, Renaissance, the game would go far differently. I'd basically just be his right hand man, lollygag about as a 3rd party to whatever wars he wanted, ally him, and crush the lategame.

    It's extremely hard to balance and handle the diplo of. And you get a musical chairs situation a lot of games where your first choice for whatever reason doesn't like you enough, and then you're rushing about chasing down an ally while #1 and #2 just joined forces into an unstoppable bloc.
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  10. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    5,484
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Only just updated to 4-7 now.

    ... why did you make this such a pain in the ass? I have to go through each individual folder and replace files folder-by-folder. Why on earth didn't you just make a full (1) Community Patch and (2) Balance Patch, and then people just click and drag those 2 folders into their MODS folder?
     
  11. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    5,484
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  12. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,017
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Maybe just be thankful that other people stepped up to manage distribution while I'm absent? :thumbsup:

    G
     
  13. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    worksop
    I know it's annoying, but like I said I'm sure it's for balance reasons. You have to weigh up your decision of whether or not the CS is worth the diplomatic hit or not.

    Alternatively, you could of course just denounce.
     
  14. ashendashin

    ashendashin King

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    985
    Well, to be fair, he did go and do and set up the folders himself
    As far as I can tell it was in fact as simple as overwriting the 3-15 version with the two folders along with the added hassle of dropping the 4-10 dll in the CP...
     
  15. usadefcon1

    usadefcon1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    158
    I would agree that if you come to the defense of a CS, the defensive pact of the aggressor nation should not trigger. Diplomatically the aggressor nation should be looked at as the bad guy.

    Not a fan of alliances. Nations should be convinced (or bribed) to go to war, it shouldn't be automatic.
     
    Legen and tommytoxen like this.
  16. Recursive

    Recursive Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, this is possible. Although, I wouldn't implement it for merely bullying a City-State, now that Mongolia's annexing ability is removed. For wars on allied City-States, I could potentially implement this, although it'll require changes to the UI and leader dialogue, which I'm not doing at this stage (hopefully soon, though; it's among my priorities after better logging and memory management).
     
    tommytoxen likes this.
  17. ausberg

    ausberg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Anyone else experiencing an unavoidable crash when ending on a specific turn on the 4-10 patch? I have tried reloading to earlier auto-saves, re-saving, reloading, etc., and it still crashes on the same turn. I had this same issue on my last play-through but was able to "fix it" by reloading an earlier auto-save--that doesn't seem to work this time around. Any suggestions?
     
  18. Recursive

    Recursive Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    Crashes should be reported on the mod's Github page, ideally along with the logs and CvMiniDump file. I fixed one of them for the next version, but there were several reported.

    https://github.com/LoneGazebo/Community-Patch-DLL/issues
     
    vyyt likes this.
  19. ausberg

    ausberg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    All right, will do. Thanks
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  20. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,207
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    And if you want to salvage your current game, you can use IGE and delete the civ / unit / city causing it. It often works, but identifying the problem can be tedious. If it CTDs during a specific AI's turn, try deleting the whole civ (if it does not work, then try the AI civ whose turn is before and after). Once you identify the civ, reload and try deleting its units / or cities. Better try with deleting whole groups of them, 1 by 1 would be a nightmare.
     
    tommytoxen likes this.

Share This Page