1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New units for Colonization

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by Schmiddie, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Folks,

    I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    Please find attached the following unit as my Christmas present:

    The Governor



    The model ist also part of our latest version of RaR, Release 2.2.

    Regards

    Schmiddie
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Marla_Singer

    Marla_Singer United in diversity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    12,877
    Location:
    Paris, west side (92).
    Nice one Schmiddie. :)
    Congratulations for all you've done.
     
  3. vetiarvind

    vetiarvind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Chennai, South India
    I liked the event that came with the governor as well. Although, at first I thought the governor would act like a spy and support the loyalists, but it's good that he works for the colonies. :)
     
  4. Kathy

    Kathy Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    I have a problem with using your Seventy-Four Ship of the line with Civilization4.

    When I use it, I have to remove the skin partition to avoid the game to crash. But when I do so, the whole ship is painted in team color, which is okay for some colours, but for the most ones it is really ugly. Do you know how to solve this problem? I had the same problem for several ships, but not for all, and I could not fid the reason till now.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    I have noticed some days ago when I started a new game that the unit has a mistake - however, I could not find the problem so far.

    I will post here as far as I get it.
     
  6. Kathy

    Kathy Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    That would be great, as this problem also occurs with some Civ4 units (also the original ship-of-the-line).
     
  7. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    Download has been updated.

    However, there was - maybe - only a little problem with the animation. This should work correctly now.

    @ Kathy

    Sorry, but I cannot help you in this regard. Due to the fact that I never play or mod civilisation I don't know how to solve this issue. I assume it has something to do with the shader. :dunno: But this should be a general issue with civ:col units in civilisation.
     
  8. Kathy

    Kathy Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Most colonization units can be used in Civilization, after removing the skin partition. But some ships (even from original civilization or made from users for civilization) have this strange behavior. The Caravel you imported from Civ5, for example, is working very well, but I could not find what is different.
    Never mind, I will us a Frigate reskin for this ussue, event if it is not so pretty looking as your ship of the line.
     
  9. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,986
    I asked orlanth to take a look at this thread. He made textures for terrain for both BTS and colo. I read something about this problem at some point and I think orlanth wrote about it, but I'm not quite sure. We will see what he says when he shows up.

    If he can't, then it will be a matter of searching the forum. Hopefully somewhere in the vast history of the forum, somebody actually posted the answer and a working solution.
     
  10. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,759
    Hallo Kathy :king:

    The best tutorial for getting Civ4 units into Civ4Col is Deliverator's here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=317419. (This includes tips on how to resolve the "team color" problem, I'm not sure if this will help importing the reverse direction from Civ4Col to Civ4, but it's worth a try.) :)

    In case that doesn't solve it, the other common problem I have found with textures is that the Civ4 NIF contains some references to DDS textures that are present in the Art/Shared folder of the game you are importing from, but these DDS files are absent from the game you import to. (of course that issue can be solved by opening the NIF in nifskope to look through what DDS textures are listed in the NIF file, then finding the missing DDS file and copying it to your unit folder when importing.) Hope this helps & happy modding! :scan::borg:
     
  11. Kathy

    Kathy Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Thank you for the great tip, Orlanth! The tutorial included the solution of the teamcolor problem!
     
  12. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Folks,

    after a long time of absence I have made three new models.

    They can - for example - used as "marauders" oder "bandits" which are lurking around the colonies... :D



    Hope you like it. Feel free to use it in your mod!
     

    Attached Files:

    devolution and Kailric like this.
  13. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Good job Schmiddie ;)
     
  14. Willi_Tell

    Willi_Tell praefectus praetorio

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    City of the Bears, Switzerland
    Nice to see you modding again, Schmiddie! :crazyeye:

    Very good job on these units, as always! :) :clap:
     
  15. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Folks,

    today I'd like to show one of my units I built for myself:



    This is possible with Blender, Nifskope and Milkshape,.. great opportunities for new units if someone has some time to do it. However, obviously no possibility for publishing it.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page