1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Civilization V Steamworks FAQ

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by 2K Greg, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Paavo13

    Paavo13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    What update version is the latest (available from Steam)? Where can I see what is the version I'm using?
     
  2. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
  3. CMKMStephens

    CMKMStephens Serious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    New Zealand
    How the hell do I stop Steam from updating? If I set it to 'do not automatically update', clicking on play just results in it starting to update again and changing the setting to 'keep this game up to date'. Bloody hell.
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,972
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    From the OP:

     
  5. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    I wonder why its always been so broken for Civ5, it works great with TF2 and a couple of other games for me :/
     
  6. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    I found something that should help people having problems with Offline mode or don't want to go online at all. I do not know how well this works to stop the update process.

    http://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Steam#Always_Force_Offline_Mode

    Always Force Offline Mode

    Forcing Offline Mode will make Steam to always open in Offline Mode, even with a working internet connection. A prompt will appear and the options Retry and Offline Mode will show up. Retry will simply restart Steam and cause the same menu options to come up, whereas Offline Mode will take one into the Steam game library.

    This step still requires the authentication to be carried out.

    Create or edit the
    Code:
    steam.cfg
    in this folder (the same folder as the steam.exe):

    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Steam\ 
    Enter the following and save:

    Code:
    BootStrapperInhibitAll=enable 
    Code:
    ForceOfflineMode=enable
     
  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,972
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Does it work like intented?
     
  8. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
  9. Mr.WorldWide

    Mr.WorldWide Smugly Inferior

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Central USA
    Fully updated steam client....I cannot even find steam.cfg :rolleyes:

    Perhaps you should test this stuff before posting that it works.
     
  10. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    You can't find it because you don't have one and need to create it. Perhaps you should carefully reread the instructions before posting that it is wrong :)
     
  11. Mr.WorldWide

    Mr.WorldWide Smugly Inferior

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Central USA
    lol, I see now. :mischief: What you say sorta works, but not entirely. After creating "steam.cfg" as per your instructions, Steam now gives me the option to start in offline mode but when I confirm it steam says no internet connection is available and terminates with a link to contact steam "support".

    Anyone know why this is happening? :crazyeye:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. timtofly

    timtofly One Day

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,445
    I was always under the assumption, that steam has to have an internet connection when closing it to go offline. Now if you were online when you went offline, then steam did not set the internal code (on your computer) that it is offline (properly) and is still going to give that error until it can go online and correct the flag that thinks it needs to be online.
     
  13. baseballpie

    baseballpie Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,090
    Whenever I try to access steam, it says:
    Steam.exe (main exception): CMulitiFieldBlob(pSerialized): Bad field - extends past end of blob

    Can you tell me what to do?
     
  14. timtofly

    timtofly One Day

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,445
    Delete steam from your computer and then reload it?
     
  15. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    Googling it gives:
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1304575

    I'd suggest this first:
    and if that doesn't work
    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=3093-MKUJ-5773
     
  16. rover68

    rover68 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    I have been unable to access BNW CIV5 since the 10/27 update on my Windows 8 PC.
    Each time I try to access the game, a receive a message from STEAM Stating:

    I have re-started the PC, I even disabled McAfee real time scanning, scheduled scanning, and firewall. Nothing changes.

    Oddly, on my Windows 7 Laptop with AVG, I can access it ok.

    Has anybody else had this problem or is familiar with it?
    If so, do you know how to resolve?

    If not, is there anyway or place I can go to get some service?
    STEAM has no live technical support, I've posted this on numerous message boards, and this is not the first time I've had STEAM cause unresolved issues.
    I find the whole customer service model very frustrating, as the burden is on the user it appears to be the IT Tech.
     
  17. rover68

    rover68 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    I have to say, I really hate STEAM and it is unfortunate CIV is run through it.
    I'm not an id10t, but I'm also not a programmer.
    If you are going to charge people $50 for a game, you should have LIVE customer support via phone or some other useful, responsive interface.

    This is the 3rd+ time since August, when I bought the game, that I have had problems which the simple STEAM FAQ/other recommended "troubleshooting" sites have been unable to solve.
    This is the kind of thing where for end users, we could use some LIVE support.
    I am extremely frustrated and nerved that STEAM has the chutzpah to basically say "Fix it yourself" for a paid product.
     
  18. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    Despite angst folks have about Steam, I've never had any issues (fingers crossed), and frankly have appreciated things like fast and easy live updates and mods. (Thus, I can't comment about poor customer service, as I've never had to avail myself of them.)

    So, by and large, I like the distribution via Steam.
     
  19. rover68

    rover68 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    I hate it...7 days later...and on my Windows 8 PC I STILL CANNOT PLAY THE GAME!!!!

    I uninstalled McAfee...turned off the firewall and STILL!!!
     
  20. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    Obviously, those weren't the issue. :confused:
     

Share This Page