1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Civilization V Steamworks FAQ

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by 2K Greg, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. agoodfella

    agoodfella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    USA
    Question regarding the 8GB HD space:

    If I wanted to have the game files installed on another partition of my HD (e.g. D drive) is this possible?

    I assume that there will still be some number of files installed onto my C drive, and I am curious what is the minimum size available required (space) on my C drive.

    I hope that makes sense. In other words, I have reserved space on a partitioned portion of my HD for Civ V. I am hoping the bulk of game files can be installed there? If so, I was wondering what the amount of C drive files (if any) will still be required by the install via Steam?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Wezqu

    Wezqu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Finland
    Well I have it like this. I like to keep all my games on my D: drive. So I installed Steam on the D: drive as you can't change the place where steam installs the games as it always installs them under steam location. Still nothing stops you from installing the program to drive you want the games in.
     
  3. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    My understanding is that when you install the Steam client you can tell it where to store games it manages. This can be on any partition.
    The only restriction, of which I am aware, is that you cannot split the games across partitions i.e. all Steam games have to go in one location (as specified when you install the client).

    (Also...you can move the games to another location later but it seems this is a non-trivial exercise involving uninstalling and reinstalling the Steam client)
     
  4. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    Your wrong, Steam always installs the games in the Steam app's folder which is in the Steam folder where ever you installed Steam too.

    However yes their is some method of moving Steam games and still having them work after installation if you say have limited space on your Drive with Steam, but I dont personally know how to do it. I know you will need to re-validate Steam though afetr doing it.
     
  5. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    :confused: That's what I thought I said, I even said in the next sentence that moving the folder requires reinstalling the Steam client in a new location.
     
  6. agoodfella

    agoodfella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the replies! Looks like I should uninstall and re-install my Steam app into that partition.
     
  7. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    Well what you said is slightly different, you said when you install Steam you get to choose where you Install games, what you should of said was, Games Installed are where you Installed Steam, So Install Steam where you want your games Stored. :D

    .................

    As to another guys question who asked, "If I install Steam & Civ5 in D Drive, how many files if any will Steam install in C drive", well the answer to that is simple, it will just install like registry files and other needed windows files, I can't say I know what they are for sure, or how many will be installed, but they will all be very small files, in the kilobytes if that, the main files, the game's core files, all saved game files (unless its some weird game that likes to save games in my documents :S), any patches or downloaded content, or mods, all goes into the Steam folder in D drive.
     
  8. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, when you install Steam, you've got the option to install it e.g. on your D: drive. All games using SteamWorks will automatically be installed into the SteamApps subdirectory. You cannot deviate from the SteamApps directory without doing some high level systems administration.

    D:\Steam
    D:\Steam\SteamApps\
    D:\Steam\SteamApps\Civilization5\


    (most likely it'll be something like ..\SteamApps\Sid Meyer's Civilization V made by Firaxis and published by 2K to make another huge directory name\, but you get the drift)
     
  9. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    actually it will probably just be Sid Meyer's Civilization V. ^.^
     
  10. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    879
    Location:
    Rome
    It's easy to move Steam installation to another location, I moved mine from C to D without any problems. I don't remember how I did it, just read the FAQ on Steam website, but it was very easy.
     
  11. Tarkhan

    Tarkhan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    If it's like other Steam games, it will be in the folder noted above, and it'll have folders in My Documents somewhere that store saved games/mods etc specific to the current user.
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    29,758
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Moderator Action: No discussion, no rants, etc. in here. Only questions and answers.

    8 posts moved to this thread.
     
  13. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Right.

    My brother bought a game off Steam today. It downloaded fine, but all that would happen when he clicked on the desktop icon for the game, it would take him to the game page on the website. Same thing when he clicked on 'Play Game'. What I want to know is:

    a. Are we doing something wrong?
    B. Will Civ V have the same issues?
     
  14. Wezqu

    Wezqu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Finland
    What game are you talking about would be nice to know.
     
  15. Psyringe

    Psyringe Scout

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    I'm sorry if this question has already been answered, but I just started to get some info about Civ5 and there's something that would pretty much shock me if it were true, so I'd like a clarification.

    So, if I buy a boxed copy of Civ5 at a store - is it true that I'd still have to depend on the mercy of a third party beyond my control (Steam) to actually let me activate and play the game that I already bought? Further, is it true that when I change my hardware, and/or want to play a game of Civ5 many years from now (I just yesterday played a game of MoO1, which is 17 years old, so long-term availability is an important aspect for me), I again have to depend on said third party to still be around and allowing me to activate the game I bought?
     
  16. Wezqu

    Wezqu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Finland
    As said earlier if for some reason steam would go down permanently. 2k Games has stated that they would release a patch that would let you play without it. Also once you activate the game you don't have to activate it again as its tied to that account you used to activate it. So with steam you only have to remember your account info and if steam is still around in 18 years the game will still be there to be downloaded under your account. You would not even need the disc.
     
  17. Psyringe

    Psyringe Scout

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Thanks for the info. Is that a part of the license or is that just a non-binding statement of intent? I'm asking because in my experience, when push comes to shove, non-binding statements of companies who already have my money turned out to be of rather dubious value.

    So the FAQ in the first post is wrong? It specifically states:

    I suspect that if I want to install Civ5 on a PC many years from now, then that would certainly count as "changed hardware"?
     
  18. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes. You have to activate once.
    Yes, you have to validate once on each new computer you install it on. If you install it on a different computer after 17 years, then you have to validate again (once). If you kept your 17 year old computer in a box on your attic and all you do is plug the power into your computer again, you do not have to validate.
     
  19. Sneaky Snake

    Sneaky Snake GDR Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Wait, so even the retail version requires Steam?
     
  20. Guardian_PL

    Guardian_PL Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Yes, as said many, many times. You install the game, install Steam, validate installation once, then you can set Steam to work in offline mode and can play even on a deserted island if you want.


    My question is (it's a tricky one methinks):
    Are there regional limitations on Steam? If I'd buy the game in the UK (before release), then move to Poland and try to get Civ5 to work on a release date will Steam let me? What if I'd to buy Digital Edition? Anyone knows?
     

Share This Page