1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Orbis - Questions and Suggestions

Discussion in 'Orbis Modmod' started by Ahwaric, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. Apeiron

    Apeiron Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    About the Calabims, I think they are too powerfull and it is strange than the favorite wonder of Flauros is useless for him. Maybe they should have hammer only for the unhappy citizen and not the total unhappiness, but to balance that they can have the bonus of the manor AND the Pillars (so 2 hammers per unhappy citizen).
     
  2. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,667
    I have to ask this to know if it's just some deficiency on my part but to me the Copter unit (Machinos UU) seems rather underpowered.

    The Zeppelin does all the Copter does and it does it better while the difference in cost is not that huge. By the time you get to Copters and Zeps you will already have all your cities running at at least +100 from factories and power plants so I can really see no use for them in my strategy.


    And the Calibim are far from overpowered. While they can indeed get some power from the mentioned Pillar it relies on getting that one wonder and its for one city only. If you think they are OP try upping your difficulty level...
     
  3. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,178
    Location:
    Kael's head
    It annoys me when an -s is added to pluralize an already plural word. Calabim is the Hebrew word for Dogs, with the -im being a plural ending.

    In my version, the Calabim have a Pillar of Chains UB that gives a free Governor's Manor in every city. (My version typically makes them weaker sooner, but potentially much stronger later.)
     
  4. AgentTBC

    AgentTBC Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    I'm trying out Dao for the first time so am a little confused. What is "elemental ancestry" and how do I get it? I'm trying to use the Elemental Swarm ability but I don't have any guys with Elemental Ancestry so it's kind of weak.
     
  5. Kalina

    Kalina Just lurking...

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    It is a promotion your spellcasters other then Hermit get - so Conjurer (at Sorcery), Elementalist (at Strength of Will) and Shugenja (at Commune with Nature). Dao hero, Sanari Shu Lien starts with Air Ancestry.
    It's free but you can have only one Ancestry chosen from four options. Each gives you little bonus to strength (about +1), some resistances and allows you to summon permanent elemental of chosen type (one per spellcaster). It also unlocks spells from chosen type - now it unlocks all spells, so your Conjurer can learn level III spell long before spellcasters from other civs can.
     
  6. Kalina

    Kalina Just lurking...

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Don't be angry with us, Hebrew is not very popular language :) I, for example, am not very comfortable about making plurals in English, not to mention Hebrew :)
    I like the idea of civ-unique wonders - and there are probably some more (like a City of a Thousand Slums for Kuriotates ?) that can be improved this way.
     
  7. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Load RifE, check out the 'Gardens of Amatheon' CoaTS UB. :p
     
  8. AgentTBC

    AgentTBC Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    It's free but you can have only one Ancestry chosen from four options. Each gives you little bonus to strength (about +1), some resistances and allows you to summon permanent elemental of chosen type (one per spellcaster). It also unlocks spells from chosen type - now it unlocks all spells, so your Conjurer can learn level III spell long before spellcasters from other civs can.

    Thanks! The Conjurer may be able to learn level III spells long before other civs, but it looks to me like it's a lot more difficult for Dao to get Conjurers than for other civs to get Sorcerers, yes? Since Hermits don't start with Channeling I and you have to be level 4+ to upgrade a hermit to Channeling? Gonna be tough to run a bunch of 3 strength hermits to level 4.
     
  9. hbar

    hbar Constant

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    So I'm about halfway through my first Orbis game and I thought I'd give some thoughts and impressions. I'm playing as the Sidar, their emergent leader (forgot the name). I managed to get Philisophical and Ingenuity on the same turn, making me Def/Phi/Ing. Yes, please! I'm running a GP farm in my capital, and I have the great library there as well as three shrines (FoL, RoK, and CoE).

    It is difficult to get used to the new resource yields, and the higher food requirements make it more difficult to get hammers in the early game. Particularly with the Survival vs. Agrarianism choice, growth is just too important to give up for long. It seems like the other civ choices are too far out, and it is easy to become dependent on the +1:food: from Ag. Then again, this isn't much different from vanilla FfH, I just don't have a coherent civic strat yet :D

    One thing I really like about the higher food requirements is that you are forced to really think about city placement. It seems much more realistic, with rivers, coast, and food resources being the main factors instead of plains hills. In my current game, I have a large plains area with no rivers running through it to my east. It has remained a wilderness so far, a vast savannah for my Rangers to train on. (And now that I have the Baron, a werewolf petting zoo :lol: )

    All told, I really like this mod. It feels more realistic without losing the fantasy setting, and it makes drastic changes to the economy without destroying balance (disclaimer: I have yet to found any guilds). All of the additions have been well thought out, and the game runs just as fast (maybe faster) than FfH. However...

    The AI is far far FAR too passive. It is turn 290 (normal speed) and there has not been a single war. By fluke of the RNG, all the starting civs are evil or neutral, but that is no excuse. There have been GG's spawning, so the AIs must be fighting barbs, but they are content to turtle and expand, and so am I. A great way to learn the tech tree and economy, but in my next game I will want something a little more exciting.

    Also, I have not discovered a single new resource yet. Since I am running a specialist economy, I have mostly farms, yurts, and quarries, but not a single pop in 290 turns. Is it dependent on Earth mana still? Or creation mana? Is there a way to increase the chance, and if so is it documented?

    I know automated workers are a no-no, but I put a few on 'build trade network' and when I wasn't looking, they built forts on all my unconnected resources. Bwah?

    Also, don't know if it is a cosmetic error or a mechanic change, but when I got industrious from a republic vote, the mouseover read "Increases wonder production by 10%" Hopefully a typo and not a nerf, otherwise I'd have taken the great sage...

    Other then those few minor complaints, this is the most stable, speedy, and well balanced major-modmod I've played. Great job, thanks for all the effort you've put in, and keep up the hard work! :goodjob:

    EDIT: Unwholesome addiction should not be able to kill. I had a highly promoted hunter who had just killed Curley in Scion lands, and was en route to the Scion capital to heal when he disappeared with only a notification to identify where he had gone. His half-drained healing potion, however, was able to remain and spy on the Scions for the rest of the game :lol:
     
  10. Iskar Jarak

    Iskar Jarak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Nantucket
    what are the tech reqs for the Scions of Orbis to get reborn from razing cities?
     
  11. Jarrema

    Jarrema Master Voter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,196
    Location:
    At home
    Not necessarilly so. Hermits are "disciples", not arcane units :)
    So, You can build some levels of Altar of Luonnatar, and they will get free xp from it.
    If You would also build Training Yard in the same city, and run some civics that give free xp... You can produce hermits, that are ready to upgrade to conjurers on the turn one :)

    Additionaly, if You are playing as Yinxi (what You should do), they get free "potency" promotion, and they DO gain xp on their own
     
  12. AgentTBC

    AgentTBC Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    If it had occurred to me that they were disciple units and not arcane units I would have done so. I think I will be starting over ASAP :)
     
  13. arkham4269

    arkham4269 Court Writer - Orbis Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I know it has been said over and over, and over again in the AI thread, but I agree about the AI being too passive. Trying a quick game as Scions and I managed to cut off Decius of the Calabim on a peninsula. He had two choices, neither of which did he take.

    First off while I had the bulk of my army dealing with lots of skeletons and trolls, he could have tried to swarm my nearest city. Not sure if he could have won, but the base vanilla Civ AI would have tried. Secondly, he could go hell for leather to get ships because there was an island he could colonize and I think us as a stepping stone to colonize more. He didn't do that either.

    The third option, which came later, is when I open my border to him. Since Scions don't expand much, much of the land mass we shared was still open; he could have easily gotten 2-3 cities on the other side, 4 if he'd hustled and taken out the barb city before I did.

    Again, I'm noticing the AI acts like a vampire; it can't cross open water. There is 1 to 2 (I haven't really checked) land masses that are almost completely open and can be traveled to by galley, and yet Decius sits there in his one city...wasting the one settler I know he has.

    Another note, what is up with the way Orbis places Civs? This game is small, tectonics, with the ocean set on 60% and still I have two major land masses that are roughly the same as the one I'm on and they have NOT ONE Civ on the. No, the game crunches up most of the other players. Even on small, I play with 6 civs (2 good, 2 evil, 2 neutral) and it always seems like 4 Civs get put on top of each other, the other two off together somewhere and the rest of the world is empty. This wouldn't be bad if the AI actually tried to colonize but it doesn't so a lot of the world gets "wasted" if I, the human player, don't feel like colonizing it myself. I know once I use the Scion world spell I'll probably end up with a continent to myself and what ever barbs are there.
     
  14. AgentTBC

    AgentTBC Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Can someone explain how the Dimensional III tier spell Teleportation works? I cast it with an archmage on a stack and everybody in the stack gets the promotion "teleportation" which lasts one turn, but I don't actually see the promotion do anything. I don't get a new button for teleporting the unit or anything like that. So how do I use it?
     
  15. Kalina

    Kalina Just lurking...

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    IIRC it should add +4 to teleportation range of units that already have teleportation, gained by being in city with Gate. It's not very useful, it wouldn't be even for lvl 2 spell, not to mention level 3 :)
     
  16. AgentTBC

    AgentTBC Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    That's an absolutely terrible tier 3 spell. I'm still confused how its supposed to work. As far as I can tell, Gate lets you teleport from one city to any other city. How does adding +4 to teleportation range matter since you can't teleport except into cities anyway?
     
  17. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Isn't it actually Air Drop range? So the unit can 'teleport' within 4 tiles of itself?
     
  18. Kalina

    Kalina Just lurking...

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Just checked it (well, should have before writing anything...). It doesn't work, it adds promo to all units in stack, but it doesn't do anything - no airdrop possible, inside or outside city. It's a bug, I think.
     
  19. mcwill123

    mcwill123 Pretender to the Throne

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,379
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austin Texas, USA
    Sometimes my priests can remove the hellish attributes from lands and sometime they can't. I've tried it a couple (or maybe even three) turns in a row, with no success. Do I have to pillage the tile first in this case? Or does it sometimes take many turns?
     
  20. Kalina

    Kalina Just lurking...

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Is it grayed out and unavailable or just doesn't work ?
     

Share This Page