Patch 1.0.1.383 Now Available, with Cross-Platform

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by AspyrRyan, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  2. fmlizard2

    fmlizard2 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    424
    Huzzah! About time...thanks for all the hard work at Aspyr. Now I can once again forget I even have a Windows install. Just the way it ought to be.
     
  3. Hyper Nova

    Hyper Nova Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    217
  4. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The Mac App version is not yet updated. The update has been submitted to Apple.
     
  5. Hyper Nova

    Hyper Nova Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    BTW Ryan just noticed this, I think you mean 1.0.1.383 (i.e. with the hotfixes) might want to change the title


    Also does this mean we can get the new Korea and Wonders DLC at last?
     
  6. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,435
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Well done, Aspyr :goodjob:

    My updated copy says it's version 1.0.1.383, so that's what I've put in the FAQ.

    Still no Mods menu.
     
  7. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That's what I get for posting on my day off.
     
  8. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,435
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
  9. Hyper Nova

    Hyper Nova Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Ok I anwsered my own question
    DLCs for Korea and Wonders do indeed work, Just brought them downloaded and was playing with korea and could access the new wonders (well they're in the Civlopedia haven't actually got beyond settling yet lol) and the scenarios.
     
  10. CGPanama

    CGPanama Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Many thanks Ryan and enjoy the rest of your day off (playing the updated version?).
     
  11. Cougarcat

    Cougarcat Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    I'll be the cynical one and say that by the end of the year, the game will be out of sync again.

    Seriously, though, this makes me very happy. I've been playing the game almost exclusively in Windows with my PC friends, and it'll be nice not to restart to play.
     
  12. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,435
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    If you want to play any mods, don't forget that you will need to edit the .lua file again:

    ~/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/sid meier's civilization v/assets/UI/FrontEnd/MainMenu.lua

    Change line 35 to:


    -- Controls.ModsButton:SetHide( true ); -- MAC_PORT - rickb Comment this line out to re-enable mods. Happy modding!
     
  13. MacPlayerJay

    MacPlayerJay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Does anyone know if the vanilla enhanced mod and unofficial patch work with mac?
     
  14. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,435
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    There should be no reason why any mod would fail on the Mac now that we are at feature parity with Windows.

    As far as I know, no one has discovered any of the issues with XML or LUA compatibility that plagued Civ4 mods, and of course, there is no custom DLL available to Windows modders ... yet.
     
  15. markovnikov

    markovnikov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Woohoo! :goodjob:

    I've been checking this forum daily, waiting for this anouncement.

    Now I can play that game with Askia I've been hanging out for. Was waiting for the new honour tree, so can really take advantage of his strengths. :D
     
  16. markovnikov

    markovnikov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    oh, and does anyone know if we can run the replay files now?

    I still have a trashed HOF. :p
     
  17. Helmling

    Helmling Philosopher King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,680
    Okay, I went down to King and even there, GEESH, the AI is more aggressive.
     
  18. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    How much time for the update to being validated ?

    First October ? or Last Day of September ?

    Maybe i dream far too, also :goodjob:
     
  19. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It's up to Apple. Could be this week, could be weeks. I'm certain we'll put it live as soon as we get approved.
     
  20. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Ok, will be patient if necessary :)

    And DLCs ? Are in form of in-app purchases ?

    Or a pack to buy separately like a regular App ?
     

Share This Page