1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Patch 1.20 To Be Released Soon [Released 8/1]

Discussion in 'CivRev - General Discussions' started by Padma, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    so how the heck am I supposed to patch the DS version:confused:?
     
  2. shadowplay

    shadowplay your ad here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,792
    Location:
    Toronto
    Outta luck there, sorry to say - the DS has no hard-drive and thus it's games aren't patchable.
     
  3. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113

    yipee! lucky me(and other DS owners)! NOT! :D
     
  4. Daedraug

    Daedraug Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    France
    The ability to save game in multiplayer game is the most critical feature in my opinion.

    I have a job and a girlfriend; I can’t spend several hours in a row playing a video game, and the situation is the same for my friends.

    We want to play together, but we don’t because we know we won’t have time to finish the game.

    This is very very frustrating.

    I understand you don’t want to let players save game in Game of the Week, but give us the right to manage our time with our friends please.

    Thank you
     
  5. obscurereferenc

    obscurereferenc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    I agree, PLEASE add this feature, it's desperately needed!
     
  6. Smidlee

    Smidlee Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,348
    The 1.20 patch is now out for the USA and for Europe Monday.
     
  7. tonycz

    tonycz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. Leopeo

    Leopeo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Not sure it fits here but I'm really annoyed that you can't get the achievements online, I mean, why not?:confused:
     
  9. Random Fires

    Random Fires Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Canada
    There's a number of players out there that play games strictly for the achievements. Often boosting in multiplayer games to achieve this, its a waste of bandwith, mucks up the leaderboards, alienates a regular player when joining their lobby. Also it can ruin game play while a player is off in a corner, trying to gain the ach. instead of intended game play, spoiling it for the rest.
    As a result,some game designers have opted for not assigning online achievements. CivRev isn't the first to this, COD4 also went this route to preserve intended game play, and has been rather successful.
    Anyways, hope that helps answer the question.
     
  10. Leopeo

    Leopeo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    I see, thanks for the answer.
     
  11. _hero_

    _hero_ King

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    795
    You guys are crazy if you are complaining that they patch. These patches are free. We already paid for the game. The developers are fixing problems they have found for free to make it better for us and you are complaining? Those of you who say the older games had less issues because they couldn't be patched aren't entirely right. The truth is we didn't know about many issues because there was never anyone announcing them. I found glitches and balance issues in tons of my games from back in the day.
     
  12. Random Fires

    Random Fires Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Canada
    Patching some small glitch or adjusting balancing is one thing, but having online functionality is an entirely different matter.
    The game for all intent, should work, as advertised without a patch. What your paying for in the store is what should work.
    My old games are on a cartridge, so they'll be no patching there. Lol, but they still functioned, as advertised. Since the game in question is on a disc, what's on that disc should allow you to play. If both versions cost the same, state they offer the same services, they should provide it. It's been a month, two for the UK.
    Whether I feel this borders on the criminal isn't really that important.
    If I feel you should receive a complete game on purchase isn't really a big deal.
    If I think the Patch and play mentality has gone too far, and some solid QA is really essential, that's not important.
    That a gaming site, read by many, endorses a product for TWO VERSIONS but fails to mention online play doesn't work on one of those versions... Yeah, I think that merits a some discussion or action.
    I really do hope the newest patch fixes the problem. I really do.
     
  13. Carch

    Carch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    What was shipped on the disc *did* work. It wasn't until the 1.10 patch, which was meant to prepare for downloadables, that the multiplayer matchmaking was broken.
     
  14. EmperorSnefix

    EmperorSnefix Emperor of Evil Empires

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    My evil tower, ruling with impunity
    Ha, tell that to Pakistan.
     
  15. Padma

    Padma the Absent Admin Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,419
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
  16. Snerk

    Snerk Smeghead

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,697
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway. You'll never leave
    And there was much rejoicing..
     
  17. logical_psycho

    logical_psycho Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    The patch is out, but I don't see any of the extras people were talking about. I guess we as Europeans are going to get sodomized once again. We pay more for the vanilla version of the game already and I bet we now have to shell out another 10 euros for some extra wonders?
     
  18. redifederal

    redifederal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    US of A
    muahahahhahahahahahhahahahah!! I would like to warn you all about patches. Uh any hopes that your game will work better in MP after the patch should just be self crushed right now. Each and every patch for BTS has caused massive connection oos issues that virtually make the game unplayable. However, if your patch works and they havent fixed the PC version yet I will be formally declaring war on Fireaxis (seriously fix my game please).
     
  19. MarkM

    MarkM Cow Herder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    America's Dairyland
    More agreement, in case it's needed. Though this is such an obvious need I can't believe it even needs to be pointed out.

    Then again I have the DS version, which can't be patched anyway, so I guess I just have to accept that I probably never ever will be able to play multiplayer CivRev with anyone, unless we happen to be in the same building THAT HAS POWER OUTLETS TO PREVENT BATTERIES RUNNING DEAD BEFORE GAME ENDS. Ohterwise we could end up playing 3 hours then just stand and watch helplessly, unalbe to save and play later, as one of our batteries runs dead before we can finish.

    I can believe the project leaders for the DS version in particular never thought of this ... it's just gross negligence. It's like designing a house without any bathrooms ... it's something you KNOW you're going to need as part of day-to-day living.
     
  20. Double Barrel

    Double Barrel Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Location:
    M.D.M.I.
    How do you know which version you have?

    Most Xbox Live updates automatically install when you load your game and are logged into Live. These updates install and re-start the game. It is obvious.

    This has not happened with Civ:Rev, though. So how do I know which version I have and if my game has been updated?
     

Share This Page