1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Patch 3.19 available

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Macintosh' started by ASH31, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Words of few syllables: I *have* submitted a set of changes needed to make BUG work on the Mac. The developers have *not* yet released a version that includes those changes.
     
  2. Blondel58

    Blondel58 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Klosterneuburg
    I think that is the reason why I can't open the DG save, since SP saves work fine, and my son told me that LAN games work too

    edit: Really strange - I could easily open the save of my PBEM :confused:
     
  3. dr_s

    dr_s Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    536
    Question: Do I have to finish or abandon my current 3.17 game before updating? Or will it open under 3.19?
     
  4. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    The 3.19 update completely wiped my save files.
     
  5. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Huh!?!? Not mine. I only had a couple, as I haven't played much, but they are both still there with their original creation dates.

    Where are you looking for them?
     
  6. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    Where I always find my save files. Documents.
     
  7. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    More precisely - ~/Documents/Civilization IV Beyond the Sword/Saves/Single/ ?
     
  8. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    Yes, that is correct. I don't seem to be very precise today. ;)
     
  9. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Do you run Time Machine? If so you can confirm whether that folder had anything in it before August 25 (and restore it, if needed).
     
  10. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    Once a month, yes. But, it was before I started this last game. I was curious to see if a save would play.
     
  11. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Why only once a month? Time Machine is magic, but is at its best when it runs frequently!

    Anyway, I loaded up a straight no-mod save I was playing in 3.17, and it loaded and plays OK in 3.19.
     
  12. Beamup

    Beamup Higgs boson

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Boston
    My Time Machine runs every hour - works quite nicely.
     
  13. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    USB or Firewire?

    I used it for the first time this summer when I got my new iMac. I bought a 1TB external HD. The first back-up took a couple hours. I admit, I keep planning to set a schedule up to run over night.
     
  14. dr_s

    dr_s Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    536
    The first backup takes a long time, but the rest are fairly invisible, since they're all incremental. You shouldn't have to schedule anything, just leave it on and let it do its thing.
     
  15. Beamup

    Beamup Higgs boson

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Boston
    Firewire. But like dr_s said, only the first backup takes a while. Typically my incrementals are under a minute, and I only notice if it's quiet enough for me to hear the external drive spin up.
     
  16. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Tanasi, USA
    Very well. I have renewed Time Machine backups.
     
  17. Chris14

    Chris14 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Aww, darn! I was hoping this would be removed too. I know it doesn't sound like much but it is a real pain to have to dig out the disc every time I want to play. Though I assume Aspyr did this for piracy reasons, seeing as the game is so newly released.
     
  18. Macintosh

    Macintosh Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    near Mannheim in Germany
    I can confirm the issue Blondel does have, it is the same for me. Trying to load this DG save results in Civ jumping to kingdom come.

    As I am one of the referees of this DG I do have some more possibilities to check this, thus I have done this:

    As the DG is running with a handcrafted map it is indeed more a szenario and not a standard game. In other words we created the map as a worldbuilder save, and while starting up the DG we have chosen the "New Szenario" option instead of the "New Game" option to select the DG's worldbuilder save. This happened on a Windows version.
    Now, this morning I did this again on my G5. Again I used "New Szenario", again I did load the wordbuilder save and again a regular PBEM Start save was build.
    Well, and this time it worked. I was able to play the first turn for all our teams without any issues.

    So, as far as I can judge, the issue has to be in this part of Civ where a regular PBEM save is build out of a worldbuilder save. Here must be a difference between the Mac and the Windows version as well in BtS as in warlords where we had experienced a similar behaviour with patch 213.

    Somebody around here who can confirm this, or disagree ?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. robjess

    robjess Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    hmm.. My automailer isnt working.. any ideas anyone?

    If I open a pbem save game from a mail attachment then the game wont load - BtS starts but the pbem game doesnt load. but if I save it to disc and then load it up from within CIV BtS it loads fine no problems.

    Also when I have my turn and click on send, it get a failed to send error. Yes my email address and mail server details are correct in Civ..

    At the moment I am saving pbem games to disc and loading them from within Civ and then also attaching them manually to send from within my mail client.. no biggie but I would prefer if it did work correctly - do if anyone has any ideas - I would appreciate their help..
     
  20. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    When you double click a file in the Finder (or a Mail attachment or whatever), the Operating System receives an Open FIle Apple Event message. It attempts to work out which application "owns" files with that extension, launches the application, and forwards the Open File event message to it.

    Unfortunately, the Civ4 game executables have not been written to respond to Apple Events such as Open File, so although the OS can recognise that a .Civ4BeyondSwordSave should be opened using BtS, and it can launch BtS, the Apple Event falls on deaf ears.

    I have not played PBEM games, but it is my guess that BtS doesn't know how to send the correct Apple Events to Mail, either. This would be needed to persuade Mail to create and send an email when you select that option.

    So I think you are probably stuck with doing it manually as you are currently. Note that there are some shortcuts that may help:

    You can put a shortcut to your ~/Documents/BtS/Saves/pbem/ folder in the Finder's left hand panel, or in the Dock at the right hand end. Drag and drop incoming Mail attachments onto that folder to put them where they need to be to open with the Load a Game menu option. When you have saved after your turn, just click that folder shortcut to show the list of saves, and then drag the new save onto your Mail icon in the Dock. That will open a new Mail message with the file already attached.
     

Share This Page