1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

PerfectWorld6 7

Map Script for Civ 6

  1. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    Is the elevation used in the script? On this screen you can see 10 plots of the main mountain range ( + some dispersed mountains) and there is 1 hill. Where is the country where 90% of the moutains sides are not hills but flat plains?

    Continued a littel and found the Mount Cervin, giving me an advantage when Moving on the hills…
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  2. Civologist

    Civologist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    82

    State of Colorado is literally flat plains leading straight into the Rockies as you travel west. I think the script calculates elevation and utilizes it but deosn't consider hills to be the same thing as higher elevation.
     
  3. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    There is an elevation map, but mountains in hills reflect differences in altitude, not actual altitude. For example, the Olympic Mountains next to Seattle are most assuredly mountains, yet the peak, at 8000 feet is actually lower than the lowest valley in Tibet. The hills might not be next to the mountains, but there should still be plenty for gameplay needs. Some hills are just really big, and look like mountains...:goodjob:
     
  4. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    I understand well concerning the relative altitude but I must be really unlucky because on most (near all) maps I generate the hills are very, very, very rarely sided with the mountains :D

    And as I desesperatly try to play Incas, with terrace farms bonus beeing mainly on hills near a mountain, it is very frustating :p

    For now I tried :
    - Incas in planet marsh
    - Incas of the jungle
    But had no success so I would try Incas on mountains to see if the civ is interesting...

    Else I'll retablish the initial script and will play Portugal or Kongo :D

    In my mind valleys are like this :
    Code:
    M     M
     H  H
      PP
    not like this :
    Code:
    M    M
     PPPP
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  5. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    You can try adjusting the level of hills a bit with mconst.hillsPercent, and perhaps lessen the influence of the mountain map, which is used to create mountain ranges, at mconst.mountainWeight
     
  6. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    Here is a screen grab - game still in progress. It's impossible to sail from coast A to coast B without sailing right round the world, because of polar blockages at the two points marked with circles. I've seen this happen with the ordinary "continents" maps.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Map.jpg
      Map.jpg
      File size:
      109.2 KB
      Views:
      160
  7. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Heheh, I assume you are the red guys. Maybe you can build a canal city down south? That would give you a big advantage. Yeah, there's nothing in PW that prevents the circumnavigation being blocked, what I do is send ships in both directions, you can still get the era score as long as exploration wraps around.
     
  8. japanesesamurai

    japanesesamurai Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    When this mod is enabled, I can’t play “flat maps” (no world wrap) with the Got Lakes? map script. Is this intended?
    Thank you!
     
  9. Hyronymus

    Hyronymus Troop leader

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    Can you use two map scripts at the same time then?
     
  10. Niner

    Niner Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I doubt it Boss. I have this and detailed worlds downloaded but turn one or the other off before I set up a game.
     
  11. japanesesamurai

    japanesesamurai Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    If PW is enabled and I start a game with Got Lakes?, I get a map which wraps the map around a cylinder, regardless of the -region, -world settings. These are ignored. I'm not sure if I'm actually playing a Got Lakes? map, though...
    If PW is disabled in mods, the got lakes script generates a flat map (region option), as intended
    I have to disable PW, as I prefer flat maps
    I think there's a conflict...
    It's not a big deal, I was just wondering
     
  12. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    It's not the circumnavigation that is the problem, it's the fact that if you build up a fleet on one coast of your empire you can't easily transfer it to the other.
     
  13. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Russia thinks that's a great problem to have. Just ribbin ya, usually large landmasses will touch a pole, sometimes they touch both. You never know. It's difficult to prevent without retreating a great deal from the poles. Come to think of it, this is adjustable by you. Check out this section:

    mconst.northAttenuationFactor = 0.75
    mconst.northAttenuationRange = 0.15 --percent of the map height.
    mconst.southAttenuationFactor = 0.75
    mconst.southAttenuationRange = 0.15

    Set the factors to 1.0 and the range to 0.20 or so, or maybe just the south pole, or whatever.
     
  14. Smity2k1

    Smity2k1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    I played a few games with PW6 and it's a great map script! Could maybe use a *touch* fewer rivers but I really like it
     
    cephalo likes this.
  15. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    I was wondering about changing those values, but not sure what numbers to use. I'm trying it out.
     
  16. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    I tried these:
    mconst.northAttenuationFactor = 0.90
    mconst.northAttenuationRange = 0.20 --percent of the map height.
    mconst.southAttenuationFactor = 0.90
    mconst.southAttenuationRange = 0.20

    And got this:

    Capture.PNG
    - which is rather better. I will play around with more of these variables.

    By the way, if I choose PerfectWorld as a base in WorldBuilder I get an error.
     
  17. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    That just looks like a lucky map too me. I would go with a 100 if you want to be sure.
     
  18. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    I think I will dial the ice down to 65 as well.
     
  19. zande

    zande Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    I'm playing with your script and I love it but in the map I generated I can't find a single thermal hex. Are those features generated in your script?
     
  20. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, I have one in the most recent map I made. I don't think they are common though.
     

Share This Page