1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

PerfectWorld6 7

Map Script for Civ 6

  1. rp03ev

    rp03ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    started a game with this map/mod.....big island and didn't see any luxury resources like whales in the water but a bunch of amber resource spawned in the water along the coasts. is this suppose to be normal? is there a way to get rid of this?
     
  2. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    \Steam\steamapps\workshop\content\289070\1538122020\Map

    At least in my configuration, Steam moves in mysterious ways, his wonders to perform.

    edit: @rp03ev : bad luck, I regullary have sea resources on the maps
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  3. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    Could anyone knowing well lua confirm this please ? I think I've found why there are too much marsh (for me :D ) :

    Function AddFeatures() (lines 3593....)
    Spoiler :
    Code:
                    if rainfallMap.data[i] < jungleThreshold then
                        if not plot:IsMountain() then
                            local treeRange = jungleThreshold - zeroTreesThreshold
                            if rainfallMap.data[i] > PWRand() * treeRange + zeroTreesThreshold then
                                if temperatureMap.data[i] > mc.treesMinTemperature then
                                    TerrainBuilder.SetFeatureType(plot, featureForest)
                                end
                            end
                        end
                    else
                        local marshRange = 1.0 - jungleThreshold
    ------>>>       if rainfallMap.data[i] > PWRand() * marshRange + jungleThreshold and temperatureMap.data[i] > mc.treesMinTemperature then
                            TerrainBuilder.SetTerrainType(plot, g_TERRAIN_TYPE_GRASS)
                            TerrainBuilder.SetFeatureType(plot, featureMarsh)
                        else


    ------>>> We are in the case where 'temp>=jungleThreshold' (see the else) so the calculation "rainfallMap.data > PWRand() * marshRange + jungleThreshold" is not considered because temp is always >= jungleThreshold whatever the result of PWRand() * marshRange.

    So the real test is 'temperatureMap.data > mc.treesMinTemperature' , leading to have a marsh if there is no chance to have trees?

    Edit: I would replace the incriminated code with
    Code:
                        local marshThreshold = rainfallMap:FindThresholdFromPercent(mc.marshPercent,false,true)
                        if rainfallMap.data[i] < marshThreshold and temperatureMap.data[i] > mc.treesMinTemperature then
    
    It would make use of the mc.marshPercent that is not used for now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  4. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    PerfectWorld6 shows up for me in the World Builder menu, but not in the create game menu. Help! What has gone wrong?
     
  5. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,942
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    is it intended that there's a perfectworld6.zip file in the Maps folder?
     
  6. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Are you using Gathering Storm?

    haha, no not intended. but it shouldn't hurt anything.
     
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  7. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, which is why I was waiting for PerfectWorld6 to be updated for it - I have been using it since Civ V.
     
  8. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Dang. Why would it work for me and not for you? I'm a little stumped right now. Do you have a lot of mods? Where are your mods installed? Maybe when pokeihl is home from work he'll have an idea.
     
  9. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    My mods install themselves in C:\Users\name\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods\PerfectWorld6. I also have Fantastical Map Script in the same area, but it makes no difference if I disable that. (It works as intended). I also have Detailed Maps installed, I don't know where the files are; it works fine and if I disable that mod it makes no difference to PerfectWorld.
     
  10. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    Reading this it seems you installed some mods (mainly "detailled worlds") by steam and others manually. I already had the same problem when mixing mods and you may try this :
    - Remove PW6 from /mods
    - Launch CIV6 and launch a game with a vanilla map
    - Completly quit CIV6
    - Install PW6 from Steam
    - Start Civ6 and see if it's better

    edit: and don't activate more than one map script at a time when starting a game
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
    cephalo likes this.
  11. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    As far as I remember, ever since GS came out I have only installed mods from Steam. However, I tried your instructions and they worked! MANY thanks! (and keep up the good work).
     
  12. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Let me know everyone if you like the new stuff. Take screenshots if you find something screenshot worthy.
     
  13. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    As said before (see the posts) :
    - Too much marsh (see the bug? in my previous post and the screen in an older one)
    - Too much very short rivers (for now I'm trying mconst.riverPercent = 0.45 and mconst.minRiverLength = 7 and it seems better)
    - Too much flood plains making some civs unplayable (I'm testing mconst.percentRiversFloodplains = 0.15 for now)

    But it remains in my mind the better map generator that I know for now :)
     
  14. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I believe the marsh is working as intended. The more rainfall you have, there's an increasing chance to be marsh instead of jungle or forest, unless it should be snow instead.
     
  15. Strec

    Strec Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    France
    Ok, no problem with that, as it's really a cool script I'll continue to use WaterWorld6 :)
     
  16. Civologist

    Civologist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Can anyone tell me which variable to raise/lower in order to reduce the number of desert tiles? When I make a change it just seems to increase the amount of deserts.
     
  17. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    mconst.desertPercent. Lower this and it will lower the amount of desert tiles. However there are other things that will influence the amount of desert, such as the amount of land that ends up at the horse latitudes. So it's possible to lower that and then still get more desert on the next map. Remember these maps are bigger than normal to allow for a lot of useless islands and land.
     
  18. Niner

    Niner Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I'm playing 10 civ + 24 cs on huge @ marathon. I saved at turn 413. Not one problem. Knock on wood. Just, FYI, for the creators. Domination only, no score win allowed. I'll keep turn count posted. I like the "long" game.
     
    pokiehl and cephalo like this.
  19. Abaxial

    Abaxial Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    My first game using it was not the best, in that I started on a continent with a near-straight coastline all the way from the south pole to the north. I note that there are variables to prevent big continents on the map edges - can you suggest settings to prevent a land mass completely blocking east-west navigation? It's a pain when you have no way to transfer naval assets from one coast to the other, except by going right round the globe.
     
  20. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Do you have a screenshot? I'd like to see what you mean
     

Share This Page