1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Poor interface

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by anatoliy, Oct 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Abraxis

    Abraxis Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    As criminally awful as the UI is, the game is definitely still worth getting. The actual gameplay is very enjoyable.

    I think you just right click on it.
     
  2. jadel

    jadel Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Its not even close to "criminally awful"

    Its got a few things that are a bit annoying. A fair few things that are different/odd and a fair few that are better than before.

    And yeah you just right click
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2016
  3. jadel

    jadel Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    All i can think of is you didnt put 0.3 (im not sure if that would work)

    or

    You saved it as a .txt file maybe?
     
  4. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Hmmm. Might be the. txt thing actually. Will check later.
     
  5. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    This took me forever to figure out as well. Right-click to remove. I'm still not entirely sure what "make this deal more equitable" means but I think I'm getting thrown off by forgetting that it updates in real time. But it seems like they'll offer me one thing and then when I click "make this more equitable" they offer me something way less favorable. It will take some getting used to.
     
  6. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    At the moment I am completely baffled by the entire trade route interface. When you are selecting a trade route, every route can have a lot of different yields, but it seems like they are basically arranged in random order so it's impossible to compare them. So one route might show the yields as gold, prod, culture, faith, whereas another will show culture, faith, gold, prod, and so on. This makes it really hard to figure out which ones are the best, and while there is a filter option (so you can, for instance, only view routes that have gold) there doesn't appear to be any sorting mechanic.

    I am equally confused by the "available trade routes" on the top right. It seems like this only appears if you have an actual trading unit selected in a city, and will only tell you the available trade routes from that city - at least on my screen, it doesn't tell you what trade routes would be available if you moved it somewhere else, which if I am correct, seems like a major oversight. Also, if part of the idea with trade routes is you set up trading posts in cities that allow your trade routes to extend farther, I would really like some interface options to allow me to plan this out. Like "I want to eventually get a trade route to Zanzibar on the other side of the map, where do I need to establish a trading post first to make that happen" and sort of plot out how you are chaining them together. At the moment I am basically just choosing randomly based on yields and I feel like I am missing a fairly large part of the experience.
     
  7. Abraxis

    Abraxis Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    No, I'm pretty sure it's well beyond criminally awful. Have you never read a little doccument called the U.S. Constitution? It's right here in the preamble.
    I mean there's a bunch of other stuff written in the actual document, but most of it is just filler, the real heart of the the document was all about preventing poor user interface design, and punish those responsible for it.

    I'm not even an American and I know this stuff. You really aught to brush up on your history.

    Pretty sure even Moses had a thing or two to say about it. I'm not really into that religion stuff though. I don't want to risk misquoting him.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2016
    narmox and SammyKhalifa like this.
  8. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Yeah a lot of things need to be sortable. Trade routes are one (by name, by yield type). The score screen is another. Don't care if its alphabetical or by score (preferably sortable by both) but this random (or player number) gibberish is terrible.
    Religion, tourism and border growth need clear numbers display both how they are derived and when something will happen.
     
    CaiusDrewart likes this.
  9. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    I don't understand why the yields would even be shown in different random orders for different routes. It's not like they're sorting by highest yield for that route or anything. It's just like (I made this up but it's roughly how my game looked last night)

    ROME --> YEREVEN +16 gold, +2 prod, +1 faith
    ROME --> BUENOS AIRES +1 faith, +3 prod, +19 gold
    ROME --> VILNIUS +1 culture, +1 faith, +17 gold, +1 prod

    What is the reason for this??
     
  10. CaiusDrewart

    CaiusDrewart King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Good call on the score screen. Sort that by score, ideally.

    I can't believe they split the city management screen. Yuck.

    And yeah, the trade route UI could be vastly improved (ideally with an option to keep on going to the same city without refreshing). For tourism, there's a tourism map lens which helps a bit, but I really need a table that shows how much tourism each city makes.
     
  11. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    Also, I can't believe I haven't seen anyone else comment on this yet but am I the only one who thinks the mini-map is completely useless? Showing the FOW on there is a disaster, the squares for city centers are way too big, and the whole thing is just an incomprehensible mess.
     
  12. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    It was being saved as a text file, thanks for the help.
     
  13. zyx

    zyx Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    The letters in resolution 1920x1080 are very tiny. So I want to play in 1360x768 for better readability. Although I opted for full screen in the game, the game starts "windowed" 1360x768 in the upper left corner of my 1920x1080 display. Is there a way to have the resolution change automatically whenever the game starts/ends?
    I don't see the point in having windowed and fullscreen mode, when there is no difference between them. Is this a bug?
     
  14. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    7,054
    So just a couple for me:

    I like the new notifications on the right for the most part. My only issue is when you have the same notification twice its not easy to cycle between them. Also would like the growth notifications back.

    The city state screen I generally like as a good summary of all the key things I need to do, its one of the better screens to me.

    Agree on the City screen, it needs love. Way too many clicks for me to do anything.


    I think a lot of the UI fails my 50 turn test. They are fine for a bit, but after 50 turns all of that extra "click, click, click" becomes exceptional annoying.

    One last plus....performance. I'm using the same computer that I played Civ 5 on, and this game runs faster than it ever did. I know only a part of that is Graphics and UI, but hey I'll take it.
     
  15. richard1017

    richard1017 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    I agree with you. The interface lacks contrast and makes it really hard to recognize icons and terrain.

    Most of all, the mini map is painful to watch. Poor color.
     
  16. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    As a workaround, you can reduce desktop resolution to 1360x768, and then start the game in lower resolution.

    But ideally, upscaled interface option should be reworked, so that 1080p screen could show UI of same relative size as on 1360x768 screens. This was done well, in Endless Legend, for example, and even Civ5 did it better.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
  17. ImperialGuard

    ImperialGuard Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Canada
    (can't remember if it was like this in Civ V) ... but when I'm looking at the tech/civic tree, let me right click and drag the tree left or right .... don't make me go down to the bottom and use a scroll bar to move the tech tree left or right ... because now I've lost my focus of what I was looking at in the tech tree (while I find the scroll bar), and then I have to re-orient myself to what I was looking at in the first place on the tree :mad:
     
  18. Wade-FIN

    Wade-FIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    One minor thing that annoys me about the interface is the fact that you have to separately fortify / sleep each unit in a linked formation. I know there are dozens of more urgent things to fix, but I felt like I had to mention this too.
     
  19. fishlore

    fishlore Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    I agree with everyone who has issues with this horrific UI. I hate just about everything about it. In fact, there isn't a single aspect I like more than previous versions. I'd echo everything that was already written, but it would be a waste of time. The complaint I'd like to add which I haven't seen yet is the color brown. Brown unexplored map, brown fog of war, brown terrain, brown, brown, brown. I just can't stand this unexplored/fog of war coloring scheme. It's like someone vomited disjointed UI elements and the color brown all over a video game.
     
    qadams and grandad1982 like this.
  20. Takfloyd

    Takfloyd Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    Bergen
    Is there any word whatsoever that Firaxis is listening to the massive complaints about this ****** UI? Everything in this thread needs to be shown directly to the UI designers.
     

Share This Page