1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. metavyte62

    metavyte62 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Philippines
    how can i know when to stop a city's growth??
    and. when the citizens get unhealthy and there are no buildings to increase the health of the city. how can i fix it??
     
  2. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    If you open the city screen, you'll see something like this:

    # > #
    # :) > # :mad:

    When your unhealthiness and unhappiness get larger than your health (from resources, buildings, forests, etc.) and happiness, you start to lose food per turn and workers stop working. So, ideally, you'll have a way to stop growth while still being productive/efficient. For more, see Ways Into Health and Ways Into Happiness, both by cabert.
     
  3. Endure

    Endure Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Canada
    Quick question:

    When an AI breaks a trade agreement (open border, resources, GPT, etc) it's usually becomes your diplomatic status with them has fallen and if try to open the trade back up you get the "We just don't like you enough" and the option is redded out.

    Last night however, when bismarck closed his borders to me, I immediately went to see if I could get them reopened. (in the same trade screen, I clicked care to negoiate when he informed me the deal was cancelled). For open borders in the trade I got a message saying "Not right now...maybe in a few turns"

    What excatly causes this? A few turns later he did open borders with me, but our diplomatic status had not changed besides me losing the +2 from open borders when he closed them.
     
  4. Gwynnja

    Gwynnja Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CA
    Sounds like a trade embargo. Either they were bribed to close borders with you (for X amount of turns) or more frequently you closed borders with them (for X amount of turns.)
     
  5. thecrazyalaskan

    thecrazyalaskan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Where can I find a list of acronyms/slang that the CivFanatics folks use and what they mean? For example, I see people use the term "Vanilla" and I wonder what they're talking about.
     
  6. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
  7. Gwynnja

    Gwynnja Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CA
    Vanilla is civ 4 w/o expansiion packs.
     
  8. Walliard

    Walliard WW007D?

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    In a more general sense, "vanilla" can refer to the original, unmodified version of any game which has expansion packs (Starcraft, World of Warcraft, Battlefield 1942, etc.).
     
  9. Mknn

    Mknn Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Houston
    What limits whether or not a city can work on a spaceship part? There are parts that I'm not building, but they are greyed out in the build list, and say 0 of 1 avaiable. Why is that?
     
  10. nbcman

    nbcman King

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    896
    Mknn,

    It could be because you dont have the tech to build it, or another city has it queued up behind their current build or a team mate is building the part.
     
  11. Mknn

    Mknn Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Houston
    Yeah, none of that is true. No teammates, I have the tech, and no other city has it in the queue. Anything else? My assumption is that there is some limit to the number of simultaneous spaceship parts that can be built, maybe?
     
  12. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    not at all; usually that's because you're already building the part somewhere else. Provide a save maybe?
     
  13. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Could you upload the savegame?

    edit: I shouldn't be reading multiple threads at once. JujuLautre already said the same.
     
  14. Renata

    Renata homicidal jungle cat GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,697
    Location:
    NY
    What does "we love the ___" day do? I've never been able to figure it out. Oh, and what causes it?
     
  15. Endure

    Endure Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Canada
    I think it means you don't pay any maintenance for that city for that turn.

    It has something to do with having so many more healthy and healthy faces then unhappy and unhealthy, but I forget how excatly.
     
  16. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    A city can be elligible for "we love the ... day" only if it has not unhappy and no unhealthy citizen .
     
  17. TheRealBitter

    TheRealBitter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Is it possible to use more than one modification at the same time?
    For example, I am using the Blue Marble modification right now, but I want to install Fall from Heaven, can I install it and have both? Or do I have to uninstall one to use the other? Another thing I am not sure about, is Fall from Heaven for BtS and Warlords? Or just One or the other?





    Bitter.
     
  18. Mknn

    Mknn Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Houston
    The spaceship thing is my error: I was building the part in a rinky dink low production city far, far away. Must have mis-clicked at some point, and if it weren't for an opportune sort of the city screen, I prolly never would have noticed. Sorry about that.
     
  19. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    Depends on the mod. In any case, you have to merge both in one mod only to make them function at the same time.

    If they use different files, it's usually harmless. But if they do, you have to carefully merge them, and I fear this is sometimes not doable.

    You can install Ffh and BM at the same time, you will just have two different mods. As for merging both, considering that BM only affects graphics, I think it's doable.

    As for Ffh, I think there's both a BTS version and a warlords version, but not sure on that topic.
     
  20. TheRealBitter

    TheRealBitter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Eek...2 versions, 1 for warlord, 1 for BtS? Would you know where I can find the Warlords version by any chance?
    When I downloaded it, it just had 1 download option. I am not sure if I have the right one, it just was a ZIP containing an .exe file.




    Bitter.
     

Share This Page