1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. compwiz1202

    compwiz1202 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA, USA
    If you use the On Screen Display of MSI Afterburner, that can show the time.
     
  2. KylarXD

    KylarXD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Do civs ever sell any of their cities? Captured or not. Not counting peace deals
     
  3. compwiz1202

    compwiz1202 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA, USA
    I don't know if they do anymore, but a while back I was able to buy one eventually with enough to trade.
     
  4. clearbeard

    clearbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    Considering the teeth we as a fan community had to pull to get the replay added to the game at all: no.
     
  5. clearbeard

    clearbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    I've successfully demanded cities before outside of peace deals, and at least once bought one of my former cities back from an enemy I didn't want to fight any more. I've never outright purchased a decent sized city that they founded from an AI though.
     
  6. parts

    parts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    :lol::lol::lol:

    Thanks.
     
  7. compwiz1202

    compwiz1202 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA, USA
    Played Arabia last night and was eventually able to buy all of Korea's cities except the second last. Don't know if you just need a ton for trade or if they will never sell the second last.
     
  8. Ichabod

    Ichabod Gaucho

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Campo Bom, Brasil
    I'm asking regarding G&K, though I don't think BNW changed anything in that regard.

    I've read in an old thread (likely one made near the release of the game) regarding Combat that attacking a 1 HP city with a Unit will always result in the Unit capturing the City, even if there was a massive difference in the Unit/City strenght. Is that still true or was this changed at some point?
     
  9. Purest Warrior

    Purest Warrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Is there a way to use mods permanently, ie. without having to go through the "load mod" interface?
    I have been using InfoAddict and CivWillard and can hardly play without, despite them seeming a bit out-of-date.
    And also, can achievements not be tracked ever when using mods?
    Both of the above mentioned do not alter the rules.
    I'm playing CivV + G&K, by the way.

    Thank you, PW
     
  10. Cicerosaurus

    Cicerosaurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    If you are allied to two CS's that are fighting each other, is there anyway to bang their heads together and tell them to make peace?
     
  11. Js_9001

    Js_9001 Indefatigable

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Who knows?
    I have a question. It seems that AIs (city states especially) really, really love to build a lot of Pikemen and barely any swordsmen/long swordsmen/musketmen. Is there a reason for this?
     
  12. greygamer

    greygamer Feudal Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Location:
    UK
    They don't have Iron I would guess, or they have gifted the iron to their Ally.
     
  13. greygamer

    greygamer Feudal Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Location:
    UK
    The reason you can't get achievements when you use mods is pretty obvious. Yes it is a pain because not all mods give you an advantage that would de-value an achievement but there is no way to tell the difference.
     
  14. clearbeard

    clearbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    Cities can now be reduced all the way to 0 hit points, and any city so reduced will be automatically captured by any non-ranged unit attacking it. So the general statement that "attacking a fully reduced city with a Unit will always result in the Unit capturing the City..." still holds.

    There sort of is a way to use mods permanently, though I would only recommend it with very non-intrusive changes. You can directly modify the core game files with your mod, which will not only allow it to be run without the mod interface but also allows you to gain achievements playing with your mod. The biggest downside is that the game will revert all such changes every time it updates from Steam. About the only "mod" I have made this way is changing the max XP from barbs from 30 to 60, but you could theoretically make any changes a mod can do in this way. Modify core game files at your own risk. Also, make sure everyone playing a multiplayer match with you has made the same changes, or unexpected things may occur.

    If they are both your allies I can't imagine any way they can be at war with each other. It's possible in some circumstances the peace may be delayed by a turn for the diplomats to catch up with the changing global alliance situation, but that's the most I've seen. Do you mean the "we want you to attack our rivals" quest? That one just hangs around until it expires but they're not actually fighting each other.
     
  15. Cicerosaurus

    Cicerosaurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    No, I mean they are fighting each other. I have seen the scenario several times.

    It occurs (in my experience) when you ally one or both of them after they have been allied to different warring Civs. Unfortunately they don't stop fighting once they come under your umbrella.

    In the end it means nothing but it is annoying.
     
  16. Jandos

    Jandos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    How can AI settle 10 cities before medieval and still have +20 hapiness ?
    Are they cheating with hapiness somehow ? Dont see it it the AI bonuses table.
     
  17. Baratitas

    Baratitas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Guys please help,

    What i need to do to show the withe shine lines between 2 hexes and the "simbol" of the resources in those circles that i see in so many posts around there ?

    (Sorry for poor english too)
     
  18. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Next to the minimap is a button that pops up some options, including show hex grid (you can also toggle that with the "g" key), show resource icons and show trade routes, among other options.
     
  19. Baratitas

    Baratitas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Very Thanks
     
  20. Purest Warrior

    Purest Warrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Thank you. This is exactly what I am looking for. Can you be more specific about how to do it or perhaps direct me to someplace that might explain how to do it?
     

Share This Page