1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Peter Sagan

    Peter Sagan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks! I'm friends with half the world so I guess I can make them usefull one more time before I backstab them all 30 times later, I'm evil.
     
  2. Sarin

    Sarin King

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    708
    I'm curious what people consider good religious beliefs...I found myself usually going (if possible) for: fertility rites as pantheon, then tithe+religious community, and then...well, I'm torn between swords into plowshares (seems really good when trying to keep out of wars, did this my last game and by the end (1980 on marathon) my capital had some 65 population) and one of religious buildings...either cathedrals, monasteries if there's a lot of proper resources, or pagodas. Enhancer and reformation beliefs don't really strike me as good.

    Am I missing something? Ways to utilize other beliefs effectively or something? Because those few beliefs just stand out for me so far in my short CiV experience.
     
  3. ThorHammerz

    ThorHammerz zzz

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    Holy Warriors is a decent belief, especially on larger maps, when you're warmongering (or posturing as such) and/or attempting to keep your military large enough to garrison/patrol your land, freeing up gold and productions for naval units/other buildings/wonders. Nice to see I have my LongBowman straight out the gate without blowing a hole in my bank account, allowing me to hard build or goldrush those markets/harbors/workshops.

    You do need a respectable amount of faith production to make it work however, be it through Holy Site spamming, a synergistic Pantheon, Natural Wonders, etc, and you will not have as much Faith to spend on missionaries/inquisitors.
     
  4. InDubioProReo

    InDubioProReo Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    Since I like fighting in the industrial era, my go-to strategy for domination games is beelining artillery/cav and attacking with a force of 7-8 artilleries, 2-3 cavalry and maybe 1-2 gatling guns. However, I still feel like I may be doing something wrong.

    1) What is the earliest I can/should hit Dynamite with a decent growth/science game? I managed 165 with Poland once, but with most other civs (barring Korea/Babylon/Maya) I can do it anywhere between 175-185 depending on circumstances (RA vs no RA etc.)
    2) Should I go for Dynamite after Education or first go Scientific Theory for Public Schools?
    3) When should I start building Cannons for upgrade? This is another one of my big problems, there is always 1-2 cities that barely finish Public Schools and therefore I build most of my stuff after I reach Dynamite (also because I build Barracks and Armories in all my cities) which delays my push
    4) How many RAs do I need to hit Dynamite asap?
    5) What can I do to get enough gold to upgrade Cannons when I reach Dynamite?
     
  5. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,376
    The dynamite tech path could take a couple of turns so getting scientists in universities and public schools could be useful. You don't have to do RAs to upgrade your cannons.
     
  6. Weakling

    Weakling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Hi guys! Can I not use prophets gained by Hagia Sophia for enhancing religion?
     
  7. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,376
    You can do that. Yes, you can do that I think.
     
  8. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    You just need that GP to be located inside your holy city. The enhance button should be enabled.
     
  9. Blue Jester

    Blue Jester Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    New here with silly questions.

    1. When a civ asks for a research agreement (or trade) is what is on the right side (my side) what I get or what I give?

    I ask because Carthage was way behind me in research made a proposition. It had "research agreement" on their side but the agreement plus a lot of other stuff was on my side. *They* were behind on research and they wanted me to give more? Does the AI think you're a sucker?

    We were on friendly terms, Chieftain setting.



    2. When reviewing trade routes to cities, I assume the left arrow <<- means that is outgoing from my civ?
     
  10. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    1. The right side of the RA trade screen is what you give. If you are one or more eras ahead of the AI, you must pay them 100 gold per era (or gold-equivalent, like a combination of gpt and gold, or some strategic resources plus gold) to induce them to enter into the RA. If they entered into an RA with someone in their same era, the RA cost would be lower for them, so you are compensating them for entering into a more expensive RA.

    2. Left arrows are what the city originating the trade route receives, and the right arrows are what the destination city receives. If you are sending a trade route to one of your own cities, you get both sides of the trade.
     
  11. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1 Anything on the right is what you give, anything on the left is what they give.

    What goes on here is that RA cost is based on the era of the most advanced civ.
    If you are an era (or more) ahead, that AI would have to pay more to sign an RA with you than it would those in its own era. However instead of just wanting the float cost, it has always wanted to charge 2X the float cost.
    Back in the old days of Vanilla when an RA gave a random free tech that you had not put more than about 30% into it kind of made sense for the AI to want 2X the float as a small part of your tech is more expensive than theirs (provided you remembered to get at least 35% way done all cheap techs.)

    It still kind of makes sense in the final Vanilla version where the most advanced civ got more beakers but without having to micro first.

    For G&K, the AI wanting you to cover the float makes sense, but the 2X doesn't because both civs get the same number of beakers. (median value between both of you)

    With BNW, where it's based on who has the worst science rate, it's indeed a waste. It's not going to be worth you paying RA + float charge to get less beakers than signing with an RA in your own era.

    Occasionally their science rate can be so low that it's not even worth signing with that civ even if they were technically in the same era as you.

    #2 Hum, the Global Trade Route screen is organized to Trade Route owner first and then City owner for every category in which both apply.
    Note that for internal routes the destination city gets the food / hammers from nowhere.

    If you are actually on a cargo ship, just remember that I've never seen a case where the city owner would receive more gold than the trade route owner.

    Hovering over the science beaker on top left will add up the science you are getting from both your outgoing and incoming external trade routes. Hovering over Gold icon will also show you what you are getting from all external trade routes (both incoming & outgoing)
     
  12. InDubioProReo

    InDubioProReo Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    If going for a Artillery/Cav push, which path is faster? Scientific Theory->Dynamite or Education->Dynamite?
     
  13. onmy6

    onmy6 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    New Zealand
    This maybe a really dumb question but I have no idea, how do you make mods load in a specific order
     
  14. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    You would reach the Artillery & Cav techs first by Education to Dynamite, however unless going for domination victory with them all on your own landmass, you'll probably win faster going Sci Theory first (and also picking up Industrialization) before pushing to Dynamite.

    As far as I know you don't. If the order would actually matter, those are incompatible mods.
    You might try the Creation & Customization forum though.
     
  15. Weakling

    Weakling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    43

    Thank you, I was unaware about the prophet needing to be in the Holy City! Worked now.
     
  16. Sarin

    Sarin King

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    708
    I have a few questions again :D

    City tile optimalization. Usually I'd go simply by terrain. Hills=mine, forest=lumber mill, jungle=trading post, flat terrain either farms or reserved for GP improvements. Resources of course take precedence. But in one of my cities, I have a lot of jungle (15 tiles) and lot of it is also by the river (including city tile). Is it worth building trading posts everywhere or should I chop some down to get better food production? I don't think the city will hit "full" population (all tiles+all specialist slots used) before the very late game. The rest of the tiles is mixed bag, but not a huge food producer.
     
  17. phoenix_sprite

    phoenix_sprite King

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    My screenshots are being saved in the .tga and I have no way to access them, is there something else I can do instead? Print screening + pasting will only show a black screen, btw.
     
  18. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    There are actually full threads on this topic.

    If it's your capital, farm the river-hill ones to get some production. Maybe 1 or 2 flat jungle river tiles as well if there's not another large food source. (Bananas or Fish)

    If its not your capital, that goes into trade post everywhere you can.

    Instead of hitting print screen, hit F12 to take a steam print screenshot which is a jpg. When you exit the game, steam will pop up a window of the screen shots in your most recent session where you can in turn hit a button for it to take it to where all steam shots are locally stored on your PC.
     
  19. Sessy

    Sessy Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Canada
    I read a thread about NW mountains not actually being mountains in terms of terrain restrictions, and apparently Old Faithful is considered a mountain...

    Is it true for all NW mountains that if your city is next to it, you can build an observatory, but it won't count towards building wonders that require a mountain within 2 tiles?
     
  20. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    That's correct, the code for the 2 tile check (flagged as nearby mountain in XML) looks for the actual mountain terrain type, while the code for the 1 tile check (flagged as adjoins mountain in XML) instead looks for terrain that is marked as mountains.

    I wouldn't be surprised if CP has changed the logic in that mod to make them consistent.
     

Share This Page