1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. clearbeard

    clearbeard King

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    106 days, plus a year or so to get the next iteration patched and expanded to the point it is a sufficiently complete game.
     
  2. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    So, I've been modding (both downloading and actually modding myself) civ 4, some changes make it somewhat like 5... Now I'm wondering: Are there any mods for 5 that make it similar to 4?



    Like civics, no wide/tall dichotomy, milder pop effects on science, etc.
     
  3. iheartdev247

    iheartdev247 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry for the late question but can I use culture from my city to take over a city of a AI civ?

    Thanks
     
  4. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    im not sure what you mean by take over, but there is no mechanic to take over a city with culture. cities of AI civs can only be taken through combat or peace/trade deals.
     
  5. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    i remember a chart here somewhere that detailed all the UUs that either kept their bonuses with upgrades or didn't. it was updated for BNW i think. does anyone have that chart? i have misplaced the image i had of it.
     
  6. iheartdev247

    iheartdev247 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you. Was there ever a version of Civ where I could conquer cities just by the strength of my culture?
     
  7. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    Not that I am aware of but i didnt play civ2 or civ3. there is a cultural victory condition but not a way to conquer a city.
     
  8. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,140
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Not like what happens with IV with the changing borders.
    With Tourisms pressure, sometimes cities flip, and usually not even to a neighbor. It happens all at once with only a five-turn warning. Mostly it will only happen for the human player at low difficultly levels.

    I had no idea such a thing existed! But I bet this must be it:
    http://www.carlsguides.com/strategy/civilization5/civs-leaders/uniqueunits.php
    Very useful!
     
  9. iheartdev247

    iheartdev247 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Yeah I was referencing civ4, where your culture could push the border and take over AI cities.

    Does Tourism work in similiar way in 5?
     
  10. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    thanks for the link but it actually was a different kind of table that i remember, but i'll just seek that page out instead. i was hoping the Pictish Warrior kept the faith/kill bonus but looks like it doesnt. but thanks for that link, beetle.
     
  11. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    No. You only get cities to flip if they have another ideology (and they refuse to switch to your ideology) and make their happiness go really low (by exerting a lot of tourism pressure). And even then, the cities will flip to the nearest civ that has your ideology.
     
  12. Jezz

    Jezz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    So there's no way to culture bomb and "turn" a city like Civ3/4?
     
  13. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Your have a tourism bomb, but you will win the game before you flip any cities.
    Just use your army to take it, either by force or as a peace treaty.

    I've played dozens of games and I've never seen a city flip.
     
  14. matlajs

    matlajs King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    hey guys. can you suggest me some good mod which works more with resources? i dont like sources becoming obsolete and worthless. i already saw some on steam but comments section was so negative. thanks.
     
  15. Volcanon

    Volcanon Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Cities flip every so often, but the enemy has -20 or worse happiness for it to flip. Big empires lose cities more often as a result, because being on the wrong side of tourism hurts them more.

    In one game I got 3-4 cities from Attilla and another freedom civ got another 2 cities through flips, because he was autocratic and I was pumping out scads of freedom tourism.
     
  16. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,140
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    I am not sure what you are looking for. Have you tried the “strategic balance” option in the advance setup menu? If so, what did that not provide that is still leaving you frustrated?
     
  17. chuckh89

    chuckh89 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL
    I know I have been able to plant Citadels on City State occupied tiles,...even able to place them adjacent to the core of the CS,...But sometimes this isn't allowed - What are the conditions that make stealing land unavailable???

    Yes, I know you need one of your territory's tiles next to the Citadel, and know I will lose influence,...I just don't understand what the conditions for this action to be performed?

    Declaring War makes it immediately available (OBVIOUSLY), sometimes I can,....sometimes I can't...What gives? Friendship? Ally? Shouldn't I just lose influence, But still be able to perform the action?


    -
     
  18. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    I have not tried this all that often. Maybe you were trying to build the citadel on an oasis (which cannot support any improvements)?

    I don't think forests, jungles or marshes matter. Nor undiscovered resources, archeology sites or improvements under construction. I also don't think inquisitors next to the tile matter, nor any peace treaties.
    But I might be wrong!

    Did you say that you can build the citadel after declaring war?
     
  19. chuckh89

    chuckh89 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL
    Here is a screenshot,...I was unable to place a Citadel on the tile where Hanoi's worker is now,...Why?

    Spoiler :
    [/IMG]
     
  20. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,140
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    I don’t know about marsh or jungle, but if you are not at war, you cannot put a citadel on forest (in foreign territory). The Oasis limitation is a good catch.
    Forget the forest issue. Your GG needs to on your borders. So buy the tile the GG is on now then try planting where you want? But what does it get you? Your screenshot is kind of small, but I am not seeing a lux or resources? GG are rare and valuable. Why are you planting?
     

Share This Page