1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Tiberiu

    Tiberiu Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2020
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Bucharest
    I have a question. Does Scholars in Residence affect spy stealing rate? The spies stealing rate has an interesting formula, and the way it works has into account the costs of technologies and how fast the targeted civ can get enough science to get that tech. I am wondering if having passed Scholars in Residence, an interesting side effect would be to also speed up the rate at which spies can steal. If so, then Scholars in Residence + Industrial Espionage from Autocracy can be an interesting combo in games where for some reason you were left behind in techs a bit.

    The reason I ask this question is because I am unsure if the game uses original tech cost for spy stealing rate, or the adjusted cost that is based on how many civs have discovered the tech + scholars in residence, if it is passed.
     
  2. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    588
    Gender:
    Male
    I've recently been debugging the code in this area and from what I saw, spy rates are using the adjusted tech costs.
     
    Nizef, Tiberiu and vadalaz like this.
  3. beetle

    beetle Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,314
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    @Tiberlu, I hope you will report back what you find. As I understand the mechanics, turns-to-discover is determined when your spy lands in the AI city. Industrial Espionage takes effect immediately, but Scholars in Residence might not. So you might have to replant your Spy to see if it makes a difference.
     
  4. DukeCivStarcon

    DukeCivStarcon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Longtime Civer, haven't been on any too recently. Got a question for advanced CIV5 players: Does CIV5 have a Diplomacy improvement mod or some way to adjust the (grievously annoying) foreign leader deal screen spam? I mean they removed a crucial component up to CIV 2 at least imo, which is a consent component to meeting with an AI leader. Moreover the spam deal-offering is just so annoying.

    PS Every stategic and gameplay step away from CIV2 / CTP has been a) questionable or b) in the wrong direction imo. In fact, I'm making that my new tagline
     
  5. beetle

    beetle Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,314
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    You are, of course, entitled to your opinion and your gaming preferences. But it seems to me that if there was any market demand whatsoever for something that played like Civ II CTP, it would be easy enough to find and buy.

    That said, have you tried Free Civ? If so, what is Free Civ missing such that it is not exactly what you are looking for?

    I have read other complaints about the frequent dialogs from the AI, so maybe ask your mod question in the Creation & Customization forum?
     
  6. DukeCivStarcon

    DukeCivStarcon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    CIV 2 MGE and Call to Power respectively did reasonably well. Actually CIV 2 was one of the best-selling games of all time. I think the closest they came to that again is with CIV 5 (which I generally find worthwhile otherwise.) Took them 10 years to refine it to a point it was playable and had enough content to justify buying though. Not sure about 6, kinda lost interest by that point. It's become The [100% CGI] Sims on Sim World, with Cultural Theming and essentially Participation Victory paths. No thanks.

    I have tried FreeCiv a few years back. It was awfully primitive. CIV 2 MGE is what I'm looking for. It has music controls. How the heck do they get away with not letting you choose or skip tracks in CIV5? Really?

    Call to Power was late-coming when released in a market that was getting more crowded. It did well but the sequel wasn't much.

    As for quick answers I don't find any in your post, but thanks for trying. If anybody else knows if there is a kill-switch for Diplomacy spam in Civ 5, let me know. Thanks
     
  7. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,587
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
  8. DukeCivStarcon

    DukeCivStarcon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
  9. Donald Duck1

    Donald Duck1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Hi, is there a consensus on recommended mods for Civ5, such as BUG/BUFFY for Civ4?
     
  10. Diktaattori

    Diktaattori Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Messages:
    41
    Asking also here as separate thread got 0 answers in 11 days....


    The other day I asked America if he wants to join war with me against Persia. They had open borders and America had lots of units inside Persian territory. After America declared war the units stayed on exactly same locations. This might be good or bad to them depending on who has the first turn.

    What I have noticed before is that units are banished from inside borders when declaring war. This time it didnt happen to AI units. Is this common behavior that I just now notice after playing 2000+ hours?
     
  11. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,476
    Gender:
    Male
    I never noticed this. This could become an exploit, sounds like a bug to me.
     
  12. Dantavian

    Dantavian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Which is overall the best AI mod for BNW? Also, which ai mod fixes the ai not upgrading its units bug/flaw? Has anyone given the ai free unit upgrade ability and if so how did it go?
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2021
  13. Dantavian

    Dantavian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Where is the AI 'Atlas' difficulty in the XML? I am specifically looking for the AI research cost. Thanks.
     
  14. varis78

    varis78 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Could anyone tell me how to change the road and/or railroad color in strategic mode? The default brown and grey are just getting too difficult for my aging eyes to tell apart on some tiles, like deserts especially.
     
  15. Doom666

    Doom666 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Finland
    What would be the optimal railroad between these 4 cities? This one i have now is the best i could come up with.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,476
    Gender:
    Male
    If you aim a good ratio cost/efficiency, you have a good solution already.

    If you want perfect unit movement optimization from any of those 4 cities to any of the other 3, I would do this:

    upload_2022-3-30_20-1-51.png
     
  17. Gori the Grey

    Gori the Grey The Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7,891
    I've played it since its release, so I should know this. But if I'm on a small continent with three other civs and wipe them out entirely before any of the other civs discovers my continent, will I be regarded as a warmonger by those new civs, once they do meet me?
     
  18. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,460
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    Warmonger score is only accrued with civs that you have met. When you meet the other civs whe the world congress is founded you'll be fine when your amabasdors takes them round your empire, "yes Attila's Court is a wierd name for an English town, but let me show some Byzantine art I mean English art"......
     

Share This Page