1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions / Quick Answers

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Theral, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,227
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Considering you need to adopt a religion to even purchase monastery. I would assume that's the same issue. It's a hardcoded bug as Gazebo said.
     
  2. Paramecium

    Paramecium Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    343
    If I pledge to protect a city state, will it be immune to Mongolia's instant takeover ability? Just happened recently, in a war I liberated a City State from Mongolia, was its new Ally, made peace with Mongolia's master and the next turn it was Mongolia's city again. I just forgot to pledge to protect and to be honest, I forgot about Mongolia's ability...
     
  3. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,227
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Pledge to Protect makes it harder for them to force annex, but doesn't guaranteed protections against Mongolia's UA. The best thing for you to do is to donate your own units to make it harder for him to do so.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  4. Valvts

    Valvts A Plant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Does restarting the game on the first turn, works with VP?
     
  5. Paramecium

    Paramecium Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    343
    Yes, it does, at least for me ;)
     
  6. Emufarmers

    Emufarmers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    My impression was that the great work will correspond to the name of the artist who made it, but the names of the artists aren't tied to the eras in which they actually lived.

    I believe that's correct.

    If you fully eliminate the master, then you would at least have the vassal free for you to subjugate. :)

    There are some cooldowns around vassalage. Is there a cooldown for being re-vassalized after becoming free?
     
  7. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,227
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
  8. Revolutionist_8

    Revolutionist_8 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Hungary, Earth, M.W. Galaxy
    Does 'Raging Barbarians' option increase the barbarians spawning from Unhappy Empire and / or City-State quests, or just from camps?
     
  9. cammcken

    cammcken Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    God of Commerce: Is the +2:c5faith: per +25:c5gold: calculated off of net gold, or revenue before expenses?
     
  10. grmagne

    grmagne Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Toronto
    Revenue before expenses. That's why it's so popular :)
     
    cammcken likes this.
  11. Sundance Kid

    Sundance Kid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ukraine
    What will happen if I become a master of a player who is currently in war with another player (and I'm not in war with that another player)? I will be forced to declare war on another player, or another player will be forced to make peace with my new vassal? One more thing: that another player declared war on my potential vassal only 1 or 2 turns ago, if that's important.
     
  12. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,867
    The vassal disappeared from the war/peace diplomaty, its war/peace values become those of its master. The master situation remain the same.
    Due to some abuse of this rule (by the AI), you can no longer become a voluntary vassal if you're at war (you can still capitulate, but you cannot "surrender" to a friend instead of the enemy)
     
    vyyt likes this.
  13. Fujisan

    Fujisan Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    I've just noticed that puppeting a captured city increases the policy cost. Is it a bug or a feature?
     
  14. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,867
    That's partially false. There is a known bug in the area (not easily fixable).
    The rule is : policy and tech cost increase for each non-puppet city you have. Puppet cities does not increase that number.
    The bug is : your number of non-puppet cities is only updated when you capture a city (and few other events)
    What happened to was not that your new puppet city increased your cost, but that the capture of a new city made the game count again your number of cities and see that it forgot to increase the cost the last time you annexed a city.
     
    cammcken, vyyt and Sundance Kid like this.
  15. Beniito

    Beniito Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    with Mausoleum of Halicarnassus: "During 'We Love the King Day', City increases by 10%."
    does this only apply to the city in which the wonder is built, or all cities ?
     
  16. Fujisan

    Fujisan Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    It is clear now. Thank you for your explanations.
     
  17. Blue Ghost

    Blue Ghost King

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    689
    If you manually end a declaration of friendship, can you immediately declare war on your former friend without the diplomatic penalty for betrayal? Or do you need to wait X number of turns?
     
  18. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,227
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    that is not a bug it was intentional to punish those who conquer fast and lose fast. So if u had 15 cities but now have 13 you will incur the penalty as if u had a minimum of 15 cities.
     
  19. Grabbl

    Grabbl Prince

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    431
    Oh, does that mean that my city penalty can actually go down (when taking a city)? I always assumed that I had the culture/science cost penalty of the most cities I ever had. Good to know :)
     
  20. Grabbl

    Grabbl Prince

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    431
    Some questions regarding vassalage, to be sure I understand it well:

    A forceful vassel needs to meet one of the following requirements (in addition to the 50 turn cooldown period) to be able to declare independence:

    - controls 75% more cities than it had when capitulating
    - has 300% more (or 300%?) citizens than it had when capitulating
    or has at least 60% of the master's cities & citizen

    So, as long as none of these requirements is met, I can take all diplo mali with the vassal and he will only be able to react diplomatically (by denouncing etc.), but not by declaring war on me?

    And the notion "team-wide" in the tooltips for citizen and cities refers just to the teams you can assign when starting a game, right (so me and my vassals don't form a "team", for example)?
     

Share This Page