1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quot Capita

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by avain, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    That's good news! Looking forward to Beta 3! :D
     
  2. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    This mod is amazing! I'm about half way through a game & having a lot of fun playing!

    So far, all the new additions seem to be working just fine! :goodjob:
     
  3. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,049
    The AIAutoPlay in Revolutions uses that other python event manager (can't remember the name of it right now) whilst mine is into a standard event manager.

    The SDK implementation should be very similar (almost identical) but the python implementation is completely different.
     
  4. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Thanks Dale, the SDK impl. is actually the same (only one really minor difference) - so one can choose to use custom interface or standard event manager.
     
  5. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Aaargh.
    I decided to re-check most of the integrations, and redo some of those manually again to increase stability.
    I have achieved quite a stable core with all functionality except MEE and NextWar. But right now I'm facing some nasty problems when adding MEE to this core. Guess I have to dive deep into debugging now :( (amazingly or not, CTD happens only after reloading, and only in 2/3 of cases of the same save- but then even after pressing ESC to bring up the menu...)
     
  6. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    I'm beta testing avain , playing HRE at marathon speed. Will keep you posted.

    BTW, why is 'stack attack' disabled in the mod as you download it ? Surely it's one of the main features of this modpack.
     
  7. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    It's disabled because it contradicts Influence Driven War. But you can enable it again, but Influence Driven War will behave ... badly.
     
  8. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    I'm really happy now ... NOT.:( :mad:

    With the new beta I'm having a loadgame issue, which I think is an initialization issue(?)

    If someone with some expertise with modding reads this(or someone who has some (well, ANY) idea), please help:

    - Ok, when loading a savegame (even a Turn 1 savegame), it loads ok 100%. It seems to play ok. Then after hitting ESC, or hitting next turn it crashes most of the time. (Now comes the tricky part. If it does not crash, it plays ok seemingly infinitely (tried it with Autoplay).) But it usually crashes with ESC.
    - Aaaand... I start a new game. On turn 1 I try and load the above mentioned crashing savegame. In 99% of the cases, it does not crash again. It plays ok. I can save the game. I can load the game. It is as if its in an 'ok' state somehow...
    - Aaaand ... if I try to load it directly after restarting Civ, it crashes again (not 100%, but after it crashes, it starts to crash consistently). It can be reloaded aftere a new game start and loading the old save.


    Questions:
    - Do you think its related to some initializations?
    - Do you think its related to Modular Loading?
    - ANY idea?

    Thank you if you read this.
     
  9. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    V.D.R.N. is having game loading problems as well. The problem may be linked to something common with both mods.. since at the base they are so similar.
     
  10. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Do all the mods your derive from work correctly on their own, or do you simply inherit a problem that exists in one of them ?
     
  11. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I have actually rebuilt the V.D.R.N. with Revolution, Next War, Lt.Bob Global Warming, VD, Influence Driven War and Regiments.

    I have played through a game so far to the medieval era and have loaded and reloaded the game multiple times with no problems. This lends me to believe the problem lies in merging D.C.M.

    I am going to try and merge C.A.S.A. stand alone mod and see how that works. But Avain says C.A.S.A. and influence driven war do not work very well together, so we will see.
     
  12. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    I'd assume they work well on their own. I'll today test the version I rebuilt (it's all the mods from the first post minus MEE for VD and NextWar), and check the situation. Currently it seems that adding MEE to the pack causes loading errors - although I assume it's somehow connected to modular loading(?).
    I did a lot of tests with the new version with MEE added, and the loading bug is there. Although with the start new game -> load old game trick the old save can be continued without problems... This frustrates me to no end...:(

    But I will continue the testing...;)
     
  13. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    What I experienced is that when CASA is on, Infl.Driven War seems to kick-in only randomly/not at all. If I turn CASA off, Infl. Driven War works as advertised.
     
  14. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    I'd be very much interested in your further discoveries!
     
  15. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Ok, to anyone interested:

    I re-merged a mod containing:

    - BUG 2.20 by Alerum68, Cammagno, EmperorFool, NikNaks93, ruff_hi (http://forums.civfanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=268)
    - Bhruic's Unofficial BTS 3.13 patch v1.11 (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=246057)
    - Dale's Combat Mod v1.3 (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=168966)
    - Influence Driven War v1.1 by Moctezuma (original mod for info: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=188007)
    - Enhanced Tech Conquest v0.6 by Grave and Jeckel (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=245593)
    - ActualQuotes v4.00 by Willowmound (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=234288)
    - AIAutoPlay 1.41 by jdog5000 (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=171127)
    - Varietas Delectat v3.3 (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=237192)

    It's 'quite' stable. I say quite because:
    - no errors on loading (Well, the only loading error is that sometimes when trying to load a different game from a well established one it CTD. But upon restart loading this other game is ok.)
    - managed to autoplay a Marathon Huge map 10+ civ session 1100+ turns without error (and several smaller sessions) (I'd lie if I said that I did not see a CTD, there was one during several tries, failed to reproduce)

    ...edit: just had a 3 civ Marathon, 1300+ turns without problems.
     
  16. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I wasn't able to finish the game I started, it too crashed while loading the saved game. I'll try the next version & see what happens.

    If adding the MEE & Next War modules are causing issues, have you considered adding them in the good old fashioned way? It may not be an ideal solution but it should work.
     
  17. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Yes, that's probably what I'll try next.
     
  18. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
  19. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    another test tonight with beta3

    Huge map, 10+ civs, Marathon
    (auto)played 850+ turns without problems

    It's seems I can build on this core now.

    To anyone (beta) testing this mod: Did you try beta 3? Did you have issues with it?
     
  20. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I still haven't been able to load a saved game. :(
     

Share This Page